CIBC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Restructuring of company
Administrative Assistant / Equity Research (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 2, 2018
The financial industry has high turnover rates and CIBC is not an exception to the rule. Secretarial staff is quite often assigned to different equity researchers due to frequent layoffs.
Pros
Great health care benefits
Cons
high turnover rates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working environment
Senior Audit Manager, Treasury and Trading Audit (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 20, 2017
A typical day at CIBC was 9-5pm and an hour lunch. I have learned about many products and how to deal with all kind of auditees. The Management was great and very supportive. The hardest part was having to travel to overseas for a lengthy time. The most enjoyable part of the job was team travelling and team building with my colleagues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Marketing Analyst (Former Employee) –  OntarioNovember 2, 2017
Great place to work. CIBC Digital is the place you want to be if you're looking for a fun and agile work environment.

Definitely apply if you want to work on meaningful projects!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competitive
Proof Clerk / Investigation Officer (Former Employee) –  Nassau, NYSeptember 13, 2017
proof officer , I would get the checks from the previous day, and run them through NCR machine, get the total and then send the total to the supervisor. I would sort the check in numerical order and hand them over to my co-worker for filing. If there is a difference an investigation would have to be done to make sure the customer doesn't loose and money. We usually would get check companies come in so we can review the encoding on the check to make sure the customer checks are protected. Management was hard, but after a few years we had a great working relationship. the hardest part of the job is making sure all of the thousand checks are balanced as well as all of the encoding are correct. The most enjoyable part is the race the staff would have to see if we can beat our time. I have changed many procedures in that area
Pros
benefits
Cons
increase of duties
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work
Helpdesk Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York StateAugust 29, 2017
The atmosphere was relaxed but very professional. My typical day as helpdesk analyst was to troubleshoot incoming software and hardware issues or escalate to network services or desktop if necessary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned much
Director (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 5, 2017
It was years ago but I learned a great deal about investing, sales, trading, operations
My managers were terrific
workplace fun
trading was fun but challenging
I would love to be in the. business again but have been out for a long time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easygoing crowd, fun and professional
Financial Services Associate (Former Employee) –  AlbertaJuly 17, 2017
I spent a number of years working for CIBC, and am able to say that by far this company has given me the ability to learn more about myself professionally and personally. I enjoyed building the relationships with clients and co-workers over the years I was an employee.
Pros
Flexibiltiy
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved cibc
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 19, 2017
I only left because my husband was transferred to Austin. The people, management and environment were wonderful. Sdly, there was no branch in Austin.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Director (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 17, 2017
great team, challenging but respectful environment. opportunities for growth, reasonable hours, friendly atmosphere, intelligent colleagues, meritocracy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
micro managed
BANK CLERK (Former Employee) –  KingstonMay 19, 2017
The environment at this bank was akin to a military school. Management is always peering over your shoulder as if they are dealing with kids. No latitude given to trainees to achieve full potential
Pros
free lunches
Cons
too much micro managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good chance for advancement
Bank Teller and Branch Ambassador (Former Employee) –  CanadaMarch 2, 2017
Work is fast paced as management never wants a single customer to wait. The technology this bank works with is surpieror to other banks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work day
Accounts Reconciliation Clerk (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 20, 2017
CIBC had health fairs for staff members. I learned how to research and identify money laundering. CIBC offered team building seminars which was the most enjoyable part of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Test Lead (Former Employee) –  IndianaJanuary 5, 2017
The Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce known as CIBC is one of Canada's chartered banks, fifth largest by deposits. The bank is headquartered at Commerce Court in Toronto,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Automation Test Developer (Former Employee) –  TorontoMarch 23, 2016
Great work environment, co-workers were very welcoming, gave great guidance. I was able to improve my programming and analytical thinking there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work. Good team work and amazing work environment. Well balanced between work and personal life. Benefits are great.
QA Analyst (Manual-SQL Tester/Automation Testing) (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, MENovember 16, 2015
Excellent place to work. Good team work and amazing work environment. Well balanced between work and personal life. Benefits are great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Art Director and Project Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 21, 2015
Great work place with supportive management. Not all about the numbers but how your personally grow and develop, A lot of autonomy offered
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment with a fun atmosphere
Customer Service Representative/Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Thornhill, ONOctober 19, 2015
Being a customer service representative at CIBC has helped me work in fast pace environment. Ive learned to manage multiple things at once and stay completely organized. There is a lot of focus on customer service, thus I strive to do my best with every transaction and every customer. There is always room to grow within the company with continued support from management.
Pros
Benefits, work place environment, good management support
Cons
Very busy, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good start
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  EgyptOctober 7, 2015
everything is great great employees hard workers with great attitude very nice people great supervision i enjoyed working with them a lot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  North York, TorontoJuly 30, 2015
Very good and interesting company to work for
Very good management
Very nice coworkers
How to keep things confidential
Pros
free summer barbecue
Cons
strict at security
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible work schedule
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Los AngelesMay 19, 2015
The work is contracted. Flexibility of work schedule is a bonus. Must be willing to travel the county to provide support to preschool classrooms/ administrators of preschools.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CIBC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,835 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8