Children's Home Society of Florida Employee Reviews

Showing all 73 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Childen's Home Society
Licensing/ Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLMarch 11, 2017
Well organized and funded to provide quality services. Support services in place for foster parents, professional environment most of the time. Advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work very meaningful work
Administrative Secretary (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, FLFebruary 5, 2017
Great place and co-workers to work with. If it wasn't for the salary not equaling the workload it would be excellent
They need to raise the salary's for everyone there.
Pros
meaningful work helping others
Cons
salary is too low to live a normal life
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours and low pay
Mental Health Counselor (Former Employee) –  FloridaFebruary 4, 2017
What they don't tell you is that you almost never counsel clients in the office, you have to go to each school or house to do your job. On top of that, you need to add crazy amount of paper work because NOTHING is on a computer, you have to hand write everything. Therapists work from 45 to 50 hours a week to complete their work, including weekends. Supervisors only care about meeting quota and requirements to maintain state funding, and clients are secondary. Benefits are good, but salary is low compared to other places in the area.

Pros: hours are flexible and you can make your own schedule.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Low pay, non paid overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked in the independent living program
Independent Living, Intern (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLFebruary 3, 2017
It was awesome being able to assist children transitioning out of foster care and seeking careers.

I was only a intern, so I did not have an in-depth experience with the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was very streefull with lots of paperwork
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJanuary 28, 2017
The best part about this job was helping family be reunited. M supervisor was really nice and help out whenever she could. The job was required long hours, home visits and court appearances. A lot of paperwork was required,driving and contact with hostile people.
Pros
Really nice superviosr and people that i worked with
Cons
Homevisits, On-Call, Paperwork
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work environment
Family Support Worker (Former Employee) –  JacksonvilleJanuary 20, 2017
I was warned by others of CHS and how all they care about are their numbers and funding.. not the staff or the families. Well, I should have listened! Worst place to work, terrible pay and benefits, staff is not supportive, and you will never get a raise! Too many reasons not to work there to list!!
Pros
None
Cons
Poor pay and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed building relationships with parents and children which lead to family unification.
Family Support Worker (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLJanuary 19, 2017
The workplace atmosphere was very professional. Awesome management team and great communication. Job provided flexible scheduling for visitations and travel. Various positions are available for advancement based on level of education.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Social Services Agency
Mental Health Counselor/Parenting Educator (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJanuary 11, 2017
Typical Social Service agency. Very little personal buy into the overall wellness of the client. Provide a quality service and that is it. Follow up to prevent recidivism is not required, so many folks become regular clients to this issues, that applies to all social services.
Cons
low pay, extra duties outside of job description was the norm
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing
Clinical Counselor (Former Employee) –  South Florida, FLDecember 21, 2016
Long day with some flexibility, The position was misrepresented a lot more travel than was explained. Management did not take into account demographics when assigning cases. Case loads were not equal among all employees. Management was all about the numbers and when moral seemed to be waning would offer an incentive to increase competition among employees however it was unfair when one person carried a case load of 22 or 24 and others 10. Management and employees in other departments did not communicate well and often times those on the road missed out on donations for their clients. Being that it was all about the numbers management did not back up the employee if a complaint was made because they did not want any bad press. There was an investigation into the complaint to the detriment of the employee because they were placed on unpaid leave. No long term loyalty very disappointing. They do help the community by providing donations to needy families as well as counseling for the children and families
Pros
Children were getting the necesary assistance they needed
Cons
management, lack of communication and follow through
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead End Jobs
Case Management (Former Employee) –  Winter Park, FLDecember 21, 2016
Little chance of advancements due to people staying in posting for a long period of time. Dead end dull jobs. Since new CEO has ben hired. lots of lay offs. From Corporate on down..
Pros
Good work Life Balance
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agency is stable, however management does not support employees
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 16, 2016
