City Centre Employee Reviews

Showing all 27 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a nice place to work
Night Porter (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, CambridgeshireFebruary 2, 2017
- Dealing with guests all day and meeting their needs;
- I personally learned to be more proactive and developed my English language skills;
- Management is a plus, you can count on them in everything;
- Very respectful of any people's background;
- The hardest part of my job is that you always work on night shifts basis;
- The most enjoyable part of this job is that there's no rushing while working on night because almost all the guests are in their rooms and you can work quietly.
Pros
Meals on duty
Cons
Working always on night basis
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing Pressure
Cocktail Bartender (Current Employee) –  Leeds, West YorkshireJanuary 30, 2017
The Bar is always a pressurised situation, all the bartenders are big characters and i had to adapt to accommodate everyone's working attitude and ability's. I was expected to be multi serving multiple customers and be confident in the full cocktail menu and specifications. I had to open a full station of the bar and ensure i had everything i needed to carry out my role as well as shutting down the bar as well. My favourite part of the job is the customers, i find it easy to chat to people and build a rapport and love the bar industry because its such a sociable industry, constantly i was praised for my ease at dealing with customers. The hardest part of the job was the problems that arose from the bars young existence, we are constantly faced with new challenges from running out of essential glassware to altering Par levels and other challenges new bars face in the early months.
Pros
Great luxury atmosphere
Cons
Long hours, no downtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Supervisor Logo (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West MidlandsJanuary 27, 2017
the city center is fun full of culture and the night life is just as colurful as the day time weather you like food the arts or just like to be enetertainted you'll definetly finds something
Pros
cheap
Cons
never sleeps
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work Learning enviroment
Driver (Current Employee) –  Cape Town, Western CapeJanuary 4, 2017
I loved getting along with everyone, and learning new things about the company. Diversity inspires me to work harder and contribute to the growth of the company.
Pros
Food perks
Cons
Long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hotel Operator
Hotel Operator (Former Employee) –  BrightonApril 11, 2016
Fun, Busy fast paced environment.
What I learned is different backgrounds, religion and culture.
I had fun with different types of people, a little hotel family running the show whilst enjoying each others company.
Pros
Meeting New People
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship history
Accounting intern at the CCFBA (Current Employee) –  Port Elizabeth, Eastern CapeMarch 31, 2016
Most of the time at the current job I do cash book. At the previous job I learned how to collect debtors in a polite way and to manage the debtors accounts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day at work
sales advisor (Former Employee) –  Manchester, ENGJanuary 23, 2016
During my time at work I was on the phones and giving Customers good customer service also helping them claim back PPI. I was Very polite and helpful and always hard-working. I was always well mannered on the phone and reliable during my time at work.
The hardest Part of my job was when i got people on the phone that were not happy with our service and kept swearing at me and had to deal with it.
The most enjoyable part of the job was speaking to nice customers who have a nice chat with you and people you can help claim back.
I learned how to become more confident on the phone and learnt how to deal with people who were not happy.
Pros
Lunch time
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Road sweeper/van driver/litter picker (Current Employee) –  Canterbury City CentreJanuary 13, 2016
great company to be a part of i learnt many of skills from this job.
some days could be long and hard but i enjoyed this the most.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love to work hard
megabowl (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ENGNovember 22, 2015
I would love to work for a good company like yourselves as I like to work hard and like to get to know the team I will be working along side off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Assistant
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  PakistanAugust 12, 2015
 Greeting customers who enter the shop.
 Involve in stock control and management.
 Assisting shoppers to find the goods and products they are looking for.
 Responsible for processing cash and card payments.
 Stocking shelves with merchandise.
 Answering queries from customers.
 Reporting discrepancies and problems to the supervisor.
 Giving advice and guidance on product selection to customers.
 Balancing cash registers with receipts.
 Dealing with customer refunds.
 Keeping the store tidy and clean, this includes hovering and mopping.
 Responsible dealing with customer complaints.
 Working within established guidelines, particularly with brands.
 Attaching price tags to merchandise on the shop floor.
 Responsible for security within the store and being on the look out for shoplifters and fraudulent credit cards etc.
 Receiving and storing the delivery of large amounts of stock
 Keeping up to date with special promotions and putting up displays
Pros
free lunches
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admin Data Entry
IT - Data Base Computer Operator (Current Employee) –  Erbil KurdistanJuly 14, 2015
using a variety of software packages, such as Microsoft Word, Outlook,Excel, Logistics etc., to produce correspondence and documents and maintain presentations, records, spreadsheets and databases;
devising and maintaining office systems;
using content management systems to maintain and update websites and internal databases;
attending meetings, taking minutes and keeping notes;
managing liaising with staff in other departments and with external contacts;

sorting and distributing incoming post and organising and sending outgoing post;
organising and storing paperwork, documents and computer-based information;
photocopying and printing various documents, sometimes on behalf of other colleagues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Taxi Driver (Former Employee) –  Warszawa, MZJune 11, 2015
I usually start in the morning or afternoon a and I was working for about 8 hours. I liked a contact with customers and I had a lot of good friends in my work.
Pros
free bust travels
Cons
diffrent duties
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target summary
Seasonal Target Team Member (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONMarch 24, 2015
Met new people made new friends.
learned to work as a team members
most enjoyable part of the day was when i helped out customers with their questions
excellent co workers
hardest part of the job was that its fast paced and youre always on your feet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Job
Rickshaw Driver (Current Employee) –  DublinFebruary 10, 2015
It is my job to bring people to different establishments around the City Centre.
The other drivers and I operate as a small business as such, we collaborate together on prices and special offers that we would offer to the public.
I have had to learn good navigation skills, business acumen, negotiation skills and the ability to attract customers to my services being offered.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i learned a lot from crowne plaza
Chef de Partie (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ENGJanuary 22, 2015
cook for 80 people ala carte 3 course on a Sunday evening my own with out any complaints
learned lot about cooking
very helpful
very responsible
doing breakfasat after a late shift
staff and management are very helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Friendly Work Place
Car Wash Attendant (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurrayDecember 11, 2014
This company is very productive and friendly work place. The management are very supportive in each employees. Co-workers are very nice and discipline. They have a work shift scheduled in day to day basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and good
Office Admin Worker (Former Employee) –  Cardiff, WLSMay 21, 2014
it was fun working for them, really liked the managment, i learned that to get to a goal you have to work very hard
Pros
it was in town
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it
(Modern Apprenticeship), Stansted Airport (Former Employee) –  stansterd aiportFebruary 15, 2014
i loved it airport meet diffent people everyday ans diffent storts you here was amzing and meet england foot bal team working airport is on of my favert memorys i will never forget
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many long hours, never enough money. Commission
Motion Marketing (Former Employee) –  PlymouthJanuary 7, 2014
i never did enjoy this job, way to many long days n hours and working only on commission i didn't really earn anything. Door to door sales, involve a team of people walking the streets and knocking on peoples doors for charity. i personally dont answer the door when it comes to having people like that knocking on my doors, so when i has to do it for my job role, i wasnt too happy.
Pros
Fresh air.
Cons
long days.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Superb College
Student(M.S.W- HRM) (Former Employee) –  Chennai, TNJuly 31, 2013
More Enjoyable

Difficult to handle the People

enjoyed doing Street play
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City Centre. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8