Citgo Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very positive workplace and fun to work at
Transportation Compliance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 16, 2017
CITGO is a fun and energetic company, where you can rest assured you can retire from. I enjoyed working on the CITGO in Action committee giving back to the community
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Forest Park, GAOctober 5, 2017
Management is very inconsiderate and inconsistent. Pay is low and hours are not promised but are usually 9 to ten hours a day but probably 3 days a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There was alot of rivalry . Disagreements between management favoring certain employees.
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Leesburg, GASeptember 30, 2017
It was great to start with ,however there were times managements favored employee friends over others . There was to much drama and decided it was time to move on .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience at citgo
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 15, 2017
It was an ok job getting paid every Friday and off every weekend and holiday meeting new people everyday discounts on items working long hours and interacting with other co workers.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a safe enviroment
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 13, 2017
this is not a good company to work for the pay is not good no benefits this is the worst company i have worked for and this is a unsafe working environment
Pros
none
Cons
unsafe work enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some of the management there was great some not so
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 5, 2017
Working here was a blast. Got to meet many interesting people and learned a lot. The downside is that a few of the managers were deplorable. They treated others with the utmost disrespect. Even commented on others personal life style preference or that they should obey their husbands like a pet.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Manager (Former Employee) –  Reedsville, WVSeptember 3, 2017
Loved it started out regular employee worked my way up to manager I love gas station cause it always busy love the customers and u can make descent money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for someone who does not desire moving up.
Store Clerk/Cashier (Current Employee) –  West Memphis, ARAugust 29, 2017
I find working here to be a good job. Managers are willing to train you on pretty much anything youd like to learn, and you can make decent money. Just dont expect to make a career out of it.
Pros
Its a job
Cons
No breaks, no vacation, pay is cash only
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kenosha, WIAugust 15, 2017
Very chill and relaxed work area. Boss was easy going if you needed something or days off they would make it work very flexible. Customers are alot of fun
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  noroflkAugust 8, 2017
i learned a lot form this job being it was my first time working in a gas station i got to learn about the lottery and how to issue gas from the computer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Citgo?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A boring nonproductive place to work
Customer Service Cashier (Current Employee) –  Flint, MIAugust 8, 2017
The management were college graduates from India, but were as well unprofessional. Employment experience was not memorable. I would not recommend anyone.
Pros
none
Cons
no lunch, no restroom within building had to go outside. no running water within store to use.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked by yourself, amazing customers
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Taylors, SCJuly 29, 2017
Citgo is a good place to work if you love customer service and working by yourself. You get as many breaks as you want as long as there are no customers. it is in between fast and slow paced.
Pros
the breaks
Cons
no healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taking Customers non stop followed by inventory managemnt and stocking.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Seaford, NYJuly 25, 2017
Work starts at 3 pm which is the peak time of the day. I learned alot of buisness and customer relation. The managemnt was not active as the Boss owns alot of other buisnesses so I had to run the place. I had to work by myself in my shift. There was not a hard part of the job for me. Enjoyable time at work was when I had to learn and task managemnt.
Pros
You can eat at discount price and free beverages.
Cons
No break at this job and as a General Manager I had to order, control and manage customer relations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable crowd to be around
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLJuly 25, 2017
There were long hours of standing on your feet and the occasional rude customer but other than that it was a nice place to be. Most the people were friendly and offered to help in anyway if needed. management was good. offered generous hours and good pay.
Pros
Great management, good pay, good hours
Cons
Rude people, empty stock
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place to call a set job.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 21, 2017
Overall, it was an okay place but not to call it a set job due to the location and the type of problems it brought with working the area , but i am thankful for having had it.
Pros
Slow
Cons
People were always trying to steal something
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace
Buyer, Contracts (Former Employee) –  Lemont, ILJuly 18, 2017
People make the difference, company provided great benefits, strong 401K and pension. Received yearly bonus. Citgo is dedicated to providing charity to those in need,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience
Mechanic Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 12, 2017
I assisted with maintaining the store inventory
I provided custodial maintenance services to keep up the cleanliness of the store.
I assisted mechanics with tire work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Service Manager / Shop Foreman (Current Employee) –  Lowell, MAJuly 11, 2017
Citgo is a wonderful company and strives for customer satisfaction. They offer great gasoline and job opportunities that will excel you both personally and professionally.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work with
Representative (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MIJuly 10, 2017
Not a very busy place to work, but I enjoy the managers I have and the job is simple. I love that we leave on time every night and do tastings so I can try new things. Great place to work!!!
Pros
Fun, coworkers are awesome
Cons
No employee discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work on
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hapeville, GAJune 29, 2017
pay scale is low . risk involve . friendly atmosphere. no overtime .cash payment. no tax been paid . corrupted business man.dont care about employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Citgo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 285 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5