Find companies:
Children of America
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
58 reviews

Children of America Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst environment I have ever worked in
Pre school teacher (Former Employee), NjOctober 22, 2014
Cons: all
Horrible management on all levels. This company only cares about making the most money possible even at the teachers and children's expense. As a preschool teacher I was constantly over the legal ratio and was basically told to deal with it. The state was called in to evaluate after parents had complained and I was asked by the director to cover things – more... up and hide the ages of the children in my class so they would not notice I was over the legal ratio. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant Changes
Administrator (Former Employee), Columbus, OHOctober 3, 2014
Pros: they really care about the educational services they offer.
Cons: behind-the-scenes management is a disaster.
Children of America has an amazing educational program for the children and it is relatively easy for the teachers to implement. Unfortunately for the management team, the micromanagement from the home office causes constant miscommunication and backlash from the parents and staff. This creates a hostile environment and the management team is in a constant – more... 'cleaning-up' effort instead of being able to focus on the education of the teachers and children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeping children active and learning skills
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee), South Elgin, ILSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: singing and dancing classes
Cons: later hours for late pick ups
Provided learning projects for the children. I learned that children need interesting projects to keep them focused in learning. Management provided necessary tools, supplies, and backup for the teachers. Co-workers helped each other with ideas for child's learning projects. The hardest part of the job was dealing with some parents coming in late to – more... pick up their child causing the teacher to stay later cleaning up before able to go home. Most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the children's smiles every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Lead Preschool Teacher (Former Employee), Southampton, PASeptember 11, 2014
They do not care about their employees. There is a large turnover rate for teachers. They expect so much yet pay so little. Management gossips and treats their teachers badly and are extremely unprofessional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working environment.
Teacher (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAAugust 20, 2014
Working for Assisted living facilities, are very rewarding. And fullfilling, it is a great feeling knowing that you made someone's day just by doing the simple things by talking with them or helping with everyday things, that most of us take for granted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
aweomse place
Teacher (Former Employee), Appleton, WIJuly 21, 2014
The people are great and so welcoming. I learned how to be a good teacher but also a good learner. Management was awesome and so accepting. I had to quit due to my husband accepting a job out of state. They were really understanding and accepting of that. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people and the children. It was such a good environment – more... to work in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not worth the stress
Lead Teacher Infant Class (Current Employee), PAJuly 1, 2014
Pros: love the children
Cons: unorganized
love the children

while the parents pay good money-management send staff home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe environment for childcare
Preschool Teacher (Former Employee), Norwood, MAJune 24, 2014
Working at Children of America is pleasant and fun. If you like spending time with children; playing, crafting, dancing, learning, or reading, Children of America is the place for you to grow professionally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
n/a' (Current Employee), Waldorf, MDJune 21, 2014
If you love teaching and can deal with an unstable work environment and staff, this place will work for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy
Assistant Teacher, Discuss (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAJune 10, 2014
A wonderful place to work even though your teaching and watching over children you end up learning a thing or two from the children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
go outside and not be stuck inside all day
Lead Teacher (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAJune 7, 2014
Pros: get to see infants grow and make a bond with them
Cons: the pay when hoilday come around numbers are low and so teachers get sent home early
Come in at 5:30 and greet parents and their infants. Go over infants chart and see how their night was and when their next feeding is. Keep a head count of on all the infants coming in so I can get a teacher aide to assist if needed if I go over ratio. Make sure I'm keeping a eye on the teacher aide by making sure they are not giving the infants anything – more... they are not suppose to have and following up with the charts. I also worked on their motor skills and followed a daily curriculum for that age, so when it is time to do a assessment test I can have that all ready for the parent to go over with so they know how their child is progressing – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nightmare
Parent (Former Employee), Lee Hills, Fredericksburgs22407May 22, 2014
The new management team (Director and her assistant) are horrible with the teachers, parents, and children. They talk down to teachers and parents! I would not recommend this day care facility (especially Lee Hills)! They only care about money and not the children beside they are very costly. The teacher are pressure to work lots of hours and not get – more... paid overtime. They need to be reported to the Department of Labor! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Care About children
childcare (Current Employee), PAApril 24, 2014
Pros: children are beautiful and well behaved
Cons: everything else
Director POOR
Only cares about herself. Yells at staff
No caring about childrens well being.
Management -- Is none only place I have ever worked where the click things is the only lesson in town
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for Children
Teachers Assistant (Former Employee), Stafford, VAApril 1, 2014
Children of America is a childcare center that truly cares for the children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work
PreSchool Teacher (Former Employee), Menomonee Falls, WIMarch 28, 2014
Great company. Typical child care setting. Management is really flexible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
teacher (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAMarch 25, 2014
This company believe it or not is heartless and they are money hungry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't care about the students
head teacher (Current Employee), Wilmington, DEMarch 19, 2014
Pros: sweet children
Cons: everything else
I have been with this company as a head teacher for over two years now and I am continuously trying to find another job. The only reason I havr stayed is because they work with my school hours as I attend university.

The director is awful! Licensing has been called multiple times by parents and employees because of overcrowding and teachers being incredibly – more... over ratio. Although the center is only equipped for a certain number of children, the director continues to enroll new students but does not have enough teachers. Ni overtime is given. Also, the center does not have the proper materials for special education students.... However the director has enrolled special needs students as well as students with known behavioral issues. Teachers feel I'll equipped to deal with these students but the director does not offer any help whatsoever and if anything she makes the situation worse.

Benefits are terrible as well and in almost three years of employment I have not gotten a raise.

It's obvious that the good reviews on here were written by corporate. And speaking of corporate, the child care expert running the company is actually a former MMM fighter who does not have child care credentials and who, rather than focus on this company, has also started a film and production company. If you Google his name you will also find sexual harassment charges against him from current children of america employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver cook cleaner order placeser
Bus Driver / Cook / Cleaner (Former Employee), Sicklerville, NJMarch 6, 2014
placing orders for school driving and cleaning building and cooking
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good invierment
Teacher and Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), fredericksburg va 22407February 26, 2014
not attentive to children. would rather have social groups and socialize with each other then to do there jobs as teachers and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SLP assistant
Infant/Toddler Assistant Teacher (Former Employee), NJFebruary 4, 2014
Love working with children and also special needs services.

1 2 3