Citarella Gourmet Market Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive work environment
Cashier/MANAGER ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYSeptember 16, 2017
Very fast paced providing excellent customer service. My day goes pretty fast. Work helping customers and do my best t achieve excellent customer service. It is a nice and friendly work environment.
Pros
discounts
Cons
no health benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lost their core values
Counter Person (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 17, 2017
Company doesn't focus on improving employee relations. No growth for employees. Company creates a fantasy environment that is no way close to the actual working environment of the stores
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
favoritism towards Spanish employees
Counter help (Current Employee) –  East Hampton, NYJune 29, 2017
The general manager for the hampton stores is very biased. They'll hire u if you don't speak English, very strict on the few English speaking workers. They have no respect for your personal time and will change shift without any notification. Spanish workers mostly are illegal residents that are working on expired work permits. Management shows favoritism towards their own kind of people. They only hire few Americans as their coverup to hide their racism.
Pros
Guaranteed 40hrs
Cons
Overtime hours are mostly given to latinos
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buena empresa
Manager packing departament (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYJune 17, 2017
Es mui buena empresa
Hay la oportunidad de aprender y crecer como profecional
Pros
Siempre hay trabajos
Cons
Ningunos
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bridgehampton, NY 11932June 16, 2017
a typical day at citerella consist of greeting and serving customers. most of the customers were grumpy but there are a few regulars that put a smile on your face. not the best place to work if your not good at handling food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente muy bueno y sano verdaderamente familiar
Encargada de área salad bar (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJune 7, 2017
Me gustó trabajar para ellos, para fue un placer pertenecer a esa familia citarella gourmet
Pros
Si tienen pero yo no lo quise
Cons
Nada en contra
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tranquilidad
Associate (Current Employee) –  ConnecticutMay 29, 2017
tengo estabilidad laboral y libertad laboral con 40 horas de trabajo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  East Hampton, NYMay 12, 2017
I enjoyed my time working there. The pay was good. I met a few friends there as well. The only downfall is they try to enforce too many rules. But overall it was a good experience.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exelente ambiente laboral por cierto cafe gratis incluye almuerzo gratis ,cereal y leche y de vez en cuando una que otra regalia por parte de la staff
Dishwasher/Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYApril 17, 2017
Mmm me gusta mucho es un trabajo no pesado pero si muy intenso me gusta la comida de almuerzo diaria es excelente todo muy limpio ordenado y una estricta reglamentación de política de la empresa pero no es nada que no se pueda cumplir en fin la calificó como una empresa muy buena en lo que hace.
Pros
Se cuenta con todas las garantias sociales ademas de regalias
Cons
La fabrica esta muy lejos desde donde vivo, me toma mucho tiempo llegar, de regreso me toma el mismo tiempo que invierto en llegar.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steer clear of this company
Overnight Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYFebruary 18, 2017
Horrible organization from top to bottom. Discriminate on certain ethnicities love to hire people not American and love to abused the at-will employee law in New York City
Pros
None
Cons
Company that discriminate on certain ethnicities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Upper West Side, NYNovember 7, 2016
Great place to work at all co workers get like family but the micro management causes more problems then is solves also the schedule is very unbalanced
Pros
Good work environment
Cons
Micro management bad schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job not so easy and fair managers
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Greenwich, CTSeptember 21, 2016
The job itself is very easy, working with my co workers made it fun and enjoyable. I learned how to work fast and efficient. Although I am grateful for that job I feel that I am under appreciated
Pros
employees get 20% discount of anything besides flowers and sushi, it must be over 10 dollars and when you're not on the clock (does not include breaks)
Cons
Many rules that aren't well exercised by everyone making it an unfair environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved to be around positive people
Customer Service / Cashier Rep (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 26, 2014
working at AT&T was the best Opportunity ever! at&t has lots of space for growth any any benefits for their employees such as management positions that pay highly well and the 401K and shares and medical and dental was great. working with my co workers was a piece of cake we always acted as a Team but mostly as a Family.The hardest i will say were the customers as they always are at times that's customers for you...The most enjoyable part was every launching of the IPhone. i learned how to better my Customer Service Skills with each and everyCustomers and going all out and beyond with them all with a simple Smile.
Pros
benefits and lots of them!
Cons
The union
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great second job
Produce/Porter Team member (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 30, 2014
This is a good company to work for. The culture is great and management is helpful. There is not much work / life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
feels like home
Porter/Produce Team Member (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 1, 2014
Very good work environment and the people are great. Holidays can be rough but over all great place to wok
Pros
fun work place
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love Citarella!
Customer Service Rep. (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 22, 2013
Everyday was a new opportunity to provide great service! report to my desk wait for Customers to call and place orders, complaints, etc.
Pros
It was all great.
Cons
I like Citarella truly. It was just to far away from home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Citarella Gourmet Market. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.1