Find companies:
Ciena
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

Ciena Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Offshore Hub
IT Analyst (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GADecember 4, 2014
Watch out, This is a strong offshore hub. You can find your niche, culture is good enough. But don't expect standards.
Compensation, flexibility, training are pros. Overall company business model not bad. IT , tho, is heavily decided by manager. hence unpredictable.

If you do not mind working with more control with offshores, and just want legacy on your name.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacks clear stable direction at the worker bee level
Senior System Test Automation Engineer (Former Employee), Spokane Valley, WANovember 14, 2014
Pros: pay was okay
Cons: projects and plans leave no real time for complete coverage
Worked with a great group of people.
But, important work shouldn't be scheduled to be done in the cracks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sweat shop
Sn (Former Employee), Spokane, WAJune 11, 2014
Pros: pay is ok
Cons: ciena, on the west coast anyway is the worst company i've ever worked at in 40 years of career., they management is very political, they run overly aggressive and unrealistic schedules, they have top heavy managment who don't listen to their engineers, then blame engineers for missed schedules, blame engineers for missed defects found customer found defects
Autmated max config parameters. Run test logged in HP Quality Center, our test case database. Verified discovered defects and filed defects for non-compliance of Ciena 5410 machine Operating system. Created test cases to verify the same.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with an interesting laboratory
Engineering Intern (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAApril 13, 2014
Pros: company picnics
Cons: temporary position
As an engineering intern, I did not have a "typical day" at work as my responsibilities would change on a day-to-day basis. I learned a lot about the electrical engineering industry in terms of design, testing/debugging, and final release of products. My co-workers were very nice and fun people to be around. The hardest part of the job was the debugging phase, as that could become a long and tedious process. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to work with very high-tech and complex circuitry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere to work in
Database Admin / Order Management (Current Employee), Linthicum, MDJanuary 16, 2014
Everyone works well together. Very relaxed environment. Managers looks out for your advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job with wonderful benefits and security
Technical Support Engineer (Former Employee), Linthicum Heights, MDJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: could work from home some days
Cons: n/a
Wonderful Co-workers and teams.
Had great Training on the latest product and systems.
Paid Travel expenses.
I really enjoyed my experience at Ciena.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and dynamic work environment
Senior Compensation Analyst (Lead) (Current Employee), Hanover, MDNovember 23, 2013
My experience at Ciena has been very challenging and dynamic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Linthicum, MDMay 29, 2013
This position was only temporary. Ciena was a good place to work. This is a large company. Always room to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
senior technician (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJuly 22, 2012
Pros: worked without alot of supervision daily
Cons: laidoff twice
liked working with the company. alot of growth in the beginning. Worked on past, present and new products to keep up with the companies demands. Loved my co-workers. Very team oriented
Alot of hands on training through the years which i loved
Alot of multitasking which was great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Unfortunately deployments were hit or miss at the time.
Lightwave Tester (Former Employee), VariousFebruary 13, 2012
Great place to work. Unfortunately deployments were hit or miss at the time.

About Ciena

Ciena doesn't limit itself to just one color of the spectrum. The company makes transport and switching equipment that increases – Read more