Find companies:
Children's Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
71 reviews

Children's Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Own office
Health Care Worker (Promotora) (Current Employee), Dallas, TXDecember 4, 2013
Pros: enjoy what i do.
Cons: long hours
Review and approve the day before's count. Check list of patients in Fast Track and main Emergency room ,to see wht patient's to be assisted first. Make sure there are enough packets of hand outs for the day. Split Pods with coworker. Start going into examining rooms while patients are waiting to be discharged.Educate parents as to how to navigate health – more... plans for assistance. Help parents with all in information needed so as to make a sound judgement on utilizing Emergency room. During down times coordinate and create procedures to implement on how to make our job easier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it!
Receptionist/Concierge - Administrative Offices (Former Employee), Dallas, TXNovember 13, 2013
Pros: work on night shift
Cons: kids!
everyones main goal was to provide good positives vibes. Its a beautiful building everyone in most part seem very happy to work and attend patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Medical Assistant/NCT (Former Employee), Dallas TXOctober 30, 2013
Pros: able to learn
Cons: couldnt advance
I spent five years at CMC as a medical assistant. While there I was taught how to perform casting and splinting. So well that there were times I was pulled off the MA position to help them. Great, caring people to work for. I left only due to becoming married and having to relocate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace work enviroment
IT Customer Service (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 28, 2013
Pros: free parking, pto
Cons: difficult to advance in the company
The management could do more for the employees morale but all in all a great place to be. Many of the employees help each other out, and there is very little animosity in the workplace. It's a very positive space and very laid back. We always learn from each other and give each other constructive criticism when needed.

Working at a call center can – more... get very stressful but it's a good learning experience. Obviously the hardest part of the job is the death of children and to counter balance is the fact that children live.

