City of Alexandria Employee Reviews

Found 57 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is an okay place to work depending on your department
Residential Counselor / ID specialist (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAJune 13, 2017
Alexandria is an alright place to work depending on your department. easy to fill out applications .Love my supervisor , great leader ,humble and will help
Pros
easy steps for job seekers
Cons
easy steps to fill out a job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Fiscal Officer (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAJune 8, 2017
The most enjoyable part of my job is working with numbers. Numbers make sense.

I love working with people and learning more every day.

Financial world is where I would like my whole carrier to be!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical government
Administrative Analyst (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAMay 30, 2017
Management is more interested in working with what they can (firing and hiring are complicated) than fixing what needs to be fixed. Career paths are possible if it's related to what they have.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Government mediocrity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work experience
Laborer/Driver (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAMay 27, 2017
This job was a good learning experience for me I was able to obtain this position with little to no experience in the furniture business. My co-workers as well as my supervisor were eager to teach me everything they knew about retail.
Pros
all the overgtime we wanted
Cons
schedule always changed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Working area good coworkers
Account Clerk III (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAMarch 29, 2017
Good work area.Coworkers were good .limited advancement. Like helping customers with tax questions. Busy environment. Some new every day
To learned about tax payers, customer services,and computers systems.
Pros
Good work enviroment
Cons
Limited advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was able to learn different equipments and do different job positions
Finance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAFebruary 15, 2017
The city of Alexandria was a great place to work. I was able to code, learn about and train on real estate, and programming. Every day was something new and old but always learning. Very dressed professional people teaching the residents and commercial residents how to do things in their city, the pro's and con's, what they need to do, how to do it, and what time and date to do it on or before time, while making them happy and knowing their rights. The enjoyable part of the job was knowing that everyone known what to do and where to go to get it done.
Pros
Government opportunities
Cons
Being a temp and not permanent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Go for long time employment if your comfortable in one place dont want exceed and just want to be employed
Fleet Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, LANovember 14, 2016
Its okay job no advancement if relocating in other departments. Could loose money per hourly pay and health care stay going up.
Cons
City counsile has to approve raises for entire city departments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working environment
Recreation Leader (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAAugust 12, 2016
You'd first prepare the sign in sheets for the children before they enter the recreation center. Once they've all been signed in you'd have them complete any homework assignments they'd have as other staff members prepare their daily snack. Once snacks have been served, you'd get the kids active with a couple group games and top the evening off with free play if time permits.
Pros
fun and relaxed work environment
Cons
little work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work
frot desk (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAJune 1, 2016
Great place to work for a student of part time work. Co-worker are helpful. Management are help full. If you like kids than this is a place for you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized Administration
Youth Counselor (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, LAMay 15, 2016
Working with kids as a student worker is rewarding. The problems are unnerving and stem from lack of communication, which is any job. It is all about what you make of it.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
communication with higher ups are the worst
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptionally Diverse
Residential Counselor (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAApril 23, 2016
Well structured.

Opportunistic.

Geographically positioned in a Tri-Sate Mid Atlantic area.

Well established outpatient residential facilities with attributable residential , day program, case management, and crisis intervention services.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Records Clerk/Manager (Former Employee) –  301 King St., 4200April 11, 2016
City of Alexandria Department care about their customers. safety of the city and the staff. Customers are pleased with standards and principles used to by the city to ensure he customer service and assistance by the city.
Pros
15 minute breaks, acknowledgement of staff birthdays, and provide appreciation for staff
Cons
parking needed for city employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Government Job for small town
Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, LAMarch 21, 2016
Normally, I just come in and take care of work order for people having problems with Outlook getting their email. Reset locked in accounts. Creating new accounts in Active Directory and Exchange. Maintain firewalls and all network routers and switches through our Extreme Networks suite. I virtually did not know much about the IT side of things before this job, but I have learned so much. My manager is great to work for, he doesn't have to check on me much as he trust what I do. My coworkers are great.
Pros
Easy atmosphere to work in.
Cons
Not enough staff when things go wrong. Pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Therapist/Clinical Recovery Coach (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAJanuary 17, 2016
A typical day involved meeting with clients and helping them adjust to housing and medication management. I worked well with coworkers and really enjoyed teaching clients responsibility for success.
Pros
Reaching the clients
Cons
Clients leaving the facility and returning to homelessness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to day operation
Traffic Operations Technician (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VANovember 2, 2015
Oversee contractors on new installation of traffic signal or upgrade on existing traffic signal in the City. Also, locate utilities for all signalized intersection.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New blood needed
Human Resources Manager (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAOctober 6, 2015
Would be a great place to work if the long-term employees who either aren't keeping up with technology or the market would retire; the new blood could whip the City into shape and become and employer of choice.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture
Adminitrative Officer I (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAAugust 25, 2015
The City of Alexandria is a great place to work, the people are friendly, the culture is unique, and there is always something to learn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was very good
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  301 King St. Alexandria, Va.August 15, 2015
The day to day work was very good. You kept busy and it made the day go by faster. We made various repairs at the Court House, City Hall, some libraries and other government buildings. It was hard work but the people I worked with were great.
Pros
Work was steady and fun
Cons
When they want you gone, they do everything they can to make it happen
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They only Hire Black Peoples!!
IT Support Engineer (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAJune 15, 2015
Very hard work if you work as a contract and I didn't learned anything. Management is very poor and they don"t noticed hard work at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring
Trades Helper (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, LAMay 24, 2015
Work wa slow most of the time. minimum training. got along with co workers. minimum training not enough to keep busy good hours
Pros
good benefits
Cons
borring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Alexandria. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 59 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5

City of Alexandria Reviews by Location