Find companies:
Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud to Work Here
Patient Care Services (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAMarch 5, 2014
Given the opportunities to grow within my position, but extremely difficult to move forward.
My co-workers have a great love for patients and doing what is right to care for them and their families. The hardest part to deal with in my position is the review of deceased patient records. I enjoyed the teamwork and bond the staff establish....and feel – more... the management teams are there to support the staff when needed.
Very disappointed in the difficulties trying to advance within the organization, and lack of credit given to those whom truly deserve it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring work environment
Surgical Scheduling Coordinator (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAFebruary 21, 2014
The management is very aware of the needs of the staff and did a great job accommodating them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Information Technology (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: what the hopsital does for the kids
Cons: no raises, long hours, no training, poor management.
What the hospital does for the children and what they give back to the community is excellent!! The management in Information technology should follow the mission of CHKD.

Information Technology management have been given their position due to number of years at CHKD or they are friends with someone and if you are not part of the "click" then you will – more... never fit in. The management has the board of directors so fooled and the truth is never told. The employees are lied to, no direction is being provided to the teams. If you ask you are told to figure it out and let them know. If you ask for training to help with something you are now supporting the management gives you a manual and are told to "get up to speed"

The management are always going to "conferences" in warm sunny places but no training to staff will be provided. The disorganization of management is felt by their staff on a daily basis. People that care about their job don't care anymore due to the management attitude.

CHKD is #1 in my book. The care for the kids, community....

If you are looking fro a career in Information Technology, this is not the place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace that is highly respected by the community it serves.
Pharmacy IS Specialist (Current Employee), Norfolk, VANovember 17, 2013
Pros: information exchange and learning
Cons: long hours - self imposed.
I love my job with CHKD. The work atmosphere is professional yet friendly. It is a teaching hospital where you are always learning and teaching. The exchange between professionals extends to everyone. Since accepting the IS position I have learned a great deal about how projects are planned. I get great satisfaction from being part of a project team. – more... Working from the vision, to the design, through the build, to implementation is draining but, it gives me a sense of pride to see the final product I helped work on functioning as expected and accepted by the end user. The teamwork that goes on during a project is amazing and the exchange of information between departments at different levels is exceptional. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique Environment
Manager, Respiratory Care Department (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAOctober 24, 2013
Challenging, unique environment
Excellent experience to be part of such a unique and integral facility
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Practice Manager (Current Employee), Norfolk, VirginiaOctober 23, 2013
Pros: flexible
I enjoy working with the patients and helping people.
The physicians really care about what they are doing
I enjoy working with a wide range of people and personalities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You will learn a lot
Department Secretary (Former Employee), Norfolk,vaOctober 23, 2013
Pros: learning experience
Cons: short breaks
working at this position will challenge you and you will learn a great deal of information
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place for patient care
medical records (Former Employee), norfolkOctober 17, 2013
management, management, management. No compensation, work day long and hard. no teamwork. Don't recommend working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
LPN (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAOctober 17, 2013
I love working here but i need to expand my experience and make a little more money to support my family
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compassionate and Intellegent Coworkers
Sr. Executive Secretary & Med/Surg Unit Secretary (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 6, 2013
Pros: best part of the job is that we are here for the children
Cons: no lunch break area in administration
Working at CHKD is very rewarding. They are practicing relationship based care and working toward MAGNET certification.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Children's Hospital fo the King's Daughters really care for all kids, make their easy while being treated.
Junior Staff Accountant (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 3, 2013
Pros: great insurance, dental plans, many activities for co-workers to participate w/ departments.
Cons: layoffs.
My day at work consist of filing remittances paperwork and boxing up past months. Did allocation of budges on paperwork and made sure that families were being charged correctly for bills with their insurance stuff. I love being able to be creative and help make the company succeed better. I really enjoyed working for CHKD and my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for starting a career but lacking in advancement
Information Services Applications Specialist (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAApril 7, 2013
Pros: job security, flexible work hours, you get to make a positive impact on the pediatric community
Cons: pay and benefits, lack of advancement, lack of management.
They tend to grab people with little to no experience. So this can be great for someone getting out of college or starting a new career path. There is also a general sense of community where everyone knows it's about helping the children.

