Christensen Farms Employee Reviews

Showing all 27 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would recommend to anyone!
Technician (Former Employee) –  Iowa Falls, IAJuly 27, 2017
I absolutely loved going to work. My coworkers were willing to help without complaints. Management was egar to teach me new things about the company and pig care in general. I learned so much through this company and wish they'd had barns in western Iowa, so I could work for them again.
Pros
Barns in good conditions, great management
Cons
Pig health not the best
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managagment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sleepy Eye, MNJuly 19, 2017
The employees are great, the management is not. They are short tempered, hostile at times and do not handle situations appropriately. They let you know they are the boss.
Pros
pay, hours
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, good people, learned alot
Piglet care (Former Employee) –  Leon, IAJune 20, 2017
I learned a lot from the barns I was at it was very knowledgeable and fun and great hours, it was close to home I really loved it there! My manager was great there was a lot of team work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Animal Caretaker (Former Employee) –  Randolph, NEJune 5, 2017
I worked at M25 and enjoyed working here. Great benefits and pay. Everyone got along and the atmosphere was outstanding. Would love to go back, actually.
Pros
Great benifits
Cons
I loved every aspect of it, so for me there weren't any cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fursterating
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Fairmont, MNMay 11, 2017
barn manager made it very hard to find the barn sites per day by giving very unclear directions. work there wasn't bad but the management was horrible..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  New Ulm, MNApril 26, 2017
I really enjoyed working at Christensen Family Farms. CEO, managers and supervisors where great with their employees. They had great benefits and paid their employees well. It was like one big family. Very laid back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Project Manager & Daily Operations Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Sleepy Eye, MNApril 25, 2017
Much has changed from my time working with the founder and co-founders of Christensen Family Farms but the empire that remains today is a force to be reckoned with and I hope the best for them in their future endeavors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and employees were enjoyable to work with
Payroll and Benefits Manager (Former Employee) –  Sleepy Eye, MNApril 20, 2017
For the 6 years I worked at Christensen Farms, I was able to enhance my skills. I loved working with the other Christensen Farms' employees and enjoyed helping employees with their benefit questions and enrollments. I was able to contribute in many ways by improving processes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive woorkplace
Farm labor (Current Employee) –  Olivia, MNMarch 26, 2017
Long hours, job stability, great benefits, it's great working with the animals, everyone helps out wherever they are needed, animals can very pushy at times
Pros
1 he lunch
Cons
Bad attitudes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Sleepy Eye Feed Mill was a great environement to work in.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Sleepy Eye, MNOctober 27, 2016
It was very hard to leave my job at Christensen Farms. I really enjoyed my time there. I was able to move up from a feed truck delivery guy into the assistant manager position . There is any opportunities to advance if you want to. My reason for leaving was due to my wife and I desiring to relocate to Florida.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay , management is a complete joke
Herdsperson (Former Employee) –  Ivanhoe, MNSeptember 26, 2016
The farm manager i worked for was very good about finding excuses to leave early and go 2 the bar. He also never came out to supervise/hep in the barn
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Too much emphasis on family members working together
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at with alot of help full co-workers and managers
J 2 at c 29 christensen farms (Current Employee) –  W 876 road between oneill and atkinson neAugust 2, 2016
Ive enjoyed it as much as any other job good pay good enough hours. As much as growing with the company really depends on the effort you put into your work..keeping Safe work ethics on the daily job basics is a must
Pros
Good working enviorment
Cons
They take for ever to hire new employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have job security
Animal Caretaker (Current Employee) –  Kansas, ILJune 28, 2016
You have good job security with a bonus program. The day goes by quickly you are not standing around in one spot all day. I feel that there could be improvements that would make people want to stay. I feel that upper management is clueless to what we need for the farms. You can't say that something works when you are not dealing with the headache everyday.
Pros
Job Security, Bonus Program, and the day goes by quickly
Cons
Upper management clueless detached from farms.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is hard to work for under the conditions
Production Records Representative (Current Employee) –  Sleepy Eye, MNJune 26, 2016
This company is hard to work for under the conditions they like to hire very young people that do not have the experience or the common sense to show up for work.
Pros
its a job
Cons
no pay increases horrible work enivornment
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhealthy Environment to work in.
Herdsman (Current Employee) –  Kansas, ILMay 17, 2016
Very poor treatment of employees, low wages, no training, un safe work place. Work does not equal pay. Just not a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entrepreneurship
MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Ripon, CAMarch 19, 2016
Self employed. Great experience to gain the experience of owning my own company, although the growth is not available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Herdsman (Current Employee) –  Bloomfield, IAOctober 5, 2015
Productive work place with supportive management and a open door type policy. The best part of my job is working with great people that are all willing to share their knowledge about the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to work where you feel valued and appreciated.
IT Technical Support (Current Employee) –  Sleepy Eye MNJune 10, 2015
I enjoy working at CF. The people are hard working and you are fairly compensated for your work. I feel appreciated here, where as at my last job outside of CF I felt uneasy.
Pros
Pay, Time Off, Flexible
Cons
Still improving day to day (which is actually a pro)
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive easy going company to work for.
Independent Contractor (Current Employee) –  Sleepy Eye, MNFebruary 10, 2015
A typical day at CF starts by making sure animal welfare and needs are met. Then to make sure all your inventory is up to date and is called in at a timely manner.

Management is very easy going and are great to work with, they are willing to teach you any thing you have questions on.

The hardest part of the job would be heavy lifting.

The most enjoyable part of the job would be the flexible schedule.
Pros
Fledible schedule
Cons
heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work as long as you don't mind the smell
Animal Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Ackley, IAJanuary 31, 2015
Good place if you like to be in charge of yourself you have a list of things to do but you can choose in what order to do them and if you have good time management the day really goes smoothly and you get into a routine that works best for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Christensen Farms. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6