Find companies:
Cincinnati Children's Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
82 reviews

Cincinnati Children's Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Clinical Research Project Leader (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHAugust 19, 2013
I worked here for 8 years and thought it was an excellent institution. Clear strategy for success and better than average management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHAugust 16, 2013
I worked here for three years. People are very nice here. The work time is very flexible. You may work from home.

Each year, there will be activities, like coney island one-day fun, bowling, and etc. All are paid by Children's. And you are allowed to take family members or friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supportive, opened and engaged, interdisciplinary cooperation, teamwork
Chaplain Resident (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHAugust 14, 2013
Pros: free lunches, support for education
Generally the day started with report from on-call chaplain and referrals. On CPE days we started with interfaith devotion. The relationship to management of the department was friendly and professional. I had a good relationship with my co-workers. We communicated unclear situations and remained in relationship.
The hardest part was not to be judgmental – more... in cases of abuse.
To experience God's presence in the middle of suffering. The most enjoyable part was to follow a family over a longer time and see them deepen their spirituality. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Patient Care Assistant (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJuly 24, 2013
great hard working, dedicated co-workers who provide excellent care to children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ive ever Had
Registered Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHJune 25, 2013
This is the best company I have ever worked for. I cant say enough good things about them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work forthe work and research that they do for the kids, however as an employees you are not treated as an indivdual
Customer Service Representive (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJune 6, 2013
I register incominng patients into a outpatient clinic. With the registeration, scheduling and answering phone lines are also a major part of the responsiblities. Management is in a totally seperate location, so their ablitiy to really recognize and evaluate job performance lacks knowledge. There are two other ASR's in the area, we all share the same – more... duties daily. The most rewarding part of my job is that some days I am a mother for those who lack that parental involvement and being ablr to give my honest opinion of family values the hospital tries to commit to upholding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have a job but forget sanity....
Employee (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHMay 23, 2013
Pros: you have a job
Cons: management, not able to transfer unless you know somebody in another dpt., hr is unfair and unprofessional
Been stuck in the same job on a sucky shift for a decade. Management does not listen, too many chiefs. If you're not an RN they do NOT care about you and even then if you don't know people and aren't a favorite you can forget about being happy here. Good luck
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agent
Sr Scheduling Agent/ Complex Scheduling Specialist (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHMay 15, 2013
Pros: job security
Customer Service Scheduling appointments for families all over the world. You learn so much about Families and how to better assist them everyday. I learned alot of Medical terminology and Schedule over 29 Different Departments in the 3 yrs I've been employed here. The Hardest part is dealing with the emotion from the families and trying to balance – more... the schedules we have to offer – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Medical Laboratory Technician II (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHApril 26, 2013
Cons: hostile work environment
I worked 2nd shift as a generalist and had phlebotomy responsibilities as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The rules change twice a day, and nobody has a scorecard but "management"
Pharmacy Technician II (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHApril 15, 2013
Too many changes, too often, too few staff to implement them = dangerous environment for patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not employee friendly organization
Manager (Current Employee), CincinnatiApril 9, 2013
Pros: caring for children
Cons: culture
Children's Hospital is well known for incredible research and the wonderful care that is given to the children in the community, that is why I was so excited to receive an offer to work there. The excitement faded fast even for someone that goes to work with a positive attitude and works hard to help others. Trying to be a professional, but this organization – more... does not operate as if it truly cares for employees, starting with the HR Department.They are not there to be a "resource" for employees. It could be so much better! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very education focused company.
Registered Dietitian (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHMarch 12, 2013
Great place to work. And great people to work with.Room to advance in career and very rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Certified Medical Staff Coord, Medical Staff (Current Employee), CincinnatiMarch 10, 2013
Typical: fast paced, highly regulated, stressful, constant changes
Learned: Database software and regulatory agencies
Hardest: Stressful environment
Most Enjoyable: Never boring
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teaching and learning environment
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: facility is so big that its easy to get lost
A typical day at CCHMC is non stop and busy. You definitely have to be prepared for anything because things can change and a matter of seconds. There is never a dull moment and I'm a witness to say you learn something new each day. This can be anywhere from a new way to do a procedure, a new way to prep, using new medical devices to how to take care – more... of yourself. There is a lot of teamwork, including management, which ensure patient safety and good outcomes. The hardest part of the job is trying to find down time to get everything done within a small time frame so its all about time mangement. The most enjoyable part of the job for me is seeing the smiles on children faces even when times are tough for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful experience
Travel Nurse (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: drive back and forth
I was privilaged to work here has a travel nurse for a little over two years. I was as happy with them as they were with me and kept renewing my contract. I was a staff RN in the oncology/ BMT unit. I was responsible for patient care and administration of chemo and blood products. This is a truly remarkable facility. The hardest part was driving back – more... and forth every day to work there. The mose enjoyable was making a difference and being there for so many individuals. Most of my nurisng career was spent floating as part of a resource pool. I usually did not spend much time in any one area. Working here for two years I was able to get very close to several children that I lost. So dealing with that was very difficult at times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to Work - Buyer's just say NO!!!!
Buyer (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: benefits start immediately
Cons: everything, poor management no direction, no flexability
The company may have placed 3rd in the country, but it is the worst place to work for. Micro-management, unfair treatment. It's not a true Buyer's postion. Nothing enjoyable about this place, you have to race to the time clock before and after work, NO flexability. DEAD END job, no advancement. Very stressful work enviornment due to poor mangement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical Records Tech
Navy/ Marine Fleet Corpsman (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHJanuary 11, 2013
Laid back atmosphere, good people to work with, Management is okay, Hardest part of the job is not getting bored with the repetitiveness
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Protective Services (Security) Department AWFUL.
Security Officer (Former Employee), Cincinnati Childrens HospitalDecember 26, 2012
Pros: a few good people i met.
Cons: everthing else.
Management awful, Supervisors just as awful, some co-workers in Protective Services were alright to work with, others were downright lazy, complaining about having to do anything. A few were playing the FMLA game and taking 12 weeks off per year in conjunction with off days/vacations. Unqualified people being promoted happened all too often at the expense – more... of others who were more educated and qualified. Others had the attitude that they were "owed" something, I wont elaborate but use your common sense and you will know what I am referring to. Just glad I had the sense to get the hell out of there on my terms. Worst position I have ever held. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just say no
ASR (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHDecember 1, 2012
Pros: working with drs and other processionals
Cons: working with lazy people with no ability or inclination to "think outside the box.
Management is clueless - no return e-mails, no guidance from management team

December 8, 2012

age biast!

April 23, 2013

I am living this nightmare now with my Manager. Lazy, sorry and worthless. I am giving up many years of service because of someone that has not been there long at all. What a shame!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Preventive Cardiology was a fantastic team with two great bosses.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHNovember 15, 2012
Pros: the experience i learned will stay with me and priceless.
Cons: the personality conflicts were not appropriately managed by upper management.
The Director and Assistant Director made the group successful; despite having an office of very diverse personnel we were always able to work together; my favorite aspect was the challenge which was a daily occurrence whether it be budgets or payroll or assisting with writing grants.

About Cincinnati Children's Hospital

Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center has a special place in its heart for kids -- and vice versa. The pediatric health – Read more