City of Arlington Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to day basis
Landscape Technician (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXOctober 16, 2017
You always go and check every park in Arlington.Its pretty relaxing. You also get to do some projects in the parks. For example like Planting a tree or making a garden out of scratch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent way to begin working as a teenager.
Water Safety Instructor (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXSeptember 8, 2017
Its an excellent place to start working a job as a teenager to learn several life skills as well as work an actual job in preparation for a future after college.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for a teenager looking for work over the summer.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXAugust 15, 2017
The workload was not that big at all. The hours are great enough to give you time outside of work. Can get stressful if the capacity in the pool is reached since some customers outside get angry but other than that all around great job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my Managers
Action Center Agent (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXAugust 14, 2017
I held this job while finishing college and it was exactly what I needed.

My management team was great. They understood the importance of school and where extremely flexible with my schedule to ensure I balanced my load the right way..


Great times. Great Company... Great place to work

-TH
Pros
Flexible Schedule
Cons
No benefits for Part- Timers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn.
Stormwater Intern (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXJuly 31, 2017
It is a place where people can learn a lot and gather valuable experience. The work environment is simply great. The working spaces are more than adequate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for..
Traffic Operation's Technician (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXJuly 10, 2017
I started out worked in signs & markings 5 years .Advanced education moved into Traffic signal construction 5 years .Advanced education more went into Traffic signal Technician 10 years.Retired with City of Arlington 20 year mark.
Pros
Job security, Retirement
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It all depends
Analyst Part-Time (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXMay 15, 2017
The actual entity is a great place to work. Depending on who you are working for may vary in management. The culture is great. Mayor, council members and the management team provide good direction for the actual City and its employees who work for the City.
Pros
Allows for a flexible schedule
Cons
No benefits for Part-times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Inventory Auditor (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXMay 2, 2017
Check inventory and look at orders and preprare the product thats needed for the day. I larened how to management inventory and make sure the quality is insured. Management is good and an nive place to work. Not really a hard part. Most enyoyable part is the freedom
Pros
Good
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace swim days every thursday
Summer Camp Leader (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXNovember 9, 2016
wake up in the morning head to work do the morning daily routine of singing camp songs. Then we split the kids by age group and do summer activities. then we meet again that evening and do closing ceremony and the parents pick up their children by 6:30.Love my manager very relax environment.
Pros
flexible hours, fun field trips
Cons
miscommunication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and positive enviroment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXOctober 18, 2016
Worked as a CSA in a Tennis center. This was a great job with great employees and guest. My only complaint was that it was only part time or I would have stayed with this position longer. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. The pay was good and so were the benefits. I don't have one complaint about this company whatsoever.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about City of Arlington?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People. Great Place to Work.
Grants Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXJune 14, 2016
I was there in the Grants Department on a temporary assignment. I couldnt have asked for better people to work with. I learned alot and enjoyed my time there. I wish it would have continued.
Pros
Great atmosphere. Great People
Cons
Temporary Assignment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Rewarding, and Safe.
Streetlight Specialist (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXMay 12, 2016
Great City to work for. Great management and schedule. I was grateful for the opportunity to move up. Good people to build honest and meaningful work relationships that you can trust and count on.
Pros
401k, healthcare premium, good hours
Cons
poor insurance coverage, weather, physical tax
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive Workplace
PT Kennel Technician (Former Employee) –  Arlington TexasMay 10, 2016
My hardest part of the job was having to leave the animals everyday. There were a lot of politics when it came to the animal laws and having to properly take care of the animals. Great place to work if you're an animal lover but not so good if you do not like to deal with the gory side of things. It's a learning experience that I will never forget.
Pros
Learning something new everyday
Cons
Having to euthanize the sick or dangerous animals
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Supervision
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  City of Arlington, WAApril 20, 2016
I worked as a police officer for 15 years and was released from employment for making a poor decision regarding photos. I provided the Arlington Police Department with excellent leadership and work performance.
Pros
Working with the community
Cons
Leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good organization to work for (Arlington Police Department).
Patrol Assistant/Timekeeper (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXMarch 11, 2016
I truly enjoy working with the administrative team and the
police officers. We treat each other like family members
and strive to be of assistance in any situation.
Pros
The "family" atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, limitedless possibilities within the city, lots of red tape on the hiring end
Senior Clerk / Community Development and Planning (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXJanuary 27, 2016
Training Platform is great, employees are very helpful and willing to go the extra mile, my supervisor is very supportive of employees, there is some micro-management from upper management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Chief Auto Technician (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXOctober 25, 2015
Repair all types of city vehicles.
How a city repair shop operates.
Management very fair.
Co-work well trained hard working.
New technology.
It was enjoyable to solve vehicle problems.
Pros
Always alot work to do, very busy.
Cons
Job was outsourced
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Atmosphere
Meter Technician (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXSeptember 15, 2015
Like working here it stays busy and lots of hands on training that mostly like and I still have room to improve. Sometimes it can be laid back at times and sometimes it can be one of those days
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Coworkers, Agency always looking to improve the work culture
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXJuly 14, 2015
Fairly Regular turnover in Supervision however the workforce tends to stay onboard in spite of any changes with Council or City Management.
There always seems to be a desire to make improvements not just to the citizens of the city but also to the employees. This I believe is why people stay.
Great Retirement benefits, mediocre healthcare benefits.
Pros
Retirement Policy, coworkers
Cons
Hard to advance, mediocre healthcare, strict dress policy, nonexistent telecommuting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run from this place!!!
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Arlington,TXJuly 1, 2015
They are very unprofessional and there is no room for growth or any type of potential to move up in the company. Supervisors are a joke.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Arlington. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 47 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0

City of Arlington Reviews by Location