Chrysalis Employee Reviews

Found 168 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
some days are tough
Direct Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Orem, UTMay 5, 2017
I worked here for 5 months. I worked in two different houses, one of which had four clients, the other had two. The hours they have you work are ridiculous and the pay is terrible for the amount of stress and abuse you can take from clients. The second house I worked in I was constantly hit by one of the clients and was only paid 9$ an hour.... not really worth it... Good experience and management.. but wouldn't recommend to anyone.
Pros
good management
Cons
long hours, lots of overtime, bad pay, abusive clients
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in
Staff (Current Employee) –  Sparks, NVMay 3, 2017
Chrysalis is a very different job that requires a lot of patience, but it's funny doing activities and getting to know your clients. Engaging in conversations and getting to know your clients is my favorite part.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chrysalis
Direct Support Staff (Current Employee) –  Lindon, UTApril 29, 2017
The quality of this job depends largely on your coworkers and especially the manager of the home. It is a job that requires a lot of mutual support and can lead to burn out. As a Direct Support Staff, I can say that upper management could improve on how they treat and take care of their employees, but they are steadily improving. Chrysalis is fast growing and so everyone is trying to keep up and I think this is part of it. That being said, it provides wonderful experience if you are going into any field with mental health. Educate yourself on how to interact with clients. They are all unique. You can make a real difference here is you are committed, but you have to care deeply to get the most out of this job. Educate yourself on your own rights as an employee. I love working here, largely due to how educational it has been and the great coworkers I have. If you are placed in a house that is supportive and works as a team, you'll have a great experience. This job isn't for everyone and is hard, but if you are up to it, can be very fulfilling.
Pros
Relaxed work environment, full time hours, consistent schedules, learning experiences
Cons
Low pay for job done, not many protections for employees/advocating for employees by management, risk of personal injury, burn out
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back environment, fun "clients", great co-workers and managment
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTApril 22, 2017
It was a fantastic job for a college student, it had flexible hours, and all the co-workers and managers were very friendly and fun to work with. There wasn't really a hardest part of the job since the individuals you work for were relatively high functioning. I wouldn't mind continue working there however I plan to go into nursing so I had to move on towards that path.
Pros
relaxed, fun, well compensated
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
House Manager (Current Employee) –  Provo, UTApril 20, 2017
I am the manager of the group home that I run. I have 4 men that live in the home. The men that i have are living with a number of conditions ranging from schizophrenia, to delusional thinking, autism, actual assault, physical assault, self harm, diabetic, running away, pornography, to downs syndrome. I love the variety that I get to work with and all the things that I have learned to help the men work through. I love how it is teaching me to use it in my own life. It is great to have the great staff that I have to work with in the home that I manage. I could not ask for any better. I would say that the best part of my job is working with all the men that I have and being able to help them grow and overcome the challenges they have and move forward. To become more independent and progress in life. The hardest part of the job is just making sure that all the men are safe and that no harm comes to them, whether it be taking them shopping, to the movies, or making sure that they are eating healthy, not eating to much. I am the one that is in charge of making sure that they are in good health and living the life that they should yet not taking away the human rights that they have to live as a human being.
Pros
Working with the people that I work with
Cons
Not enough time to get all the things I want to do for them
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding!
Direct Support Staff (Current Employee) –  Orem, UTApril 15, 2017
Love the job, must be patient, worth your time, great job for a student! Been here 3 years, can be high-stress job but worth every second. It is what you make it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help
Client Advocate (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 8, 2017
This is a domestic violence shelter, provides housing and resources to those that are in crisis. Job can be boring when nothing to do, but then there are days when you're too busy.
Pros
Helping others
Cons
Weird shift times
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding but very hard
Caretaker/Aide (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTApril 4, 2017
This job was hard to find a balance with life and work. It could be emotionally draining but was also very rewarding. It taught me to have patience, and I enjoyed getting to know our clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Direct Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTApril 2, 2017
Great place to work loved the guys and coworkers. Management is awesome but no PTO or sick days. Basically just chilled and watched tv with the guys most of the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Minimume wage pay for valuable positions.
Direct Support Professional (DSP) (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVMarch 27, 2017
Great staff, thorough training, friendly clients, but minimum pay for their direct support staff, who are subjected to violence and responsible for caretaking special needs and physically incapable clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report

