Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters Employee Reviews

Showing all 58 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Materials Management (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAFebruary 16, 2017
very fun place to work, puts a lot in perspective witnessing young children fight for their life every day. Chkd is a very loving and caring environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Surgical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAFebruary 6, 2017
I loved working at CHKD. The people are what makes it so amazing. leaving was extremely hard, and not an option due to military needs. management is pretty understanding and the hours are there most of the time. Summer is the busiest time of the year, but who doesn't want OT here and there?
Pros
the people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where you gain valuable experience, however not enough room for growth.
Patient Access Technician (Current Employee) –  Hampton, VAFebruary 4, 2017
CHKD is a great organization for you to gain the required experience to complete your job duties. Staff are friendly and work together as a team to get the job done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and productive
Patient Account Technician II - Follow Up (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJanuary 5, 2017
Ok place to work, would go back, but once you leave, its hard to get back in. Co workers for the most part are friendly. To many departments with no room for advancement. The pay could be better in comparison to competitor.
Pros
lunch and breaks
Cons
not always consistent in employee appreciation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJanuary 3, 2017
Fast-paced workplace. Before you know it, it is time to go home. Always something to do. Management is very understanding and sensitive to employees needs. Co-workers are team players, willing to help out.
Pros
Understanding management
Cons
Lunch is only 30 minutes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work with co workers and working with different Doctors.
Patient Account Tech (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAOctober 24, 2016
a typical day is always busy scheduling patients for Labs, x-rays, and different departments.
I have really learned a lot working for the company for 8 years, I enjoyed the patients, co-workers and the job as a whole was a great learning experience.
Pros
The commute
Cons
AM/PM breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Clinical Social Worker (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAAugust 30, 2016
long hours, a lot of learning opportunities, co workers have a team approach, hardest part of job is kids dying, most enjoyable part is that staff makes it a fun place to work, a lot of eating engagements
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
Network Security Engineer (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAAugust 30, 2016
Good work life balance. I rarely work overtime and get comp time when I do. Great management, but it's a non profit so the salary coul d be better.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Network Engineer (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJune 17, 2016
This a great place to work for. Good pay and good team to work for. It's also nice when you have children because it makes the job more rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Direction
ADMINSTRATIVE ASSISTANT/OFFICE COORDINATOR (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAMarch 11, 2016
Working for this organization put me on the path to the medical field. I realized that my administrative skills proved to be beneficial in the non-clinical area of healthcare.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you like pediatrics
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJanuary 30, 2016
The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the children. I enjoyed working in the operating room and correcting defects in the children. Also enjoyed working with many of the surgeons. A great learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chkd
Lab Systems Facilitator (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAOctober 6, 2015
The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing that I am helping children. They are a joy to work with. My co-workers are also enjoyable.
Pros
Healthcare
Cons
Short break/ no break
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice place to work
Medical Transcriptionist (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VASeptember 15, 2015
Productive and nice place to work. Nice people that I work with on a daily basis. I enjoy working for a children's hospital.
Pros
Good benefits, pay, etc.
Cons
Working away from home.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most enjoyable part of job is to help the parents/patients
Patient Registration Technician (Former Employee) –  Suffolk, VASeptember 11, 2015
I would recommend this job but probably at the hospital(not an off site facility) where there is room to advance and move around.
Pros
Monday- Friday
Cons
Too long to accrue vacation time, no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We transcribe for a Children's Hospital. Very interesting work. Very sad as well.
Medical Transcriptionist (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VirginiaAugust 31, 2015
Typical day of work is transcribing/editing/speech recognition of various pediatric specialties. The hardest part of the job is typing medical records for kids that are usually very sick.
Pros
Benefits, pay, working for children who are very special.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal day
Rehabilitation Aide (Current Employee) –  Therapy ServicesAugust 6, 2015
A normal day involved cleaning and sterilizing toys and bikes for the patients. I also maintained supplies for equipment and ordered food when needed based on therapists request. I was also able to work alongside of therapists to assist in therapy sessions when need.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working enviorment
nutrition services (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJuly 30, 2015
great place to work for co workers are nice great way to meet new patients and hear different kinds of stories and a way to change peoples lives
Pros
great place
Cons
parking
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization
Physician Practice Manager (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJuly 21, 2015
Great organization to work for; from senior leadership to employees. Like most organizations HR can be very slow with handling administrative actions when it pertains to administrative actions.
Pros
awesome senior leadership
Cons
compensation is not the best
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
Sodexo Resource Dietitian (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJuly 4, 2015
Friendliest hospital staff I have ever encountered. All the staff there seemed to genuinely love children and what they do to help those kids.
Pros
Staff
Cons
some patient cases can be depressing
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Transcriptionist (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJune 17, 2015
CHKD was a great place to work. Awesome managers who really helped their employees succeed. I loved it there. Pay scale was good and they were a professional hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 58 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.8

Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters Reviews by Location