CHS is stable and does lots of good in the community However, the upper management does not support its employees and is politically motivated. They blame others when things go wrong and micromanage supervisors. The atmosphere creates low employee morale and dissatisfaction at the job. The supervisors had lots of stress due to the management style. this is the reason for the employee turnover-especially by Program Managers and Program Supervisors.
Pros
Working with such dedicated employees, assisting low income families with so many needs
Cons
Upper management style of blaming employees, giving more work, not being role models, political aspects pf jpb, employees promoted over others
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
energetic
Social Work Intern (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 12, 2016
i loved working here, from the friendly staff to the happy children. Team work and dedication shines throughout the place
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Level Stress
Dependency Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLNovember 28, 2016
A typical day at work can vary from transporting children appearing in court and preparing court documents. it is hard to do all of those things with limited help.
Pros
not a usual 9-5 job
Cons
Not enough help and wear and tear on your car transporting children
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job out of college
Program Director (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLNovember 21, 2016
I was able to grow as a young social worker and build my career advancing into management. Enjoyed building teams and helping children and families. Hardest part of the job was managing personalities. Most enjoyable part of the job is building teams from the ground up and seeing them grow into successful programs.
Pros
High Stress
Cons
managing personalities
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Family Support Worker (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FL 33406November 18, 2016
I loved working at Bridges Lake Park. I was part time so I wasn't able to get benefits. Aside from that it was good. The atmosphere at the office was great and everyone worked together as a team.
Pros
the management
Cons
the pay could have been a little better
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I hope things have changed
Child Advocate (Former Employee) –  Buckner Jacksonville, FloridaNovember 14, 2016
As a child living at the CHS facility I will never forget how terrible we children were treated. I am now seventy-one years old and I have written some 40 books on how this organization destroyed many young lives. It was all about the money and large donations and not the children. Google Roger Dean Kiser and you can read about the horrors suffered by the children in their care. Visiting there a few years back; I talked with several of the children, before being asked to leave the facility for questioning the children. I was told things still were as bad today as they were in the 1950s.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding to help those in need
Counselor II (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLSeptember 15, 2016
This job was rewarding to me being able to help those in need. Making a difference in someone's life brought lots of gratitude to me. I'm a team player and go out my way to help others.
Pros
Flexible schedule.
Cons
Healthcare benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive atmosphere
Program Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 19, 2016
Great working environment and supportive upper management and co-workers. In 6 years I have had the opportunity to advance my career 3 times. Working with children and families is rewarding.
Pros
flexible, family oriented
Cons
not for profit pay is low
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company does not support employees
Dependency Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Vero Beach, FLJune 29, 2016
Company piles work on to employees. Company does not pay overtime instead pays by half time so when exceeding 40 hours you are paid less per hour for hours that are mandatory that you work. Sometimes it works out that an employee is working for $5 an hour. When clients make false claims against an employee the company calls it a personal issue and refuses to support or back the employee instead chooses to penalize the employee. Caseloads are not manageable in a 40 hour work week. Company continually adds workload based off what other positions decide they shouldn't do anymore. Health insurance was changed to a minimum of a $5,000 deductible before any coverage is received. After the $5,000 deductible is met only 80% of each visit is covered. Company feels that the insurance is suitable coverage. Employer will call when off work to ask work related questions.
Pros
Direct supervisor are supportive., However hands are tied by upper management that refuses to support employees.
Cons
Healthcare, work hours, upper management lack of support
Was this review helpful?Yes30No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Dependency Case Manager (Former Employee) –  FloridaJune 6, 2016
This job certainly takes a toll on you. You will find yourself working 10 hour days and only getting paid for 40 hours a week. You're constantly stressed and upper management is overworked as well, so they aren't much help. No one teaches you how to do your job, they just have you take a 13 week class to pass a test. Working with the state legal system makes it even worse. If you are tough, strong minded, and enjoy spontaneous schedules then it's great. Certainly not for everyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes36No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Children's Home Society of Florida. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 73 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.9
Culture
3.2
64%

CEO Approval

Based on 25 ratings
Add your rating

Children's Home Society of Florida Reviews by Location