Find companies:
Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outpatient
Speech Language Pathologist (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAJuly 15, 2014
I worked in the outpatient setting of the Children's Hospital. It was a satisfying experience that consisted of treating children with a variety of disorders. I enjoyed my children that were complex and required assistance from multiple disciplines because it gave me the opportunity to learn a variety of techniques specifically for Autistic children – more... to help them cope with their environments and learn more effectively. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient Registration
Patient Account Tech (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJune 25, 2014
Registering patients for multi department's at the same time, a long with collecting co-pays or deductibles and getting them to their appointments in a timely manor. In down time I was responsible for verification of authorizations and referrals for Ultrasounds and Sleeps Studies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Physician Billing Representative II (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAMay 30, 2014
Pros: great benefits, flexible schedule
Cons: dont pay enough
Patient Registration and Insurance verification I really enjoy working for this company. If it wasn’t for the low pay scale this would be a great place to stay and retire. The benefits are great and they treat their employees well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced and very demanding.
Registerd Nurse -NICU Stepdown and Med/Surg units (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAMay 22, 2014
Pros: diversity of diseases
Cons: very fast-paced.
A typical day involved getting reports, caring for patients, and charting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning place
Advanced Clinician - Resource Pool (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAMay 9, 2014
Pros: hospital week
Cons: shortbreaks
A typically day for me was to come into the building and finding out where I would be working at that day being that I was a part of the Resource Pool and could work any where in the hospital. After learning where I would be station at my job performances consist of what that unit needed that day and at that time because I could be on one unit for four – more... hours and then sent to another unit before the shift is ended
I learned many jobs at CHKD ranging from working in the Emergency Room which is on the first floor to working all the way to the eight floor which is the Hemo/Onc Floor
I really enjoyed working with my co-worker we have fun times
The hardest part of my job was sitting with patient that may have behavior issues and I couldn't help them give them any motherly love
The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing a child that the doctors said that they couldn't do anything else for the child and seeing that child walk out the hospital with a new leaf of life – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place
clerk (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAMay 7, 2014
Cons: tolls, no bonuses or raises
it's okay place to work, large facility with more of a flexible schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my coworkers, hate the pay
Scheduling Coordinator (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAMarch 16, 2014
Pros: coworkers, employee discount, casual environment, hours
Cons: pay
I schedule patients and take messages for doctors in our practice. I've been there almost 4 years and the only "raise" I have received is cost of living. There is no such thing as a merit-based raise, and no reward for loyalty. I love the people I work with, but I don't make enough money to deal with nasty parents every day. Management is passive-aggressive. – more... If one person does something wrong, instead of addressing it directly, we get a vague mass email about how to do it right. My position is a revolving door of incompetent employees. If you want quality, you gotta pay for it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud to Work Here
Patient Care Services (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAMarch 5, 2014
Given the opportunities to grow within my position, but extremely difficult to move forward.
My co-workers have a great love for patients and doing what is right to care for them and their families. The hardest part to deal with in my position is the review of deceased patient records. I enjoyed the teamwork and bond the staff establish....and feel – more... the management teams are there to support the staff when needed.
Very disappointed in the difficulties trying to advance within the organization, and lack of credit given to those whom truly deserve it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring work environment
Surgical Scheduling Coordinator (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAFebruary 21, 2014
The management is very aware of the needs of the staff and did a great job accommodating them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Information Technology (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: what the hopsital does for the kids
Cons: no raises, long hours, no training, poor management.
What the hospital does for the children and what they give back to the community is excellent!! The management in Information technology should follow the mission of CHKD.

Information Technology management have been given their position due to number of years at CHKD or they are friends with someone and if you are not part of the "click" then you will – more... never fit in. The management has the board of directors so fooled and the truth is never told. The employees are lied to, no direction is being provided to the teams. If you ask you are told to figure it out and let them know. If you ask for training to help with something you are now supporting the management gives you a manual and are told to "get up to speed"

The management are always going to "conferences" in warm sunny places but no training to staff will be provided. The disorganization of management is felt by their staff on a daily basis. People that care about their job don't care anymore due to the management attitude.

CHKD is #1 in my book. The care for the kids, community....

If you are looking fro a career in Information Technology, this is not the place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace that is highly respected by the community it serves.
Pharmacy IS Specialist (Current Employee), Norfolk, VANovember 17, 2013
Pros: information exchange and learning
Cons: long hours - self imposed.
I love my job with CHKD. The work atmosphere is professional yet friendly. It is a teaching hospital where you are always learning and teaching. The exchange between professionals extends to everyone. Since accepting the IS position I have learned a great deal about how projects are planned. I get great satisfaction from being part of a project team. – more... Working from the vision, to the design, through the build, to implementation is draining but, it gives me a sense of pride to see the final product I helped work on functioning as expected and accepted by the end user. The teamwork that goes on during a project is amazing and the exchange of information between departments at different levels is exceptional. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique Environment
Manager, Respiratory Care Department (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAOctober 24, 2013
Challenging, unique environment
Excellent experience to be part of such a unique and integral facility
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Practice Manager (Current Employee), Norfolk, VirginiaOctober 23, 2013
Pros: flexible
I enjoy working with the patients and helping people.
The physicians really care about what they are doing
I enjoy working with a wide range of people and personalities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You will learn a lot
Department Secretary (Former Employee), Norfolk,vaOctober 23, 2013
Pros: learning experience
Cons: short breaks
working at this position will challenge you and you will learn a great deal of information
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place for patient care
medical records (Former Employee), norfolkOctober 17, 2013
management, management, management. No compensation, work day long and hard. no teamwork. Don't recommend working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
LPN (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAOctober 17, 2013
I love working here but i need to expand my experience and make a little more money to support my family
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compassionate and Intellegent Coworkers
Sr. Executive Secretary & Med/Surg Unit Secretary (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAAugust 6, 2013
Pros: best part of the job is that we are here for the children
Cons: no lunch break area in administration
Working at CHKD is very rewarding. They are practicing relationship based care and working toward MAGNET certification.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Children's Hospital fo the King's Daughters really care for all kids, make their easy while being treated.
Junior Staff Accountant (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 3, 2013
Pros: great insurance, dental plans, many activities for co-workers to participate w/ departments.
Cons: layoffs.
My day at work consist of filing remittances paperwork and boxing up past months. Did allocation of budges on paperwork and made sure that families were being charged correctly for bills with their insurance stuff. I love being able to be creative and help make the company succeed better. I really enjoyed working for CHKD and my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for starting a career but lacking in advancement
Information Services Applications Specialist (Current Employee), Norfolk, VAApril 7, 2013
Pros: job security, flexible work hours, you get to make a positive impact on the pediatric community
Cons: pay and benefits, lack of advancement, lack of management.
They tend to grab people with little to no experience. So this can be great for someone getting out of college or starting a new career path. There is also a general sense of community where everyone knows it's about helping the children.

The pay and benefits are not great. No raises, promotions, or room for advancement. A lot of the employees including – more... management have been there for 10+ years and have strong bias against newcomers. New employees within the same job level report to a core group of peers and not to management. This can be useful for management to pursue other projects but awful for new employees who become underappreciated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work/life balance not there
Pharmacist (Former Employee), newport news, vaMarch 14, 2013
company is doing its best in changing market place to reinvent themselves into more than a pharmacy and make the life of the pharmacist more about patient care and less about script count. With loss of Express Scripts (tricare) some areas volume hit extremely hard

About Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters

You don't have to be royalty to be a patient at Children's Hospital of The King's Daughters (CHKD). CHKD is Virginia's only free-standing, – Read more