Find companies:
CIGNA
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
662 reviews

CIGNA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked and underpaid
Client Financial Associate (Former Employee), Bloomfield, CTAugust 26, 2014
Pros: job work/life balance
Cons: communication and compensation
•A typical day at work
Customer focused

•What you learned
Train others
New job functions

•Your co-workers
Fellow coworkers are supportive

•Management
Breakdown in management communication and support

•The hardest part of the job
Working with lazy people

•The most enjoyable part of the job
Vacation Time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work....
Home Delivery Account Manager (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 25, 2014
it is a great place to work if you do not plan on advancing
Typical work day was speant taking countless of calls from upset clients

I learned you have to appreciate the medical field

coworkers were great

nothing that hard about the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, enjoyed the job and people
Group Admin Assist./Enrollment Coordinator (Former Employee), Bloomfield, CTAugust 22, 2014
Pros: always had something to do, never bored, worked with great people
A typical day involved working with clients and preparing their renewals rates or new benefit proposals. Preparing mailings that would go out to clients outlining any changes in procedures that would effect how they administered their benefits. I as also the offices multi-site enrollment coordinator for our large accounts that had more various locations – more... both in and out of state. I was responsible for staffing coverage for the enrollment meetings and providing the necessary enrollment materials and verifying the benefits being presented were correct for that location since different states sometimes had different benefit regulations. I also maintained the office filing system and implemented new procedures regarding the organization of the system – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits
Customer Service Advocate (Current Employee), Bourbonnais, ILAugust 21, 2014
Pros: benefits and pto
Cons: high call volume, stress
Very high call volume center. Must have a lot of patience to deal with the high level of stress. This company has good benefits and great time off. Overall, this is a good company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All right place to work. Good people
Sales/Client Services (Former Employee), San Diego, CaAugust 21, 2014
Pros: meeting and talking with clients and co-workers.
Cons: sales mentality of what have you done for me lately.
I started with calling leads and setting appointments. Then I went to meet previous appoints that were set earlier. At this time, I practiced my skills at educating my clients and saw ways to bridge the gaps between what we had to offer and the clients needs. Or even if CIGNA was a good fit for the clients. I practiced a lot of patience and listening – more... skills. I liked meeting with clients to see what their thoughts were. Management was a good help in tutoring me as were some of my more experienced colleagues. But the hardest part was that I did all I could and some of my clients would not enroll, even after follow up. But I also know that this is the way sales and client services can be. Up and down, but go with the flow because it will all work out somehow. I learned to take stress in stride. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment with great employees
New Business Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 21, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: competitive position in market
Called on brokers to discuss prospects and possible fits with Cigna. Worked with underwriting and management to position cases to sell. Presented to broker and clients to close sales. Learned how to manage entire sales process. Had great relationship with co-workers. Most enjoyable part of job was closing sales. Hardest part of job was getting groups – more... to move to Cigna when they were having no issues with their incumbent carrier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Horsham, PAAugust 19, 2014
A typical day at Cigna is dealing with customer concerns, complaints, and inquiries. I realized I do enjoy the healthcare industry .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Case Management (Current Employee), Miami, FLAugust 18, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: office space
Cigna is overall a great company, with great leadership and benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TERRIBLE
Nurse Practitioner (Former Employee), BaltimoreAugust 17, 2014
This review is for ALEGIS not Cigna. Recently acquired by Cigna, but, management is the same. There was no WORK LIFE balance for the provider. People sitting in the office probably have a wonderful work life balance.

As a PCP, pay is horrible after your guaranteed rate for 6 months. Pay will convert to RVUs at 14.50 per RVU. Do get 100$ per day. Not – more... very much based on avg 2.5 RVUs per visit. you do the math. EMR documentation redundant and takes 45 minutes, plus you are travelling. Maybe can see 6-7 daily, but, very unlikely to finish work in that time span. During the day there is a constant flow of phone calls to an inbox on your computer which you are expected to respond to most likely when you are home.

Poor office support, there are collaborating MDs in the office that review & sign off on your notes. Help very little with ERX, phone calls.... You have to do mostly everything as the PCP. Literally, everything!! Not to mention the many documents needed to complete, DMEs, letters, disability applications, healthcare practitioner forms etc...nothing extra for this. There are schedulers that complete a schedule for you and give it to you in the late afternoon. Then YOU have to call and give them a time that evening or morning. They DO NOT confirm appointments 2 days before, so you may end up seeing even less patients. This affects YOUR check only!!!