Childrens is a place that allows you to grow and experience new challenges daily. You get to speak to such great people over the phone regardless of their situation providing them with the highest quality of customer service. You know that you're making life better for children's in a very positive way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Atmosphere
Sr. Scheduler/Patient Access Rep/Medical Asst (Current Employee), Dallas, TexasOctober 22, 2013
Pros: family oriented
Cons: under staffed
A typical day at work for me at CMC is a daily challenge with scheduling appointments for four providers, concerned parents, screaming children, triaging patients but it's never a dull moment and at the end of the day knowing that we have helped another family is priceless. I have learned in the past 8 years is to be grateful and to have patience (a – more... lot). My coworkers I don't see them as coworkers but as family because I spend more time with them than I do my own family. The hardest part of my job is frequent management changes and when the parents are upset and being disrespectful but I've learned over the years to put myself in their shoes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best places I have ever worked for.
Paramedic (Current Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 17, 2013
Children's Medical Center is an amazing place to work. Coming from an adult oriented healthcare environment to pediatric has been not only eye opening, but refreshing. The employees are happy, and are treated well by management. At Children's, the patients come first, and the staff is the best in the business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company had everyone treated equally
Accountant (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 14, 2013
Pros: had an excellent work facility
Cons: too much commute
i liked working here because everyone was treated equally and learned lot about industry with lot of co worker with great knowledge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee Satisfaction and Communication
Manager Client Infrastructure (Current Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 9, 2013
Pros: good people
Cons: lack of work life balance
Managing teams is a challange, which with constant communication with employees can bring up Employee Satisfaction and increase communication with daily work tasks, priorities, and making sure employees are taking the amount of time to disconnect from work. Highly motivated employees sometimes do not know how to take the time to to embrass work life – more... balance. The experence of working with wonderful talanted people makes you realize how important it is to perform rounding Health Checks that overall improves performance of the employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical environment with children as the number one priority
Patient Care Clerk (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 5, 2013
This company focus' on the health and well-being of children. There are designated play rooms, caring and helpful staff members, and events to ensure that the children do not miss holidays, etc. Even celebrities come and visit the children at the hospital, which is pretty amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hospital
Medical Technologist (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 27, 2013
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: evaluations, raises
Great hospital to work at. The hospital is very clean and up to date. The employees really care about each other and the children we service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team orintented
HEALTH UNIT COORDINATOR (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 20, 2013
They actually live up to the motto.
Making life beter for Childrens.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pediatric office with low pay and no chance of advancement
LPN (Former Employee), Middletown, OhioJuly 18, 2013
Pros: holidays and w/e off
Cons: very low pay
I worked with 5 pediatricians at a non-stop pace. I did nursing duties as well as clerical work. I loved working with the children and being a part of their well-being. I disliked working so hard for so little money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Patient Acct Rep/ Customer Service (Current Employee), Dayton, OHJuly 12, 2013
I am a Patient Account Rep at Dayton Children's Hospital in Dayton, OH. I work on the Anthem team. I correct all bills that have rejected electronically to primary Anthem. Once the bill has processed, I bill to secondary (if applicable). If not, the patient is billed. I follow up with Anthem when there are denials.-- It has been a very good work experience. – more... I get along well with co-workers. The hardest part of the job is when I cannot find out what exactly the Insurance company is requiring. I try very hard to get accounts resolved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive enjoyable work place
X-Ray Technician (Former Employee), Dayton, OHJuly 11, 2013
I worked 2nd shift so when I would come in all of the scheduled fluoro appointments and surgeries would be rapping up or done. I would get the x-ray transcripts from the office as they would come in and do them in the order I received them. This would include general x-rays, portables, ER x-rays. Since I was second shift, most everyone (techs & radiologists) – more... would be leaving when I would come in. If there was an Emergency-surgery or flouro we would call the on call Doctor and I would assist. The ER orthopedic doctor was there if there were any major breaks. What I learned:- how to deal with people when they aren't feeling well
- how to communicate with parents and children
- how to work as a team with nurses & doctors
- how to work under pressure to get the best image I
could for the doctor to see
The hardest part of my job was when I was in the department by myself (2nd shift), If I had a question there was no one to bounce it off of. It was kind of sink or swim. Which basically made you learn quick. The most enjoyable part of my job was taking a good x-ray and trying to make the patient feel comfortable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful group of physicians, nurses and supporting staff
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Ormond Beach, FLJuly 9, 2013
A typical day at work can have me working in one of our three locations. The number of phone triage calls can range from over than 100 calls per day to less than twenty. The amount varies among location. The patient loa I help manage daily is anywhere from 25-80 patients per day. The number of patients seen also varies per office location. We are a – more... hard working staff that are almost always willing and able to help each other out. The most enjoyable parts of my job are my co-workers and providing nursing care and health education to patients and their parents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good Experience
Abdominal Transplant Intake Coordinator (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJune 28, 2013
CMC is a great place to get a start a carrer. You will learn skills that will help you grow as a professional and person alike.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Clinical Technician, Pavilion Surgery Center (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 16, 2013
Pros: everything
I loved my job at the hospital!!! Worked with a great Team... I loved being able to put a smile on the little faces that came in on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scheduling for appointments for 17 clinics, very challenging!
Senior Patient Access Representative (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 9, 2013
Pros: great benefits, mon thru friday was awesome.
Cons: having to work nights after our department got a new supervisor.
I enjoyed working at Childrens Medical I learned alot and enjoyed the staff. I was there for over 6 years. Worked in the clinic's checking in patients, taking co-pays and verifying insurance and scheduling appointments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big system with built in redundancy
Practice Administrator (Former Employee), Dallas, TXApril 18, 2013
Pros: co-workers who care about children and promoting health
Cons: lumbering systems that make the group inefficient
Childrdens has a great mission but has become a complicated system where every management step has multiple subsequent hoops to jump through. This approach can paralyze an organization and leads to very inefficient processes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Enviroment
Senior Patient Access Rep (Former Employee), Plano, TXMarch 30, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: bad management
Working enviroment not well
no trust among co-worker
management not very understanding