Find companies:
Children's Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
58 reviews

Children's Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive enjoyable work place
X-Ray Technician (Former Employee), Dayton, OHJuly 11, 2013
I worked 2nd shift so when I would come in all of the scheduled fluoro appointments and surgeries would be rapping up or done. I would get the x-ray transcripts from the office as they would come in and do them in the order I received them. This would include general x-rays, portables, ER x-rays. Since I was second shift, most everyone (techs & radiologists) – more... would be leaving when I would come in. If there was an Emergency-surgery or flouro we would call the on call Doctor and I would assist. The ER orthopedic doctor was there if there were any major breaks. What I learned:- how to deal with people when they aren't feeling well
- how to communicate with parents and children
- how to work as a team with nurses & doctors
- how to work under pressure to get the best image I
could for the doctor to see
The hardest part of my job was when I was in the department by myself (2nd shift), If I had a question there was no one to bounce it off of. It was kind of sink or swim. Which basically made you learn quick. The most enjoyable part of my job was taking a good x-ray and trying to make the patient feel comfortable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful group of physicians, nurses and supporting staff
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Ormond Beach, FLJuly 9, 2013
A typical day at work can have me working in one of our three locations. The number of phone triage calls can range from over than 100 calls per day to less than twenty. The amount varies among location. The patient loa I help manage daily is anywhere from 25-80 patients per day. The number of patients seen also varies per office location. We are a – more... hard working staff that are almost always willing and able to help each other out. The most enjoyable parts of my job are my co-workers and providing nursing care and health education to patients and their parents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good Experience
Abdominal Transplant Intake Coordinator (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJune 28, 2013
CMC is a great place to get a start a carrer. You will learn skills that will help you grow as a professional and person alike.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Clinical Technician, Pavilion Surgery Center (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 16, 2013
Pros: everything
I loved my job at the hospital!!! Worked with a great Team... I loved being able to put a smile on the little faces that came in on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scheduling for appointments for 17 clinics, very challenging!
Senior Patient Access Representative (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 9, 2013
Pros: great benefits, mon thru friday was awesome.
Cons: having to work nights after our department got a new supervisor.
I enjoyed working at Childrens Medical I learned alot and enjoyed the staff. I was there for over 6 years. Worked in the clinic's checking in patients, taking co-pays and verifying insurance and scheduling appointments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big system with built in redundancy
Practice Administrator (Former Employee), Dallas, TXApril 18, 2013
Pros: co-workers who care about children and promoting health
Cons: lumbering systems that make the group inefficient
Childrdens has a great mission but has become a complicated system where every management step has multiple subsequent hoops to jump through. This approach can paralyze an organization and leads to very inefficient processes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Enviroment
Senior Patient Access Rep (Former Employee), Plano, TXMarch 30, 2013
Pros: good pay
Cons: bad management
Working enviroment not well
no trust among co-worker
management not very understanding
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work but there are not enough opportunities to grow.
Prospect Research Analyst (Current Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 28, 2013
Pros: pretty good work life balance
Cons: current office management, no advancement opportunities
Children's Medical Center is a good place to work overall; however, the department I am employed with does not offer the opportunity for one to grow and expand their knowledge. There ultimately is not much room for growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Manager - Advance Level Support Group (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 27, 2013
Pros: always have a job
Cons: you have to be with the in crowd to get ahead
You will always have a job.

As with most large companies, a lot of controls are in place.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy working with the little kids
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Manila PhilippinesMarch 25, 2013
The hardest part is ..I can't hardly have time to have a break..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough, but worth it.
Desktop Projects Lead (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 18, 2013
Pros: helping children, constant actvity
Cons: travel, additudes
Everyday you are working to help save lives of children. It doesn't get much more rewarding than that. Everyday was a new experience. There was always IMAC style moves and help desk issues, but I alos had the chance to take on projects like a Hardware refresh and Software Updates. Everything had a deadline that was unflexible, and you warked hard everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enriching and Challenging experience
Resident Chaplain (Current Employee), Dallas, TXMarch 7, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits and meal card for on-call shifts!
Cons: i have a 40 min commute one way. sometimes the on-call schedule can be hard due to short staff.
Working as a chaplain in a Children's Hospital has its own challenges every day. But deep inside I leave each day with a satisfaction of knowing that my presence was meaningful to someone. I have an amazing group of peers and supervisors. Even though there is lot of fun and excitement in working as a team, it is always hard to minister to a family who – more... lost their child(ren) to some tragic event. However, I gain hope and courage from the fact that more children leave through the front door of the hospital than the back door. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed for application of learned skills and knowledge. Team-like atmosphere amongst co-workers and staff. Strong sense of value to CMC's mission.
Planning Manager (Current Employee), Dallas, TXFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: employee benefits
Cons: communication from top-tier leadership
As someone with many years of clinical experience with newly acquired knowledge of business and healthcare administration, CMC provided a great avenue to allow me to combine both arenas. I was quickly able to identify operational strengths and opportunities for improvement.

My most enjoyable moments of the day were working with staff and problem-solving – more... the day's events. A large staff was instrumental to the operations of the clinic and needed daily attention and oversight to ensure effectiveness. This allowed for hands-on management of staff and resources in addition to patient and physician rounding. However, with a large staff, it was often difficult to juggle people with necessary projects. If not careful, the very things that brought me to work everyday also became the most difficult part of my job. In order to find balance between people and project management, it was important to clearly define boundaries. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to advance and learn CT.
Urodynamic Technologist (Current Employee), Dallas, TexasJanuary 29, 2013
Wonderful opportunity to start up a radiology department. Set protocols. Small staff to start with and when the doors opened we were surprised at needing to hire more staff. Ever growing area. Opened more units and advanced to stroke certified emergency room. Great physicians and communication.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review
Senior Campaign Writer (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJanuary 10, 2013
I work for a wonderful and stable company who has given me the opportunity to grow and develop my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking for full time permanent position
Administrative Assistant-Temp Position (Current Employee), Plano, TXDecember 11, 2012
•Assist with Credentialing
•Update Physicians Files
•Answer phone lines
•Schedule Meetings
•Faxing
•Event Planning
•Order Supplies/Catering
•Correspondence
•Update on call website (X-tend)
•Assist with Projects As Needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sr. Molecular Technologist, Thumbs UP!
Senior Molecular Technologist (Former Employee), Dallas TexasNovember 9, 2012
Pros: great peope, great organization.
Excellent organization, excellent people! Great management and all around great experience. The hardest part of leaving was leaving for a company that paid higher, however wish I would've stayed and would absolutely love to go back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great mission guided organization
Employee Communications Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 25, 2012
Pros: mission guided organization
Cons: lack of career development
Employees throughout the company, clinical and non-clinical, were focused on making life better for children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Inpatient Psychiatry /SPAR (Current Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 13, 2012
Pros: managers do not micromanage
Fast paced and warm environment
I have learned verifications, insurance
Love working with children and the families
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked working there
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 1, 2012
Pros: great people and atmosphere
Children's is a great place to work.

Nice people.

Great atmosphere

Hi-Tech equipment

People are very understanding