Find companies:
Cisco
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
795 reviews

Cisco Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company
Contract Manager (Former Employee), San Jose, CAAugust 27, 2014
Pros: work/life balance, collaborative culture, compensation/benfits
Cons: career advancement, job security
Being at Cisco for five years, it was a great learning experience. I enriched my project management, financial analytic and leadership skills. Solid management and co-workers foster an collaborative environment. Challenging part of the job was sometimes to get an innovative idea established and everyone on board. The most enjoyable part of the job is – more... working with a great team that assists at any part of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Senior Manager, Global Development Services (Current Employee), San Jose, CAAugust 25, 2014
Dynamic, fast paced environment, great people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Exoerience
Engineer/Java Developer (Current Employee), Raleigh, NCAugust 25, 2014
Wonderful Experience working with switches and and their configuration
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cisco has been bought by Lighting Associates
President/Owner (Former Employee), Middlefield, CTAugust 25, 2014
Pros: good manufacturers and customers
Cons: long hours
Active working with manufacturers, customers and personnel.
Co-workers very generous with their time.
Hardest part of job was coordinating personel.
Most enjoyable part of job was building a business around a market that previously had not existed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cisco Systems
Experience Partner Advisor (Current Employee), San Jose, CAAugust 24, 2014
Pros: we are always looking for ways to better the business.
Cons: yrly layoffs
Cisco Systems is a great place to work. Cross functional skills are a must. I currently work with distribution, customer service, co-planning, global supply chain management and contract manufacturing. Possess strong communication skills, analytical and business acumen, manage multiple tasks and interface effectively with Global teams. Achieve established – more... goals and targets while operating under minimum supervision in highly stressful situations. Well versed in the use of various planning and application tools such as Oracle, CCW, Business Objects – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work some of the culture that management propagates is average...no forward thinking
Manager (Current Employee), san jose, caAugust 19, 2014
Pros: work life balance and timing flexibility
Cons: no free lunches. average health benefits, terrible coffee
Flexible work schedule
Learned a lot at work and about my trade. Excellent processes and learning experience.
Compensation was average. Nothing great. Good bonus but right now Cisco is not giving out great bonuses
Coworkers are wonderful
management is so-so. reactionary, no proper guidance from immediate management. Mostly lifers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, productive and fun place to work
Client Services Manager (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, GAAugust 18, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: business travel limited
Loved having the flexibility of being a teleworker who was able to manage my business based on my knowledge of my customer's immediate needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well paying
Software Engineer (Former Employee), Research Triangle Park, NCAugust 18, 2014
Pros: pay. company gym.
Cons: lack of job security.
Cisco pays well, the projects are interesting, frequently leading edge, and the hours are generally pretty good. However, everyone is constantly looking over their shoulder and worried about their job. In this respect it is a high stress position with little sense of job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sr. Software Engineer (Current Employee), Austin, TXAugust 17, 2014
Pros: generous bonus
Cons: anual layoff
It is a good place to develop a career. You can always look for new positions internally if you are not happy with current one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Stable working environment
Engineering Project Manager (Current Employee), Santa Clara, CAAugust 15, 2014
Pros: large company, relatively stable
Cons: since it is a large company, it is slower to get things done
Cisco is a big company with a lot of resources. There are always opportunities within the company that people can give it a try. The management here is pretty good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Senior Systems Engineer (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 14, 2014
Cisco is a great place to work. Great company, great people, great pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interim personnel
Sr. Administrative Assistant III (Current Employee), San Jose, CAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: connecting with new clients
Cons: benenfits and non-flexible hours
Interim personnel is about connecting with people. For this reason, I like having a very personal, face-to-face experience. The fact that we'll always need to have the face-to-face experience keeps me motivated in always being the best of the best with my customer service attitude. I like the that the company is always growing in the way they use technology – more... to play a significant role in the way people connect and relate in today‚Äôs world. I appreciate that the company has made it a priority to keep pace with the latest innovations and trends hitting the market. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Memories here
EA (Current Employee), San Jose, CAAugust 12, 2014
Cons: frequent rumours of labor reductions
I formed many great relationships and have made many great contacts. Work/Life balance is better than any other job I had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work schedule
Internal Communications Manager, Channels (Former Employee), San Jose, CAAugust 12, 2014
Work life balance is good and flexibility is good but you can be online constantly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Scheduling Coordinator (Former Employee), Southlake TexasAugust 12, 2014
Enjoyed the staff and co workers. Great benefits. Management worked to keep us updated with company progress
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cisco has interesting products
Test Engineer (Former Employee), San JoseAugust 11, 2014
Pros: no free lunch at cisco, but interesting enigineering
Cons: cisco has been slipping financially, layoffs are coming
The product I worked on was Cisco United Computing System
An interesting product which included a complete set of compute blades or systems and all the networking needed to support it.Definitely doing more with less, people leave and don't get replaced but the work load doesn't change. Long hours are required just to keep up. Lots of contractors, no – more... conversions to permanent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
*** Ratings Based on Contract Position - Salary/Benefits Esp. ***
Financial Data Analyst (Former Employee), Morrisville, NCAugust 8, 2014
Pros: very collaborative atmosphere within and among offices and teams
Cons: week-long christmas break unfair to hourly contract employees
Working at Cisco Finance gave me a great introduction to a relatively fast-paced workstyle. The contract was presented to me as more data-heavy with some knowledge of finance; the reality was the opposite. Cisco expects you to hit the ground running. They provide online training for contractors and training sessions for new full hires. Help files and – more... tutorials are all at your fingertips, but if you don't know where to look, help may not very difficult to find, even if you ask multiple people. The company leverages a solid communications backbone to provide seamless real-time communications among all of their worldwide offices through online meetings, email, and instant messaging. I was not used to this environment, so it took me a while to become comfortable. Our office was also an open plan with all of the positives and negatives associated with that kind of space. My co-workers were very friendly and very helpful.

The biggest caveat for an hourly-wage contract position is their December break, which is a week-long office closing around that coincides with Christmas and New Year's. This arrangement poses no problems to a salaried employee, but an hourly employee loses one quarter of his or her salary for that month. Given the plethora of contract workers Cisco employs, I'm surprised this is not more of a concern among the workforce. It was the only time I experienced a Christmas negative bonus.

Overall, it's a great collaborative experience with a good variety of helpful co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talented people and fun place
Senior Software Test/QA Engineer (Current Employee), San Jose, CaliforniaAugust 7, 2014
It is a good place to be in. Lot of new projects and new devices and abundance of resources to get hands on experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assembling and testing
Assembling and Testing (Former Employee), san jose caAugust 6, 2014
Cisco was so nice working there.I meet new people learned how to do assembling and testing there .I enjoyed all the assembling and testing there that way I'm in school now for that field i like working with my hands
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK Company but too many rumours re. layoffs
Network Consulting Engineer (Current Employee), Iselin, NJAugust 3, 2014
Pros: work from home, inside talent is amazing
Cons: no room to move up! you need to quit and reapply for raises
Working as an NCE for the previous 2 years, I've some exposure to Cisco culture.

The talent within the BU is normally excellent. Cisco MGMT is clueless as to dispelling rumors, constant restructuring of roles at the top. There is no room for salary increases. Cisco does not care about retaining top talent--they will simply let you go once you elect – more... to resign. I've seen this from so many colleagues.

Colleagues are cool for the most part.

Its very easy to get lazy as work is mainly focused on advising and not hands-on. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Cisco

Are you changing the world? We are. Cisco, a worldwide leader in IT, is changing the way the world works, lives, plays and – Read more