City of Allen Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my job.
Planning Technician/CDGB Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Allen, TXSeptember 1, 2017
Enjoyed my job. Could have used more help. Too much focus on having a degree, and not enough on years of experience. Some staff hired because of degree, but are incompetent.
Pros
Challenging and my manager.
Cons
Dress Code to strict
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Allen, TXJuly 31, 2017
Everyone is so nice and helpful. Everyone gets along and is serious about helping the people of the city of Allen. Management is understanding and respectful.
Pros
coworkers, office environment
Cons
none that I can think of
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet job scene.
City Clerk (Current Employee) –  Allen, KYJune 30, 2017
A typical day at work includes checking the mail at the post office, answering any phone calls that may come through, and faxes as well. I help anybody that comes into city hall the best that I can. I yearly participate in the cities pride clean up.
Pros
Quiet
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Seasonal Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Allen, TXJune 13, 2017
Its a great highschool job! A lot of responsibility throughout the day. There is a good chance to move up to head guard if you put your mind to it. The managers are all knowledgeable and run the place smoothly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
accounts payable
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Allen, TXMarch 22, 2016
very nice place to work in the beginning but management sucked and life work balance wasn't the best It could be. My co-workers were ok
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employee environment
Engineering Construction Inspector (Former Employee) –  Allen, TXMarch 9, 2015
Working for Allen was great. That let you excel if you so desired; offered fantastic benefits and education reimbursement. They always tried to make the employees feel important.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company Culture
Guest Services Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Allen, TXJanuary 5, 2015
I enjoyed working for the City of Allen. I was able to grow professionally and established excellent work and personal relationships with amazing people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun staff but poor Higher up management
Recreation Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Allen, TXNovember 4, 2014
Going in everyday i loved working with the staff, and kids but the lack of onboard training was hard to overcome.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy laid back job
Recreation Specialist I (Former Employee) –  Allen, TXOctober 6, 2014
Spend most of the day telling people that come in about the facility and what we have to offer. Let them know the prices. Sell memberships and work out classes to people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work
Head Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Allen, TXAugust 29, 2014
Do not agree with the direction they are going in. They are no longer acting as a service and they no longer care about their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this place!
Guest Service Staff (Former Employee) –  Allen, TXAugust 5, 2014
This is a great place to work. Love the city and everything about working for them. Would go back!
Pros
All
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must have great multitasking skills
Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Allen, TXMay 6, 2014
Taking calls from citizens
Dispatching Fire/EMS/Police
Completing reports
Training new staff
Working closely with co-workers/Teamwork! Teamwork! Teamwork!
Hardest part of my job is injury to officer, death of a child or injury crashes
Most enjoyable part of my job is knowing that everyday when I leave I made a difference.
Pros
Strong Communication Skills; Great multitasking experience
Cons
Can be extremely stressfull
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Senior guard (Current Employee) –  Allen, TXSeptember 20, 2013
Safety and rules are very important with this company, so if you are looking for a place that runs by "the book" this is the place. Unfortunately management is horrible. Management is unqualified and only looks out for itself. I have experienced some horrible management but this management is the worst I have seen by far. I am quitting ASAP solely b/c of poor management. Other than that good place and lots of room to learn about aquatics.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice working environment; poorly managed unfortunately
Senior Guard (Current Employee) –  Allen, TXAugust 16, 2013
Very valuable work experience. It can be high-stress with rescue scenarios and drowning victims. However, we had frequent breaks to prevent on-stand exhaustion.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast-paced workplace with enjoyable people working together.
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Allen, TXSeptember 24, 2012
My days started at the shop. We learned to service all the mowers and equipment. Management had already set the schedules for the day, which we followed. Mowing various parks, weedeating and watering were a typical part of our day. After the day was finished, we would enjoy the comeraderie of the people we worked with while we were readying the machines and all the equipment for the next day.
Pros
freedom to do lots of different things
Cons
motor exhaust
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Allen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 16 reviews
57
45
34
20
10

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.5Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
4.0Culture

City of Allen Reviews by Location