Cigna Employee Reviews

Found 2,028 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not For Me
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMay 25, 2017
This company had too many rules and too many managers. They do not care about their employees and it is all about the numbers. You will burn out quickly.
Pros
none
Cons
Horrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to work with
Graduate Student Consultant (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCMay 25, 2017
Cigna has very informative employees that are truly passionate about their jobs. Very easy to work with and were very responsive when trying to communicate with employees.
Pros
Great employees
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bilingual Customer Service Representative
Bilingual Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Hoover, ALMay 24, 2017
Enjoyed my time at this company. I worked in their customer service call center. I decided that I wanted to further my career options and teach Spanish.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place
CSA - Customer Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNMay 23, 2017
cigna is the best job i have ever had . they are very professional and fun nice people . they have great benefits .i would highly recommend cigna .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job I have had
Medical Claims Specialist (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 23, 2017
A typical day would start out by processing claims.
Was a great place to work, the flexibility on your work hours
flex starting times, and the ability to work from home.
Pros
getting to work from home
Cons
sometimes there was a lot of overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good training, very patient managers
Hedis Nurse (Current Employee) –  Hooksett, NHMay 22, 2017
would love to do again .I met so many wonderful people, learned another facet of healthcare, and strengthened my resume. Typical day is sitting, reviewing records for compliance, data entry into a program that captures the info, calling providers to glean more records when needed. Hardest part, frustration of having to spend time on non compliant records, Most enjoyable was being part of a team to meet goals.
Pros
record abstraction is low stress work
Cons
can become tedious
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industry laggard
Business Manager (Current Employee) –  Piscataway, NJMay 22, 2017
Culture does not inspire. Lack of leadership and vision. Poor long-term viability. Limited opportunities for growth. Organization does not align skill sets appropriately to put employees in position to succeed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cigna
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Scranton, PAMay 21, 2017
Good company to work for very flexible to accommodate your family! Friendly coworkers and pay is great. Love the ability to be able to work a split shift from home!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people will make you crazy
Client Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Denison, TXMay 19, 2017
It was the worst place I have ever worked. It is like high school everyone is in a cliche and they don't want to let you in. The job is horrible people yell at you, curse at you and don't want you to call back, which it is your job to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great workplace
Customer Service Senior Associate (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 19, 2017
extremely micromanaged, treats you like you are in high school. the specialty pharmacy is the worst, the supervisors are awful and no one listens to you to make things better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice coworkers
Clinical Pharmacist (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 18, 2017
Not a good company at this point. Very unstable and just puts out fires but does not look at the impact that permanent pharmacists are making for the worse.
Pros
Nice office space, provides continuous training and empowers employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Corporation
Medical Administrative Specialist (Former Employee) –  Peoria, AZMay 18, 2017
Good place to work but be prepared to work long hours if in management. Healthcare benefits are good and paid time off is generous. Good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy and energetic
Machine Operator/ Mail Sorter (Current Employee) –  Easton, PAMay 18, 2017
Nights can be light or heavy depending on the deadline. I learned how the jobs are set up for delivery. Management work hard to make sure jobs are done on time. Sometime it may be difficult to constantly pick up heavy trays and pull heavy loads for delivery.
Pros
lots of vacation time
Cons
standing for 7 hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive innovative company
Clinical Manager Depression Disease (Former Employee) –  Eden Prairie, MNMay 18, 2017
programs open and close quickly unfortunately because they move so fast. Very young staff and high turnover. East coast mentality fast paced environment
Pros
nice location
Cons
cut throat environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and Constantly Busy
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Piscataway, NJMay 16, 2017
The basic job is to sit in a box, answer a bunch of calls (around 40).

Very high stress environment.

Most of the coworkers are good people and they'll help you out.

Good starting job for someone with little to no experience, you'll learn a lot.

Only recommend working here if you need experience, but other than that I would look elsewhere.
Pros
Good Coworkers, Good for starting experience
Cons
Very Stressful, High Anxiety Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly place to work
Medical billing specialist (Former Employee) –  Eden Prairie, MNMay 16, 2017
My typical day of work has to be as accurate as possible. I learned how to look at different codes that represent difference service. My supervisor was super nice and always there to help.
Pros
Fun, friendly ...
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
CERTIFIED PHARMACY TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZMay 15, 2017
Enjoyed helping my patients, co-workers are like family and enjoyed learning all updated medications. My supervisor is very helpful and treated us fairly. Working at Cigna reminded me of same culture as my old employer in California and Colorado, has developed over the years. The hardest part of my job is not knowing what work schedules will be every other month. But, what I enjoyed the most are knowing my patients well and same with them.
Pros
we are allowed to buy a week of vacation
Cons
short lunch breaks and no break time.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive environment
Marketing Communications Consultant (Current Employee) –  Bloomfield, CT USAMay 15, 2017
The hardest part of the job is managing within the matrix organizational structure and lobbying management for funds and resources. There's a supportive work culture and management is accessible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A solid employer who cares about staying relevant
IT Manager (Current Employee) –  NationwideMay 15, 2017
Cigna's primary mission in recruiting talent is diversity
Cigna's IT staff has little upward mobility
Cigna has a positive work culture that cares about people
Everyone is treated the same. This can be a problem though, as not everyone has similar life circumstances. An employee with 5 children is expected to be as available as an unmarried employee with no children. Rewards for performance are lopsided due to this, and it becomes very difficult to compete when you have a family.
Pros
Quality co-workers
Cons
Hyper-competitive environment
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Licenced Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZMay 14, 2017
Worked in many different areas of Cigna, Pediatrics mostly (12.5 years), Urgent Care, Family Practice, Allergies, Ob-Gyn, Podiatry, Internal Medicine. I put patients in their rooms, performed nursing procedures, immunizations, assisted Dr. I also did referrals and made appointments for patients. I enjoyed my patients and my job very much.
Pros
Good hours, occasional lunches per drug representitives, enjoyed Dr. and patient relationships.
Cons
Can't think of any.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cigna. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,130 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

79%
490 ratings
Add your rating