You do get a phone, car, printer, 2 bags ( carrying everthing but the kitchen sink).

There was only 1 NP there for over 1 year. Very high turnover rate for reasons above!!!!! Some manage to stay 6 months, most do not. Management did not seem to care!!!

It is a wonderful service to the homebound, but wrecks YOUR life. Many drug seekers. In short....DON'T DO IT. You will notice they are ALWAYS hiring!!!! (red flag). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
QA Lead and ETL Tester
QA Lead and ETL Tester (Current Employee), Windsor, CTAugust 17, 2014
Working in CIGNA is very happy life. Need a change in my career
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Health Promotion Coordinator (Current Employee), Houston, TXAugust 15, 2014
Pros: salary, benefits
Cigna has been the best company I've worked for in my 20 plus years in Health and Wellness industry. They offer great benefits and there's lots of opportunities for advancements within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, but can be stressful at times
Implementation Consultant (Former Employee), Visalia, CAAugust 14, 2014
I worked here for 9 years and received several promotions during that time. After that time I was job eliminated with 30 days notice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice People
Vice President of Sales and Customer Relations (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHAugust 14, 2014
CIGNA purchased Great West Life, I enjoyed the experience at CIGNA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with strong focus on work/life balence
TEK Systems Contractor (Former Employee), Work at HomeAugust 14, 2014
I have worked at Cigna for many years and while the work was challenging we always worked well as a team. Over the years of working there I have learned so much from so many different sources. My managers, team members, direct reports have all contributed to making into the individual.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job
Intake Specialist (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZAugust 12, 2014
Pros: great opportunity
Cons: large turn over rate
Performs research to respond to inquiries and interprets policy provisions to determine most effective response. Mails or routes claim forms and supporting documentation to various units for final processing. Independently responds to inquiries, grievances, complaints or appeals ranging from routine to moderate complexity. May seek assistance with complex – more... customer services issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful office
Pharmacy Service Associate (Former Employee), Bourbonnais, ILAugust 12, 2014
able to work from home
lots of metrics to meet
no management assistance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience in Health Care Accounting.
Accountant (Consultant) (Former Employee), Bloomfield, CTAugust 12, 2014
Pros: wonderful staff
Cons: culture changing as a result of outsouceing.
Cigna like many large insurers is and has been going through outsourcing their accounting roles to India. Three was a lot of change going on. I was their as a contractor, my contract was renewed and I was there for 15 months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entry level training
Underwriter (Former Employee), Nashville, TNAugust 10, 2014
Pros: training programs
The company has invested a great deal into entry level training programs for new college grads or people interested in entering a new career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Wilmington, DEAugust 8, 2014
Pros: great location
Cons: difficult to advance
International company that values customer centricity. Multi-cultural fast paced work environment. Current and value empowering the customer to make educated decisions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They have some nice buildings
Former Employee (Former Employee), Phoenix ArizonaAugust 6, 2014
Pros: nice buildings
Cons: management and shoddy treatment of employees
Management is rarely around to manage. Because of that the on site leadership is poor and treats people poorly unless you are favored for random reasons that are selective and not always based upon performance. As a rule, there is no feedback and poor communication. Advancement is by "last man standing" and not based upon ability to manage others effectively. – more... It is also not what you know but who you know. CIGNA is also using an overwhelming number of temporary workers to handle patient information and telephone inquiries instead of hiring direct employees. Health benefit coverage is some of the poorest health insurance coverage in the entire city as well as in the entire industry. They only offer HRA or HSA plans. I would recommend finding another company if for no other reason than the health insurance stinks and this is a health insurance company who could well afford to offer decent coverage to their employees. If you are married, make sure your spouse has a job with better coverage and take that. If you are single or a single parent, prepare to be poor if you have an illness that requires any significant amount of medical care. Time off is hard to get and the potential for advancement is nil. I started out excited and motivated ending up unchallenged and disillusioned. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About CIGNA

With a significant position in the US health insurance market, CIGNA covers some 11.5 million Americans with its various medical – Read more

CIGNA Photos