City and County of Honolulu, HI

City and County of Honolulu, HI Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
CEO Program (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIOctober 11, 2015
Working for the city and county of Honolulu was fun.
I learned data entry, and basic clerical work. I became close with my supervisor and my manager, they were excellent at keeping up with things. My co-workers were very polite and helpful, and they would always help me learn new and easy ways to get my job done fast and better. The hardest part of my job was leaving, and the most enjoyable part of it was being able to help troubled youth and help organize activities and fundraisers to better the youth build program.
Pros
learned new things
Cons
leaving too soon
Was this review helpful?Yes14No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Computer Operator II/Help Desk (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HISeptember 26, 2015
Great place to work and interact with end users. Test your problem solving skills. Opportunities to learn new skills and improve your knowledge.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work. Very little pressure. I was my own boss.
Construction Inspector (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJuly 9, 2015
This is a pleasant place to work but salaries are extremely low however there are plenty of holidays and vacation days available to everyone
Pros
Pleasant atmosphere. High morale.
Cons
Low salaries
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away.
Engineering Technician V (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HI.March 22, 2015
Unless you are a highly educated professional, you should pass on working for the City and County of Honolulu. I have been employed there for many years and all you'll get is a lot of stress, have to pay out a lot of money for health care and little to no support from your superiors.
Pros
Cheap parking rates.
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
daily
Laborer (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJanuary 14, 2015
every day is diferent different tak different crew members
Was this review helpful?Yes11No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Program Assistant (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJuly 11, 2014
Resolve situations between teens. Plan activities for teens. Be role models to teens. I learn that even teens have problems with homework or not getting along with other teens. Hardest part is when teens use violence for solving their problems and trying to them down. Fun part is interacting with them.
Pros
connecting with other people
Cons
can be stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State Job
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJuly 1, 2014
It is a state job so there are great long term benefits. Working here part time is great for students who need to have flexible work schedules.
Pros
benefits
Cons
low paying
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Gym Attendant (Former Employee) –  Waipahu, HIMay 7, 2014
Ensure a clean and safe environment for the public use of the gym facilities, such as the gym, boxing room, multi-purpose rooms, park fields, etc. Provide customer service for permit users, such as collecting money, issuing permits to sign, provide guideline rules forms, and opening/ closing rooms for permit users. Issue basketball equipment to the public. Open/close multipurpose rooms for permit users
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Environment
Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Wahiawā, HIApril 23, 2014
Co-workers are super friendly. Patrons are friendly and social. Not much work to be done other than lifeguard surveillance. Pool is not consistent in open hours.
Pros
nice hours
Cons
unreliable work days due to closures
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse assignments
Clerk Typist (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJanuary 25, 2014
There were many different tasks that needed to be completed. Following an outlined structure kept order in operations. Leaders showed compassion and respect to civilian staff.
Pros
full-time, good healthcare benefits, opportunities to work overtime
Cons
office gossip can cause unnecessary/unwarranted consequences
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Works day for a Works pay
Engineering Support Technician II (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJanuary 14, 2014
Due to the short duration I cant give a great deal of detail however it did open my eyes to almost every part of a contractors work from reviewing plans to installation of flooring, counters, electrical work, site maintenance and equipment maintenance. None of it was hard mentally but physically could be demanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Payroll Clerk (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIAugust 7, 2013
Answering emails, phone calls. Posting overtime slips. Verify timecards with hours claimed. Handling pay discrepencies for officers.
I also took on this job to learn and grow within an accounting environment. My co-workers and management were the best I could hope to lean under.
The hardest part was learning military time. All shifts had different pay scales, all on military time.
The most enjoyable part was the interaction with my officers and
co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay/Benifits/Overtime
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJuly 25, 2013
Good work/Minimal Supervision/ good workers/ room for advancment/all overtime you want
Pros
overtime
Cons
under public eye 24/7
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Aid 2
Summer Fun Aid I (Former Employee) –  Pearl City, HawaiiFebruary 27, 2013
Same as Summer Aid 2. Fun co-workers and great place to work while having fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere/ culture
Recreational Aide (Former Employee) –  Waimānalo, HIJuly 7, 2012
While employed here, I was very satisfied with the way things were run and very happy with the balance of things personally and business wise. I have had the best supervisors and management and they allowed me to grow with this company with little to no trouble at all. Overall great company to work for.
Pros
access to the park and it's facilities and excellent management
Cons
heavily underfunded
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.9
Culture
3.9

City and County of Honolulu, HI Reviews by Location