Find companies:
City College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
40 reviews

City College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
Student Assistant (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAMay 14, 2014
Work was steady, learning was consistent, my co-workers were team players.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay place
Instructor of Sociology (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLMarch 20, 2014
As an adjunct I was kept out of the loop quite a bit. I was not informed about duties or how I would be paid. The students are very welcoming, but the staff...not so much
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could've been better
College Assistant for Tech Center Campus (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 8, 2014
The contracts the college has with the union for the college assistants is to throw the students under the bus. Alot of office politics and nepotism is everywhere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun setting. Never a quite moment
Financial Aid Assistant (Former Employee), Moore, OKFebruary 18, 2014
Student were the best part of working there. Always kept me on my toes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful Learning Environment
Registrar/Designated SEVIS Officer (Current Employee), Miami, FLJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: great learning environment, helping others
Cons: no room for advancement
A typical day at work is fast paced, high energy job. You have to always be ready for what comes through the door. It can be employees or students. I have learned to listen to people and be willing to be helpful. The hardest part of the job is helping understand the policies and procedures. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping others achieve – more... their goals and dreams. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work study
Career Center Assistant (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: time
Cons: non
as a student attending school there, i got the opportunity to work at my own pace. the most important aspect was my schooling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good opportunities to learn
student peer adviser (Former Employee), Santa Barbara, CADecember 30, 2013
working as part time student worker.
I was respected and promoted eventually. I learned on both customers side and management side. CO-workers are very nice and support each other. The hardest part was the heavy duty work of new student orientation time.
the most enjoyable part of this job is that I had a very nice boss and made a lot of friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top heavy management; unorganized
employee (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLDecember 14, 2013
If you're looking for a career in post-secondary education, keep on looking. The management here is largely unorganized, unaccountable, and unseen. During my employment, I never received any directives from my supervisor and was given the impression that my job function was not a priority. As other posters have said, money making appears to be the driving – more... force behind this school. I also witnessed various unethical practices school-wide. I was compensated fairly for my education and work experience, but unfortunately I never really put any of it to use, as the educational culture is more on par with a middle school than an academic college or university. I am truly surprised this organization is still in business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Atmosphere
Department Academic Chair (Current Employee), Altamonte Springs, FlNovember 17, 2013
Pros: i am not micro managed
Cons: long hour days
My typical day includes counseling students to remain in school. I produce quality resumes for job placement for students and graduates. I am multitasking and completing over 12-14 hour days on salary. The hardest part of my job are the long hours uncompensated. I enjoying helping students that needs help with reaching quality goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked as a Robotics Software Research Aide..
ROBOTICS LAB SOFTWARE RESEARCH AIDE (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 12, 2013
I worked in the Robotics Lab. I spend most of the time doing minor research on robotics software and I helped other grads students in software development in C++. The hardest part of my job was to understand and develop complex algorithms, especially when I started the job. The most enjoyable part of the job was coding, it was a lot of fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great College
ADJUNCT FACULTY (Current Employee), Altamonte Springs, FLSeptember 20, 2013
Pros: personal and professional enjoyment
Cons: na
Love my students. CC is a great company to work for. I have been Adjunct Faculty there for over twelve years, teaching usually morning classes in both Business and General Education courses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended as a place to work or go to school.
Medical Assisting Program Coordinator (Former Employee), Gainesville, FLSeptember 17, 2013
Pros: small college with family atmosphere.
Cons: untrustworthy management, ethics are questionable, profits over results, poor morale. unrealistic expectations of staff. insufficient work place preparation for students.
Profit making is the overall thrust of this company without sufficient regard for how they are destroying the financial future of most of the students who go through the college. The expectations of management are unrealistic and the course instruction is on balance insufficient to prepare most students for the work place. Trustworthiness of management – more... is very low as is the overall morale of the work environment. This company has a poor reputation in the surrounding community and as long as profits are the priority instead of consistent student success in the work place, the reputation will continue to slide. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers
Assistant Director of Financial Aid (Current Employee), fort lauderdaleSeptember 5, 2013
Everyone is part of the team and play a major role for the department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High level of productivity
Bursar (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 11, 2013
Cons: short breaks
Everyone at the front of the office worked the most, while others sat around. Very laid back office. No micromanaging. You were given a task and expected to finish with reasonable time. Flexible in terms of scheduling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse Place Ever
Department Chair, Surgical Technology (Former Employee), Altamonte Springs, FLJuly 6, 2013
Not an ethical place to work. They expected all members of management to lie to students, I refused to do so.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student job
Receptionist (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 26, 2013
no perks... part time hours get cut a lot. cultrally its diverse but other than that its just a job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct Instructor in Allied Health Department
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee), Gainesville, FLFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: i love to teach
Cons: the compensation was not on par with typical local agencies
I provided assistance to the Allied Health Department shortly after receiving my MBA. I was able to teach students entering the healthcare field about medical record review, electronic medical records and the importance of documentation within the record.

I was also tasked with teaching students looking to obtain their coding certificates. Inpatient – more... and Outpatient coding positions are very important within the healthcare field; I was able to teach the theory and application of medical record coding.

The only downside to this position was that it felt as though some students didn't have their heart in it. I was very lucky to have students who were attentive and very much wanted to learn so they, in turn, could obtain a position within their field after graduation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CITY COLLEGE, FLORIDA
Program Director (Former Employee), FloridaDecember 30, 2012
"Caveot Emptor" Let the buyer beware.....

My tenure at City College was tainted by a blatant disregard for academic expectations in favor of student retention supported by unethical practices.

.,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
comfortable and welcoming environment. The office in which i worked in was very tidy. My desk was very spacious, neat and well organized.
Inter/administrative assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 19, 2012
Pros: half of my transportation was covered, sometimes lunch was on the house.fr
Cons: breaks wasn't long enough
My daily work routine consisted of me organizing students assignments, exams, finals, and other extra credit work completed.
I also monitored and updated students daily progress based on information given to me by higher head of staff members.
I also made sure attendance for every student given was accurate.

Working for City College I was able to learn – more... the importance of having all my documents organized.
I was also able to learn how to type up Brochures, School events etc. by using the Imac application format.

Management at The City College of New York was very proffessional and strict. Though little personal conversation were made every now and then, once theres was an abundance of work to be done, work was always priority.Which i didn't mind at all because i knew exactly what was required of me. Tardiness was not tolerated, infact managenent was not a fan of late comers on the job.

My co-workers were of a highly mature nature, dilligent workers everyone stuck to their daily task. highly focused individuals in which their attitude and great sense of work ethic led me to great accomplishments on the job.

The hardest part of my job was having to deal with hundreds of student applications a day, and making sure everything was close to perfection individually.

The most enjoyable part of this job was me being able to make errands to all 6 different buildings the campus consisted of. i absolutely enjoyed exploring the many different building this school Campus had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Putting students to work in their field of study was a rewarding career
Career Assistance and Development Director (Former Employee), Gainesville, FloridaOctober 28, 2012
Pros: assisting students in getting employment
Cons: not enough hours in the day to serve
Everyday was different from the day before, I learned how to work with people and served their needs for school, I sat on the management team over a ten year period, coordination with other departments was a key to success, assisting students with background records was the hardest part of the job, receiving a thank you from students was the most rewarding – more... experience. – less