Find companies:
ChildServe
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

ChildServe Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOTS of person to person interaction
Respite Assistant (Former Employee), Ames, IAJune 12, 2014
diverse ability levels create diverse work experiences; hours vary greatly (many factors); LOTS of family interaction; not much interaction with other employees; potential for lifting over 50 lbs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work and would still be there if they had not downsized the department.
Scheduler (Former Employee), Johnston, IAMarch 13, 2014
Pros: co-workers/clients and their families, wonderful working conditions.
Cons: upper management did not always hear our complaints or act on them.
Check schedules and see what needed to be filled, see if all positions were filled for the day, if not, find someone who was qualified to fill the position. Make certain everything was entered into the computer correctly so that payroll and billing could be done from the entries. I learned a lot about teamwork within our department, it was excellent. – more... The management within the department was wonderful, above the department, I felt they did not always listen to our problems and act on them. Co-workers were the best and I would love to work with all of them again. The hardest part of the job was not being able to fill some of the positions, leaving the family to do cares for their loved one. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting and getting to know the co-workers, clients and their families. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job!
Resident Aide (Former Employee), Johnston, IADecember 22, 2013
It was a awesome environment for a person who likes working with children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work environment
Certified Nurse Assistant (Former Employee), Des Moines, IASeptember 6, 2013
Pros: rewarding feeling
Cons: can be challenging at times
Great co-workers, clients and management. working for this company was fun and enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfying position caring for developmentally disabled children
Pediatric Homecare RN (Former Employee), Johnston Iowa, HomecareSeptember 3, 2013
Typical workday was busy and involved nursing skills in many capacities including assessment of physical needs of child as well as supportive needs of family. Nurse co-workers were wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Respite Service Assistant (Former Employee), Johnston, IowaSeptember 1, 2013
Pros: pay
I enjoyed working for this company- very kind people.
I loved working here. It was very easy and fun, my coworkers were wonderful. The most enjoyable part of the job is being with the children
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great beginnings!
Teacher's Assistant (Current Employee), Ames, IAJune 2, 2013
Pros: love the kids!
Cons: sometime management can be too demanding and doesn't care enough.
For me, I only work a couple hours a day before closing so for the most part it's a quite day. I begin my day with changing all the children's diapers, picking up with classroom then interacting with the children left. My short time at Childserve now is coming to an end, I didn't have much experience when I began here but after this short time I have – more... gained a lot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work, loved my position, co workers and residents.
CNA/Resident Assistant (Former Employee), Johnston, IANovember 6, 2012
Pros: on site cafe, value their employees, great benifits and room for advancement
Cons: lots of lifting/ physical labor
Provided personal cares to include bathing, grooming, positioning and daily cares of disabled children on a Continuing Care unit as a CNA/Resident assistant.
I learned how precious life is and how to truly work as a team.
Providing medical care is a team effort in any facility. From physical therapist, RN's and office staff, we all came together and – more... gave the true meaning of a team.
The hardest part of my job was meeting children with conditions that affect the quality of their life. Some caused by abuse, accidents birth defects and illnesses.
The best part of my job was giving that child a smile, comfort, love and exceptional care. – less

About ChildServe

ChildServe is a not-for-profit organization that partners with families to help children with special health care needs live a – Read more