Chicago Transit Authority Employee Reviews

Found 321 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A demanding job
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 28, 2016
Days start time are off centered a stressful beginning always, I've learned that the public can be vary mean spirited and co=workers just as mean. The management department can have no compassion for mankind strictly bookly. The hardest part of this job was the starting of your day once you got off and running the day got somewhat better.
Pros
Great benifits
Cons
Very limited time off and on the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
general public can be annoying
Bus operator/Customer assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 20, 2017
don't have fares, traffic etc management don't have your back, no social life don't care about family situations seniority base job union does not fight hard enough for you
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yes CTA is a very likeable work place especially if you love working with the public.
Rail car servicer (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 22, 2017
This is a very. Helpful site to achieve my goals!!! Because it allows me to do my job, and relate to people of all different ethnic groups from different cultures.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company
Part Time Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 28, 2016
You spend your days driving transit buses. You learn how to get around the city by learning different bus routes. Management was ok but the co-workers had the different clicks they were in and were very messy so it's good to just do your job and go home. The hardest part is being away from your family and missing out on things with them. I enjoyed driving and being able to drive a city bus was awesome.
Pros
Great company to grow in
Cons
Being away from your children
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Bus Operator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 7, 2017
Micro managed a lot and everything seems to be your fault, even when it's something you can't control. And it's a very dangerous and unstable job. Needs more protection for the operators
Pros
Something new every day
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive very informational work place
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 15, 2016
Its a nice company to work for. I loved the experience i gained over the years i was there. The only thing is that the work life balance was a little struggle at the begining
Pros
great job
Cons
no work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bus driver summary
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 3, 2016
great job developed good customer relationship
performed all duties required by management
Dealing with the snow in winter was difficult
Dealing with public was fun
I applied for a management position and was given a position as supervisor
Pros
Secure position
Cons
Snow and cold weather
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall CTA is in need of organization strategies
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 26, 2016
CTA is a challenging environment with much needed management support. The organization of scheduling is out of date, technology must be enhanced. Training is in need of more organization.
Pros
Transportation
Cons
management support lacking
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive Company
Data Entry Specialist/Workforce Management (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 28, 2016
Company has great opportunity for advancement for young professionals. Management team is very helpful and willing to give career advice.
Pros
career advancement opportunities
Cons
Organization is currently going through a lot of changes due to retirees
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an ok place to work.
Combined Rail Operator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 6, 2017
CTA cut back on a lot of jobs putting more pressure on one individual. They need better benefits and a more organized union. They need to have paid sick days.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job
Stationary Engineer (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 5, 2016
Good place to work learned a lot. Safety a big part of what they do. The culture is balanced. Company training to help you become successful.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 22, 2016
Great benefits and opportunities to grow with the company.great work environment,great coworkers.customers are nice and polite.
Pros
benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retirement friendly & MANY 1st-time workers start at 38 yrs old & up!
Combined Rail Operator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 7, 2016
:) I'm in consumer rail operations, WHICH IS COOL! this requires constant customer interaction ie. providing information, directions, making special announcements and sometimes assisting ADA passengers on and off the train; making sure we all travel safely from one terminal to the other without incidents/accidents.

What I've learned: GO TO WORK for you and your family "ONLY". You MAY make some friends and 'SEVERAL ENEMIES' with co-workers and management. But remember you don't come to work to make friends, lol!

Be NICE to your clerks at the bus or rail terminals; YOUR LIFE is in their hands if you're "on the board" aka daily assignment worker. It's much better when you're "Frozen" or can pick your job assignment/location while you're "Unfrozen" after you've chosen your to "Freeze" (or Lock) your classification, ie. Operator, Switchman, Towerman, Clerk or Customer Assistant.

The hardest part of the job is adjusting to the up and down WORK SCHEDULE AND LOCATIONS until you can "pick". You could be scheduled to return back to work between 8-10 from your last shift, but "SOME" accomodations can be made if there's manpower errors. Be mindful that cta is a 24 hour/7 day operating company, even when some train/bus lines shut down & re-open at a specific times.

But overall we have fun, some days you do "hard work" and somedays you do "easy work". You learn a lot, it can be family environment (depending on location), we bond together in times of trouble. Union Environment & there's lot of fairs/workshops.

This job could be "Your Retirement Plan" depending on
  more... your career choice...BEST OF LUCK TO ALL!!!  less
Pros
the benefits after becoming full-time, some uniforms are "neat" to wear
Cons
it's a seniority game, short breaks, fast paced, REMEMBERING to call-in EVERYDAY in the late afternoon for tomorrow's schedule, even when you sign-up for overtime. If you fail to report to your assignment you will get a "MISS".
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a joke
Rail Car Repairer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 30, 2016
I have never work with so many stupid people in my life!! Majority of management talks to you like you're on a street corner. You don't need anymore than a fifth grade education to get a job there. The whole place is ran like a zoo. Had no interest in growing there. Couldn't stoop to the quality of people what a joke!!
Pros
Rode CTA for free
Cons
It's a zoo
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun coworkers, family atmosphere
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 15, 2016
There are no typical days at work, you never know what your going to get on the street. There are good days when everyone is friendly, pay their fares act like respectful adults, then you have those days where the kids getting out of school are disrespectful and unruly, either way your there to do a job. Since I've been there a lot has changed which has played a major part on the moral of the company. The most enjoyable part of the job, my coworkers listening & laughing at the adventures of the day. The hardest part is finding time between work & everything else, the way the work is set up your entire day is consumed. i have over the years learned a lot such as how to deal with different personalities, defuse hostile situations and think quickly in the moment.
Pros
Fellow bus operators
Cons
breaks to long, management
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice day and bad i do not driveing show.
Driver Transporting (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 29, 2016
love work for Chicago transit the hours I do not like some time you start work at 4:00 am morning I like a set shift I learned a lot street I don't know the management department ok co-work help full the hardest is the people the most enjoyable pat day.
Pros
free bus rides
Cons
shift
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Senior Apprentice Treasurer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 16, 2017
Fast paced environment with opportunities for growth. This position allows you to work independently with little to none supervision. There are moments where you work with the general public (processing orders and customer service questions). Opportunities to work with other departments in preparation for internal audits and other business related tasks.
Pros
great work environment
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company
Railroad Conductor (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 5, 2017
Don't let the pay fool you. After they steal from you, you only get 40% of your pay. They hire you just to try and fire you. They don't give sick days and expect us to be robots and never get sick, cause if you do and you call off you gonna get in trouble for it.
Pros
Ride free
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Work Enviornment
Combined Rail Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 16, 2016
Typical Day at work be centered around time management and troubleshooting of rail equipment. The Hardest part of the job was the long hours and uncertainty. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting different people daily.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place For Growth
Bus Servicer (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 20, 2016
This company allows you to grow to your fullest ability. My coworkers are very hard working. They take on their job with ease. Management is awesome! I must say each of them makes sure the shift is ran perfect!
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chicago Transit Authority. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 322 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5
75%

CEO Approval

Based on 73 ratings
Add your rating

Chicago Transit Authority Reviews by Location