The pay and benefits are not great. No raises, promotions, or room for advancement. A lot of the employees including – more... management have been there for 10+ years and have strong bias against newcomers. New employees within the same job level report to a core group of peers and not to management. This can be useful for management to pursue other projects but awful for new employees who become underappreciated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work/life balance not there
Pharmacist (Former Employee), newport news, vaMarch 14, 2013
company is doing its best in changing market place to reinvent themselves into more than a pharmacy and make the life of the pharmacist more about patient care and less about script count. With loss of Express Scripts (tricare) some areas volume hit extremely hard
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management has NO clue
Nurse (Current Employee), NorfolkDecember 28, 2012
Pros: working with kids
Cons: management - management - management
Poorly managed! On their mission to become a magnet hospital we are losing sight of the most important thing - our patients! Often short staffed and rarely compensate staff for doing anything extra. Little compensation to return to school to further their education, yet they want to encourage you to go as this makes them look better.

Jessit – July 17, 2013

You are right its so true! A friend of mine quit after the senior nurse bullying her and even the manager involved.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience as a new graduate
Registered Nurse-Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAOctober 2, 2012
The hardest part of my job as a NICU nurse is the reality that some patients do not make it and watching their families heartache. The most enjoyable part of my job is celebrating the babies that do get better and go home with their parents, especially when they come back to visit you and you can see them grow and improve. The connection you make with – more... the babies and their families is truly rewarding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being told you were the best they ever hired
Patient Account Representative (Former Employee), Norfolk, VASeptember 23, 2012
Pros: we would get extra hours off when we needed them.
Cons: i loved my job not cons there
Each day we received insurance payments and they were to be posted on each patients account. Everything had to add up exactly. I only have a couple of ladies I worked with but I never had a bad day with either one of them. Meeting those deadlines can be a killer sometimes. I have gone home after 8:00 getting the end of the months work done. We did get – more... pat on the backs by our boss. She recognized when we did a good job and told us. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a monopoly, CHKD staff feel as they can behave horribly to both colleagues and pts/families.
Employee (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 8, 2012
Pros: the kids
Cons: everything else
I was not welcomed as a new employee. In fact I was treated very disrespectfully because the program director had alienated so many people and had not resolved any issues and so as the newest person in the dept, I caught the brunt of it. I have never worked in a place that was so full of arrogant, nasty, rude and backstabbing people. I quit after 2 – more... mnths because the work environment was so hostile. The culture in this hospital is similar to that of any monopoly, if you're the only game in town (only childrens hospital in state), you can get away w/ unprofessional behavior. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent care
INTERIM Director of Radiology (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 3, 2012
Pros: patient care
Cons: non-medical leadership
the care for the patients is stellar, the senior management is fair for the most part, there are a few that are not trustworthy and will sheme against deicated employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
allied health (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAJune 26, 2012
Pros: working with children
Cons: deceitful management
I have worked for several children's hospitals over the years, and never have I been treated so poorly as when working for Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters. The hospital is generally understaffed, and when new people come aboard, they are not at all welcomed. I have seen many new and talented employees treated unfairly by both fellow colleagues – more... and by management. Management lies and backstabs. There are many places to work with and help people and children. It's unfortunate that King's Daughters makes it so difficult to want to stay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
I.S. Application Support Specialist (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAMay 26, 2012
I love helping a good cause as much as the next person but CHKD makes it hard to care. I was give very little work while here and was treated as if i had no life outside of work.

About Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters

You don't have to be royalty to be a patient at Children's Hospital of The King's Daughters (CHKD).¬†CHKD is Virginia's only free-standing, – Read more