Find companies:
City of Austin
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
57 reviews

City of Austin Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Activity Specialist III (Former Employee), Austin, TXJanuary 16, 2015
• Promoted interest and implemented recreational activities for the City of Austin.
• Responsible for program implementation and scheduling of activities.
• Coordinated, transported and supervised participants before, during, and after activity.
• Identified problems, diagnosed causes and determined corrective actions.
• Adhered to monthly budget while maintaining a high standard of excellence.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good work environment.Safe work sites.
Facility Maintenance Manager (Former Employee), austin tx.January 14, 2015
Pros: benefits.
Cons: there wasnt any.
Very interesting with a family sense of employee inner action.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exclusively male dominant enviroment one learns coorporation, working together to complete projects. Summary: teamwork.
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee), Austin, TXDecember 30, 2014
As the only woman in the field office I found I could get much more accomplished with a smile, a joke, a positive comment than in other
offices I had worked. Management requires one to look beyond the
requirements, deadlines of the job but to bring staff together so we can work together and succeed. This job was a hoot to boot. Outstanding Employee was recognized at quarterly meetings with
food to share.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good starting point
Front Desk Attendant (Current Employee), AustinDecember 8, 2014
The jobs I held were fairly easy and accessible to almost anyone, the hardest part of my work day was addressing the public but even that can be handled with ease. The thing I did not like about it was the little to no room for advancement. The Bosses I have had were extremely supportive and there was an overall good moral of the work that we were doing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits!
Administrative Specialist (Former Employee), Austin TXNovember 18, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: traffic to headquarters
Great benefits working for the city of Austin and if you can find a place that is flexible with hours and teleworking it is a plus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady employment
Administrative (Former Employee), Austin, TXNovember 2, 2014
The city of Austin, while a great place to work with EXCEPTIONAL benefits lacks in one serious area. Pay. The pay an average city employee gets is not in line with what it takes to live in Austin.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HEAVY EQUIPMENT OPERATOR II
Heavy Equipment Operator II (Current Employee), Austin, TXSeptember 11, 2014
Responsible ensuring excellent customer service and satisfaction for those visiting Austin-Bergstrom International Airport. Innovate and implement strategies and plans to improve the customer experience using Excel and other Microsoft applications. Utilize and operate dump trucks, tractors, front end loaders, backhoes, and riding lawn mowers. Provide landscaping services and ensure the overall excellent appearance of ABIA. Maintain lawns, monitor and perform tree and shrubbery trimming and replacement, place compost and mulch as necessary. Administer pesticides to control pest populations and ensure healthy vegetation growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contantly Challenging in a positive way
Neighborhood Liaison (Former Employee), austin txAugust 8, 2014
Pros: meeting new people and making a positive difference in people's lives
Cons: challenges include working in inclimate weather at times
Help run Food Pantries in under-served, low income areas of the city. Partnership with the Food Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
receiving assigments in the morning and checking in equipment
Street and Bridge (Former Employee), Austin, TXAugust 7, 2014
Pros: enjoyed the worked i did
Cons: slow time and lack of pay
repair streets and paving alleys of central west austin and ut area
public works
ok
ok
having to work in the out doors eliments.
working outdoors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with animals
Animal Control Officer (Former Employee), Austin, TXAugust 5, 2014
Pros: great insurance
Drove around the City of Austin giving assistance to customers and anyone in need of Animal Rescue or relocation. Fun filled days with different experiences on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Strong work/life balance.
Office of the City Auditor (Former Employee), Austin, TXJuly 10, 2014
Pros: excellent pay and benefits
Cons: none.
The City of Austin is a great place to work. There is a great management team and City Council.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineering/Utility GIS mapping
AutoCAD Drafter (Former Employee), Austin, TXJuly 5, 2014
Pros: great gatherings
Cons: employees snooping on other employees lifes
Great work environment. Production, and data entry of new construction projects; water, wastewater, storm sewer plans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work!
Accountant Senior (Current Employee), Austin, TXJuly 1, 2014
I absolutely love my job. If we weren't moving I would never leave. Management is considerate of work/life balance and are such fun to work around. They strive to create an enjoyable work environment. Like all jobs there are some duties that can be mundane; however, there are plenty of opportunities to learn new skills if you try.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Work Enivornment
Solid Waste Services Intern (Former Employee), Austin, TXJune 14, 2014
Learned alot working there. Got the opportunity to meet the mayor for the City of Austin.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Employer
Emergency Operator (Former Employee), CTECCMay 26, 2014
Pros: consistent
Cons: overworked, very short lunch and minimal breaks from the phone
Was highly overworked and underpaid. Limited social interaction, which is typical of a call center.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Youth Employment
Clerical (Former Employee), Austin, TexasMay 20, 2014
I mostly worked as a youth. It was quite boring as a 14 year old through their youth program, but it paid well and I worked part time. I was at Dell's Children's Hospital. Hardest part was understanding the office lingo and staying awake.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ELECTRICAL DESIGNER/PROJECT MANAGER
Electrical Designer (Former Employee), Austin, TXMay 11, 2014
A TYPICAL DAY AT WORK INCLUDED MEETING WITH CONTRACTORS, LINEMAN, AND CITY OFFICIALS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace with great work/life balance.
Plan Review Coordinator (Current Employee), Austin, TXApril 5, 2014
Exciting public and customer interactions are a part of the daily job duties as well as plan review and stakeholder outreach. I am happy to be a part of this system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable government work always available
Senior Business Process Consultant (Current Employee), Austin, TXApril 2, 2014
Challenges include not being able to be heard by upper management, lack of accountability, and projects that start from nowhere and sometimes do not finish. Positives include extraordinary job security if you are smart, working on different and interesting projects, and an awesome stable work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I taught HTML and Digital photography.
Training Coordinator (Former Employee), Austin, TXMarch 8, 2014
Pros: worked with college students
Cons: part time job.
This was my first chance to show my teaching ability. I was an adjunct faculty member and as always seeing people succeed is always satisfying to me.

1 2 3