Find companies:
Children's Defense Fund
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Children's Defense Fund Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Education
Freedom School Partner (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 18, 2014
I am very passionate about education. I believe that it is very important. I plan to become a teacher after receiving my masters degree. This job helps me prepare for that journey. I have learned so many skill needed in everyday life. I have become a more open person and willing to talk out loud in front of large groups. Without this job I do not think – more... that I would know what my career path would be. I found my passion through this summer internship. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Lead Juvenile Justice Organizer (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 5, 2014
I would check my emails
Attend weekly staff meetings
reply to messages and begin outreach
set up meeting dates and schedules
lunch
finish or start new project
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for college students
SERVANT LEADER SUMMER INTERN (Former Employee), Jackson, MSFebruary 11, 2014
this is a summer program for students in college to help their community, get great teaching experience, and earn some cash.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly enviroment always laughing
Marketing Administrator (Former Employee), Los angeles CAOctober 20, 2013
Pros: my daughter attended the school for free
Cons: long hours
A typical day at work not so typical. Everything from calling on celebrities for events, to picking up party favors for one of our students birthday parties. I learned humilty patience and the true meaning of hard work and dedication. My co workers were always extending olive branches. We all did that. The hardest part of my job was relocating and leaving – more... my kids. It was honestly so much fun for me. The most enjoyable part was networking with the "Big wigs" watching their heart melt when they discovered what Childrens Defense was all about. It was even more touching to watch them come down to the school and recieve more from the children than they had expected. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work with and great opportunity.
Social Media Intern (Former Employee), Oakland, CAJuly 28, 2013
This is a great place to work at. Everyone here is very nice and helpful. It has been a great experience for me and great way to start for someone who just moved to the area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leave No Child Behind is the mission and the motto.
Media Associate & Product Development Manager (Former Employee), Washington, DCJuly 3, 2013
Pros: experience
I gained my first professional experiences at CDF. The mission to Leave No Child Behind is a sincere initiative of the organization. A great place to gain experience in communications.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CDF Intern Review
Student Leader Intern (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 14, 2013
My time with CDF was great and helped define where I wanted to take my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun work environment
Freedom School-Mentor/Servant Leader (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHAugust 23, 2012
Pros: free lunch, and activities
Cons: benefits, healthcare and medical
morning breakfast with the kids, do a little cheers and chants. Teaching them about the importants of reading and critical thinking. The best management and co-workers you can ask for. Their wasn't any really hard parts just only trying to keep the kids quite. The most enjoyable part of the day is reading to the kids and getting feedback from what they – more... learned. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work!
Development Clerk (Former Employee), Wasington, DCAugust 18, 2012
Pros: great working environment
Cons: expensive benefits
Tracking donations sent to the organization. Planning fundraising events and working with vendors to process donatins in a timely manner. My coworkers were fun loving people. The hardest part of the job was making events a success on a small budget. The most enjoyable part of the job is the satisfactin in helping others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a very productive environment with a unlimited amount of learning
Teacher/Counselor (Former Employee), Bennettsville, SCMay 21, 2012
If you wanna become a teacher or anything in the education field you should definitely look at the Children's Defense Fund for a internship