Want to know more about Chrysalis?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fell in love with the residents.
House Manager (Former Employee) –  West Jordan, UTMarch 6, 2017
Enjoyed this job, although it seemed turn around was high and care of the residents varied. I enjoyed my time while employed here, although I do feel care takers deserve more compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work with the clients
Direct Support Staff (Former Employee) –  North Las Vegas, NVFebruary 24, 2017
Overall a great company to work for, had minor issues with the Staff being late to relieve my shift a few times. However any problems I had with the Staff I Stayed professional, bring that we were there to serve the clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and and exciting place to work.
Direct Support Staff (Current Employee) –  Ogden, UTFebruary 13, 2017
fun and and exciting place to work as well as providing a place where one's job can grow into a carrier. the ability to see the individuals grow in there social skills and well as interpersonal skills.
Pros
relaxed atmosphere
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for lazy people looking to make easy money
Direct Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVFebruary 2, 2017
High turnover rate. Fulfilling work with the house people you care for, but it can be extremely boring and repetitive. Scheduling time off is unreal and doesn't exist.
Pros
Easy money and time goes by fast.
Cons
Can be boring. Never get any time off that you need.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours, house management and very rewarding
Direct Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Nephi, UTJanuary 31, 2017
Loved working for chrysalis , very clean work environment, staff and management in the group ho me were amazing to work with. The tasks that were required to work were farely simple and common everyday tasks..
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working with chrysalis
Direct Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVJanuary 30, 2017
Chrysalis taught me a lot things. I loved working in this kind of environment. It was nice knowing I was making a difference in people's life. There was never a day where I didn't leave with a smile on my face. I love working with people and teaching them things but also learning new things myself.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of different personalaitlies
Home Health Care Aide (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas NVJanuary 7, 2017
I like it it is a good work place with different clients in there ways and staff in there ways .. alot to learn in do at once have to pay attention alot
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making a difference working with people with disabilities
Direct Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Price, UTJanuary 4, 2017
Chrysalis was pretty good place to work. My job was to supervise clients with disabilities. Pretty easy job. The only downsize was there was one client that had anger issues and sometimes the staff could get physically harmed.
Pros
Making a difference with people with disabilities
Cons
sometimes had to deal with clients with anger issues
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse
Direct Care Staff (Current Employee) –  N Las Vegas, NVJanuary 3, 2017
work with the individuals in the individuals home in the community. Your main job is to create opportunities for the individuals to increase their quality of life.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
subpar management, they set up the staff to fail rather then succed
Support Professional (Former Employee) –  St. George, UTDecember 30, 2016
Get to work and fill out paper work and clean the room of the day ie. Saturdays was cleaning the bathroom while i waited for the clients to get home from day program then help the client that needed help making dinner make dinner make sure they went to bed on time at 11pm and check on them through ou tthe night making sure they were still in their room and hadn't snuck out of their room and clean the kitchen and livingroom then read a book or something for the remainder of the night while checking on them every hour.

I learned how to be more paitent with people with mental handicaps and i learned how to diffuse a situation without needed to restrain anyone with SOAR techniques

management was very subpar, they told us that we should try to avoid letting clients do one thing then turn around and turn a blind eye when they do it and tell us to just let them do it, its all very confusing and inconsistant

co-workers were far and few between there was some very good co-workers that loved their job and did it well but there was alot of people i worked with that hated it and left within the first week because they thought they could just sit down and do nothing and get payed for it so there was a very high turnover rate

hardest part of the job was when a client was trying to run away and your the only staff on shift and there are two other clients in the house you cannt leave without supervision and you call the crisis team because you need them to go look for the client that left because you cannt and they dont pick up the phone and you have to call the branch manager
  more... at 3am to tell him that the crisis team isnt picking up and a little bit later you get a crisis team member who was obviously asleep and now mad at you for having a "crisis"

the most enjoyable part of the job is watching a client you have been working with emprove liek going from 100% supervision to having 4 hours of un-supervised time and holding down a job for a year and a half
  less
Pros
got to take clients on activities
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chrysalis. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 182 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7