CHILDREN'S HOME Employee Reviews

Found 24 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
PRN (Current Employee) –  LVNSeptember 17, 2015
This is a wonderful company to work for. Love working here. The office staff are very nice and willing to answer any questions you may have. Pay is great and they offer benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Baker/Cook
Cook/Baker (Former Employee) –  Poughkeepsie, NYSeptember 10, 2015
A typical day started with making the lunch and dinner for the children staying at the home. These children all come from different backgrounds. Whether it be from parents separating or losing a parent. They all came from unstable households and to be able to provide them with wholesome, nutritional food is the least I could do. It is very enjoyable to see them excited about eating because it is one less thing they had to worry about. The hardest part about the job was to learn about the current situation of each child. It gave me more ammunition and pride to do what I do. I went to work everyday excited to create dishes for these kids so they could have a hot meal and to never go to bed hunger. This experience has taught me to appreciate what I have in my life and to never take it for granted. My co-workers and management was very helpful and friendly people. They were great to talk to and learn from.
Pros
knowing I am making a difference in a kids life
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Children's Home is like a second family.
Case Manager/Counselor (Current Employee) –  Winston Salem, NCJuly 7, 2015
My career at The Children's Home has been like having a second family. I have developed many close and professional relationships that have allowed me to grow both personally and professionally. I believe that my job has allowed me the opportunity to demonstrate compassion and provide individuals with mental illness effective and professional services with great skill and knowledge.
Pros
There is a great sense of family and support, Staff always maintains professionalism, the supervisors are extremely supportive, They work deligently to assure that the staff is well trained, They asure that staff is knowledgable of best practices in field, There is always opportunity for advancement within the agency, I have experienced great flexibility with my schedule .
Cons
The salaries are not adequate, three CEOs in the past 6 years, lots of turnover due to poor morale in some units, shut down of some programs
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can survive if you have a heart for the children
Primary Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJune 8, 2015
Management wasn't really there for you. You work long hours with no lunch breaks or even 15 minutes. You basically have to look out for yourself. The most enjoyable part of the job however are the interactions with the children, taking them to school, helping them with their school work, changing their lives.
Pros
You get to make a different in the kids' lives.
Cons
No breaks, no lunches, management doesn't support you.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment with help young adults turn their lives around
Resident Advisor (Current Employee) –  PeoriaJune 5, 2015
Making sure all of the Residents are being responsible and active as well as productive every day. Minor counseling with them to teach them to go from boy to man.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very adventrous place to work
LEAD RESIDENTIAL COUNSELOR (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCMay 27, 2015
A great place to work.. very adventurous for children and their families. A strong family interaction place. I rather not tell my experience with this agency..
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teen moms
Family Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILOctober 6, 2014
Great job. Each day happy to come to work some times challenging but very rewarding. Helping teen moms to be the best mother they could be.
Pros
great organization helping teen moms and their babies. excellent training.
Cons
social agency that did not pay well because funding from state, federal and private donors.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very pleacent place to work
Case Management/Family Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 30, 2014
Is a great place to work and most of all is the work is done there looking out and making sure that childrens are well taking care off.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Kitchen Associate (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 24, 2014
I say hi in the morning see what i have to do i get breakfast together. I do the dishes and including get breakfast ready for the next day for the kids. I learned how to work well with people m y co-workers was so nice we have are laughs. I did inventory for them sometimes. I'll say the hardest about this job was nothing. The enjoyable part of the job was they treated you like family.
Pros
free lunches, free breakfeast
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of fun
Childcare Assistant (Current Employee) –  Peoria, ILMay 14, 2014
A typical day was lots of fun 9/10 working with kids. Helping them with homework and playing sports & games with them.
Pros
beening a big brother to the kids
Cons
i can say it didnt have none
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stepping stone employment
Residential Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mount Holly, NJMay 6, 2014
Provide a nurturing environment for at-risk youth, restraining youth, providing treatment to youth and helping youth work on treatment goals
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good experince.
Residential Counselor (Former Employee) –  Salem, NCMarch 25, 2014
Productive and good experince. Learned something new everyday. No two days are ever the same. Enjoy working with the youth.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Resident Counselor (Former Employee) –  Mount Holly, NJFebruary 13, 2014
New things every day enjoyed working with the youth. Really liked going to work helping to mold young minds.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
government funded
Group house leader / Life skills coach (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILDecember 26, 2013
prompt youth to complete their day successfully

how to conserve my passion leave work at work

management for self only do not look to help advance employees

co-workers good help but every man for self feel

dealing with each personal issue of clients

helping youth to become successful adult
Pros
helping youth
Cons
watching the system of mistreatment by the program
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Children's Home of Stockton, California
Teacher's Aide (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CANovember 1, 2013
Supervised, monitored and assembled students; maintained order in the classroom, library and on the playground; assisted teacher with various tasks including attendance records and grading homework; planned activities and prepared materials and supplies for class use; assisted students with homework; decorated
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress but interesting environment
Teacher Aide (Former Employee) –  Binghamton, NYFebruary 12, 2013
Children's Home was a good place to work as long as everyone was on the same page. Co workers were amazing and so was my one boss. Had my back when I needed him the most and that meant a lot to me.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
restraints and no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Obtained good work experience
Intern (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILJanuary 23, 2013
Work atmosphere appeared to assist in developing individual work skills
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job!!!
Per Diem Residential Counselor (Former Employee) –  Cromwell, CTDecember 14, 2012
I love this job and I never worked with children with Autism and I love all the kids that I work with.... I even enjoy the overnight hours because it's quiet and the only time, we really have to do anything is when the children wake up. This rarely happens and when it does, if you know your job than the child will go right back to sleep.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
can't do all the hours i want because i'm only one person...
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Overnight Worker (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILSeptember 26, 2012
I worked night shift. It was fairly easy. I was taught the correct way to perform CPR and also how to restrain an out of control child. My co-workers were amazing and awesome to work with. The hardest part about working 3rd shift is staying awake. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with the clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Americorps (Former Employee) –  peoria ilAugust 8, 2012
Working in a place where you know you make a difference. Everyone there is really sweet and kind.Not a difficult job, just rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture