Find companies:
Children's Hospital Central California
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Children's Hospital Central California Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Activites
Child Life Aide (Former Employee), Madera, CAMarch 2, 2014
Pros: room to grow, great staff, good benefits, volunteers to help
830 Rounds
9-1130 infant toddler time
1130-1 lunch
1-2 teen time
2-5 Open to every age
5-6 dinner
6-9 Evening play

Weekly Bingo
Weekly teen night
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced medical office with a very welcoming staff
Medical Imaging Specialist (Extern) (Former Employee), Madera, CAFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: friendly staff and doctors
Cons: it was only and extern
A typical work day would include taking vitals for patients and rooming them for the sonographers. Assisting R.N with procedures when needed. Answer phones and deliver specimins to the lab when needed. Write down the patient schedule for the folling day at the end of the current day. Assist Doctors and Nurse with patient education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job that required me to be on the top of my game at all times
Pediatric Care Technician (Former Employee), Madera, CAFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: employee apreciation
Cons: night shift
Working here required discipline, making executive decisions and paying close attention to detail. You had to learn how to work well in a team environment and be able to depend on the people around you. It was also a very rewarding job at times because you were able to help children in need. The hardest part about the job is the fact that I worked the – more... grave yard shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee), Madera, CAJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: they did not hire me
I was a patient there after my TBI. Awesome staff and willingness to teach volunteers. I had the great experience as a volunteer getting to use own injury as a patient and use therapeutic use of self to encourage young children as they heal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a good place to work.
ED Registrar & Billing/Registration Rep. (Former Employee), Emergency Department & Outpatient Services FundingNovember 16, 2013
Pros: never a dull moment, always something going on, proven ability to function on a tight budget. tremendous potential yet to be met.
Cons: poor leadership, bad management, too conservative, reactive mentality, virtually nonexistent advancement opportunities.
Petty behavior. Zero productivity. All in a day's work. This place has gone downhill. When I first started working here, it was a good place to work, but over the years I had witnessed a downward spiral in the company culture and mentality. The patient has lost its status as highest priority. There is no change here, just a commitment to the same ol' – more... same ol'. Common sense? Extinct here. Management is going insane by telling employees that things are going to get better by doing the same thing over and over again. Then what happens? Things get worse! There exists a culture of doing the same thing over and over again with the same results. The workload has increased with not enough resources, and management won't budge on hiring more employees to ease this burden. As a result, current employees feel overworked and overstressed.

There exists obvious favoritism in this organization. The weakest links and unqualified get hired and recognized while the strongest performers get punished, disrespected and underappreciated. Teamwork is like a foreign language in this organization. Employees are generally selfish and do not know how to work together. There is no sense of community or support here, rather diverted blame and no accountability. Employees are more concerned with being lazy, incompetent, childish, spiteful and apathetic. Basically, they go to work for the paycheck. The atmosphere of incessant chatter, ear-piercing laughter, constant absenteeism, distractions such as singing/humming, foot-tapping/stomping, gum-snapping, phone vibrating and personal phone calls on work time is not conducive to productivity and does not create camaraderie.

Bad hires have contributed to a very hostile work environment and have lost this organization a lot of money. The lack of change in this place only perpetuates this and chases off the best workers. This place has suffered a decline, and as a result, has a very long road ahead of it.

Management needs to provide much better leadership. They need to stop their abuse of power, stop the micromanagement, eliminate the condescending behavior and get rid of the status quo. Become agents of change in order to create a culture of change for the better. LISTEN to the employees' concerns. When there is a problem, be proactive in getting to the root of it, and fix it. Do not ignore the problem or cover it up while letting it get worse. Do not fix what isn't broken. For example, if a certain software was functioning properly, do not get new software that is not user friendly and causes productivity problems. Stop the competing priorities. The highest priority is the patient. After all, that is why hospitals exist. Management and HR need to make much better hires, and provide better onboarding and training to new hires. If there are employees that need improvement, implement an effective performance improvement plan. If they cannot or will not improve after all efforts have been made, do not retain them. Stop the reactive mentality and become much more proactive within reason. If they want the best and brightest, then look for them and hire them. Once they hire them, recognize their accomplishments and make positive and extensive efforts to retain them, not create an unacceptable and intolerable work environment that very few "A" players will tolerate. Don't create or perpetuate a defeatist culture by settling for someone without the proper credentials, experience, maturity and quality just for the sake of quickly filling a position. That only causes cancers to infect the entire organization by lowering the morale. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Madera, CANovember 15, 2013
Pros: the kids!!
Cons: low pay. poor management. disappointing.
RN's not appreciated at all. Overworked with no appreciation. Not even a thank you. The only thing these people want from you is more. If your not part of the clique there is NO advancement. Nurses and staff who've worked 25, 15, 10 years have been fired for dumb reasons. And they will fire you while on medical leave. If your NOT a nurse it's a good – more... place to work but if you are a nurse PLEASE find a place where they will appreciate all you do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hospital for kids
Phlebotomist (Current Employee), Madera,CAOctober 28, 2013
Pros: i love how we have vendors that come out to the hospital ex) scrub sales, shoe sales, jewelry sales
Cons: lots of bad attitudes, criticisms, not a very positive environment
I love what I do, I love working with kids, you can be professional and still be a kid yourself. Patients make this place GREAT!! I love the relationships I've built with my patients over the years, they are the true reason I get up and come to work everyday, but the hardest part of my job is the field/clinics that I work in and those Patients not being – more... able to come back anymore, due to their type of illness or disease. This is truly a clicky/high school drama Hospital. It's ridiculous. Best to just come in and do your job and focus at the task at hand. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
MEDICAL RECORDS CLERK CARDIOLOGY CLINIC (Former Employee), Madera, CAOctober 20, 2013
Pros: nice people
A great atomshere to work in. Organization is great to be a part of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fullfilling position and great opportunity.
HUC - Surgery/DaySurgery/Recovery/Post-Op (Current Employee), Madera, CAOctober 10, 2013
I enjoyed learning new areas within the peri-op department. I feel my skills were utilized and enjoyed working with staff from all departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revolving door with little chance of advancement in Security Department
Security Officer (Current Employee), Madera, CAAugust 16, 2013
Pros: great benefits and decent pay.
Cons: inexperienced egomaniacs running the department, hostile work environment with almost zero chance for advancement.
Children's Hospital's security department pays better than private security outfits and the benefits are great, but the Director, manager, has no clue how to operate the security department, mainly because the geniuses in charge of the hospital prefer to hire inexperienced people that have a masters degree over qualified security experience. The manager – more... and supervisors will write you up or plain out fire you for petty things and it's impossible to get a fair evaluation because they don't want to pay anyone the extra pay raise because of budget no matter how hard you try. Management encourages tattle tales to stir up animosities and cause drama in the department causing a hostile work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work if you love kids
Health Unit Co-coordinator (Former Employee), Madera, CaMay 22, 2013
Pros: you get to work with kids
Cons: you get to work with kids- in a hospital. sometimes your heart will break.
Very busy and requires a good understanding of time management, Co-workers are awesome and there is a great vibe there! Good sense of team and family atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent facility to work at.
Registered Nurse II (Former Employee), Madera, CaMay 16, 2013
This hospital is full of caring, compassionate individuals dedicated to their patients. Excellent opportunities for advancement for the self-motivated. Beautiful building and grounds
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work! Learned alot, and there was always something to do.
Pediatric Care Technician (Former Employee), madera, caMay 15, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: no room for advancement in my position, and no one else working as a pct besides me
I did the anesthesia set up in the Imaging Department for the CT's, MRI's, Fluoro, Nuc Med, and some times even sedation patients for the Sedation Team.

I learned how to turn on/off anesthesia machine, how to fill the machine with anesthetic gases, how to check gas tanks for O2, CO2. I learned all of the instruments the doctors would use for anesthesia – more... and I had to have the proper equipment set up for each case and I also had to learn the different personalities of each person I worked with.

My co-workers were great, they were all nurses and anesthesiologists so I had a lot of valuable information that came my way every day.

Hardest part of the job was that I was the only one in the Radiology department that worked in my position, so I had a lot on my hands, but I always got the job done.

The most enjoyable part of the job was definitely the children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a number
Allied health (Former Employee), Outpatient/inpatientMay 15, 2013
Pros: making a difference in a sick child's life
Cons: poor benefits, lowest pay compared to other local hospitals, no perks, and absolutely no employee support.
The hospital used to have employee picnics, discounts, bonuses... Sure times and economy changes but as a former employee of 20+years, I have watched the hospital care more about money and numbers and less about the worker bees who get the job done. Management is soooo baaad!!! Especially middle management. They love to micro manage and take credit – more... for "our" hard work and "our" dedication to sick children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Children
Pediatrics Care Technician (Former Employee), Madera, CAApril 18, 2013
Pros: seeing the children having a great attitude even when they were sick.
Cons: seeing the children being sick .
I worked in the Oncology department. The patients were all children which I love working with. Even though they were sick they didn't want to be at the hospital they had a great attitude and knew that being there was going to help them. All the nurses there were so caring and loving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, innovative and wonderful work environment
Respiratory Technician (Current Employee), Madera, CAApril 6, 2013
Pros: working with kids and a great staff
-Your typical work day is working with a handful of hardworking and focused therapists who love bringing smiles to the faces of our patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Manager (Current Employee), Madera, CAJanuary 27, 2013
Pros: great facility and culture
Cons: can be a tense work environment
Never a dull moment. Plenty to do as hospital has a very thrifty culture. Upper management is strong but lacks structure and depth below that. Workers are very dedicated to the hospital and its vision and mission with many long standing employees. The hardest part of the job is that it takes 50 to 60 hours per week to do. The most enjoyable part is – more... the satisfaction that it's for the children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not work there again
Security Officer (Former Employee), Madera, CADecember 28, 2012
The hospital is great if your child is sick. But the management is bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad managment
Security Officer (Former Employee), Madera, CaDecember 24, 2012
Pros: good pay
Cons: bad managment, politics.
Worked there for 9 years, then new managment moved in and started changing everything in the department. Before that "woman" came in, it was a great place to work. After the director hired her nobody was happy to to go to work. Like a previous review said, the place is "clicky" like high school. Its who you know not what you know. So if you get hired – more... there, they will fire you if they dont like you.
Concerning perks, not much left. They took away alot of them over the years. They only care about upholding the image and reputation of the hospital above anything else. They DO NOT care about the employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One big high school
Respiratory Therapist Assistant (Former Employee), Madera, CASeptember 25, 2012
Pros: kid friendly environment
Cons: politics, clicky, who you know not what you know!
For the most part staffing was nice. But majority of the staff were very "clicky" like high school. This place is full of politics just like any other hospital it's not what you know it's who you know!