City Hospital Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work pace, friendly enviroment
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee), Martinsburg, WVJune 26, 2015
friendly environment with a desire to provide excellent health care. always growing within the field. work and home life balance was excellent with flexibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work environment
Nursing Manager Pre-Op/PACU/Lithotripsy (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOMarch 27, 2015
Excellent nursing retention and professional development. Good quality outcomes in patient care. Challenging environment for nursing leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, positive environment
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), North Kansas City HospitalMarch 23, 2015
Assist Registered Nurse in daily care of Oncology patients. Staff was always willing to help others. Hardest part of job is when a patient passes away. On the Oncology floor you really get to know your patients and their families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something to learn
Nurse Tech (Former Employee), North Kansas City MOFebruary 20, 2015
Pros: close to home
Cons: some of the co-workers did not like to get along
Like that everyday was different I learned something new everyday. Management needed to be more of a boss and not to be your friend. Good hours to fit my family needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ready for new job new work environment and people
Central Services Technician (Current Employee), MoJanuary 24, 2015
Pros: breaks and lunch benifits, pto, paid vacation
Cons: management, daily work out on body, lots of walking.
Typical work day including cleaning hospital equipment, charging out and crediting supplies to different departments in the hospital. Filling out the backup carts for nurses to use in the hospital . I – more... learned about how the hospital works and the environment and how upbeat and quick we work to get the job done daily. Management is OK but in my opinion not very good at communicating ideas to everyone in department. I get along with all my coworkers but i am ready to meet new faces and names. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City Hospital
Dr. Spec. Obstetrics and gynecology (Current Employee), FerizajNovember 25, 2014
 In charge of final indications for operative intervention
 Taking care of all complicated cases in the DU
 Taking care of complications in the OR
 Management of staff, responsible for team work organization – more...
 Responsible for diagnosis and treatment of hospital patients
 Prenatal diagnosis and treatment, regular ultrasound, management of high risk pregnancies
 Final decision making in all high risk cases
 All obstetric operative inter-ventions
 Operative gynecology
 Colposcopy
 Ultrasound – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring and nurturing employees
Housekeeping Staff (Former Employee), Martinsburg, WVSeptember 2, 2014
When working as a housekeeper at City Hospital, I saw various types of emergency situations on a daily basis. As an employee working around these situations, I had to concentrate on getting my job done – more... to accommodate those coming into the ER. The hardest part of the job was seeing the loved ones who followed the victims, some of them not knowing if they were going to leave or have to stay. The best part of my job was getting to work around the intelligent doctors and nurses who treated me as an equal and helped save people in any way they could. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Arduous work sometimes fun long hours decent benefits
Grounds Maintenance Irrigation Specialist (Current Employee), MOAugust 4, 2014
Pros: the money and some of the people
Cons: no lunch and no guaranteed breaks excessive hours
A typical day was a straight eight or twelve hours. the work was physically demanding your position when promoted was not secure you could be bumped down at a moments notice by your crew foreman without – more... reason. Some of my co-workers were great and would help and guide and some weren't. Working twelve hour shifts seven days a week for months without suffering from burnout or exhaustion. most enjoyable was some of the people made it a great place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Workplace with friendly coworkers
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), KSJuly 1, 2014
Pros: clean and professional work environment.
Cons: no breaks
North Kansas City Hospital is a professional work environment, and most co workers are friendly. Home Health is very busy, and a wonderful place to work if you do not care to have life outside of this organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), KSMay 8, 2014
Enjoyed my coworkers and a nice learning environment. Pay was decent and management was nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exhausting
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), KSApril 10, 2014
Pros: co-workers are to work with
Cons: everything else, most days you barely even get to eat
While I loved taking care of the patients, the nurses were overworked and way underpaid. This is the lowest paying hospital. If you bring about a complaint to management, you are more likely to lose your – more... job or receive some sort of punishment. The nurses themselves are great to work with. Everyone bands together to help each other out. On days when the patient census is high and there are not enough nurses, upper management brings around gives each nurse a piece of candy. Most of the time it would upset the nurses because we felt like we were being treated like children. They refuse to listen to the concerns and ignoring anything the nurses have to say. Instead they just bring around more candy! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nurse care mananger
Nurse Care Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 31, 2014
Pros: nurse care mananger
Cons: healthcare
Provide support and supervision to order staff and coordinate all care efforts while acting as the primary point.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly,productive environment.
Registered Nurse, Medical/ Surgical (Former Employee), Martinsburg, WVMarch 12, 2014
City Hospital was one of my best jobs,the staff,patients and families usually was warm and friendly.A typical day was busy,and productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working with patients and coworkers
floor nurse (Former Employee), NKCHJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: cafeteria, pto
Cons: insurance doesn't pay like it use to
Pleasant atmosphere , great team of workers from housekeeping to nursing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See Resume
Maintenance Technician/ Painter (Former Employee), Martinsburg, WVNovember 2, 2013
Performed maintenance of mechanical systems, such as; kitchen conveyor belts, gas stoves, plumbing, heating, ventilating, air conditioning, boiler and chiller systems, automatic temperature control, and – more... electrical systems. Daily work orders for a variety of skilled duties in one or more of the hospital’s trades, such as painting, carpentry, cement masonry, dry wall and other recognized crafts for the purpose of maintaining, repairing and remodeling all facilities – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well staffed and plenty of equipment to work with and care for the patients.
staff nurse (Former Employee), KSSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: great supervisory staff.
Cons: very, very busy hospital, difficult to care for all of them in a timely manner.
I did general nursing care for the 'over-flow' of patients on several different units.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with, management and team members
Security Representative (Former Employee), KSJuly 21, 2013
Pros: great place to work, very creative and caring team members
Cons: working with combative patients in the er and mental health
Ensuring the safety of staff, patients, traffic control with life flights
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good staff to work with, each RN helps out the other rn's.
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Martinsburg, WVMay 5, 2013
Pros: staff management, meetings.help when you asked for it.
Cons: heavy patient loads early in the day.
This was the best hospital I ever worked in and I worked in the hospital setting for 40 years! Everyone works together. We maintained excellent Press Gainy scores and always received lots of praise for – more... our care.
I learned it was fun to go to work, everyone helped you learn new things.
Management did their job and even pitched in to help with patient care when the load was heavy.
Hardest part of the job was catering to each MD's whims.
Most enjoyable was sending a recently operated on patient home with a smile on their face and gratitude in their eyes! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bodton City Hospital
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), MAMay 5, 2013
ONE big happy familey. I got all my training there.OLD SCHOOL
Managment. all for one, and one for all.Together, Seeing someing new for the frist time DEATH.That was hard for the frist time.
Learnd to talk about what was going on .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to spread your wings
Nursing Interen (Former Employee), North Kansas City, MOApril 30, 2013
Pros: good employer with exceptional potential
Cons: hard to get a job if you are trying to get back on.
Gave me my first chance at nursing when I was offered a intership position which gave me the opportunity to really get my feel for nursing while I was in nursing school. Loved every minute of working at North Kansas City Hospital.