City of Baytown Employee Reviews

Showing all 31 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Human Resources Specialist (Promotion) (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXJuly 9, 2017
The benefits at the City of Baytown are great. The employer / employee engagement is good too. Being apart of the City is a great feeling.....you're a part of something!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environmental Health Specialist 11
Health Department Registered Sanitarian (Current Employee) –  Health DepartmentJune 7, 2017
As a Registered Sanitarian my daily activities focus on public health. The main job duties daily are to perform routine food establishment inspection to ensure state guidelines are being follow for proper handling of food for the consumer. In my 10 years of experience I have learned with the divers cultures in the work force today explaining the importance of public health and teaching establishments to proper guidelines to ensure safety. Working for the City of Baytown the management team is very knowledgeable in their fields and are good mentors with opportunities for grow and advancement in the workplace. The workplace is very friendly and always willing to help others and different departments. The hardest part of my job is establishment not willing to be incompliance and issuing citations for violations. The most enjoyable part of my job is customer service with establishments and citizens in the city of Baytown.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great City to work for
Library Technician (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXFebruary 6, 2017
For the most part the co-workers were great to work with. Like any company you have your pros and your cons. Sometimes the cons seemed more that the pros
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my time there
Receptionist, HR Assist, HR Specialist (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXDecember 14, 2016
I simply was ready for advancement and was not able to do this if I stayed. I was ready for a more advanced role with more responsibility. Although the benefits are very good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Utility Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXDecember 14, 2016
The City of Baytown is a great place to work. They are very friendly and very productive. They try and let everyone get to know each other so its easy to work with anyone there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work
HR Manager (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXOctober 14, 2016
Wonderful experience in multiple departments over close to 10 years. Great opportunities to develop and grow professionally. Leadership truly looks out for the interests of employees. Would love to return there someday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The program was very educational
ExxonMobil Summer Youth Program (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXOctober 5, 2016
On certain days we where taken to different locations around the city to become familiar with Baytown. My co-workers were kind and helpful. A family-like relationship was developed. There were no hard days.
Pros
Wonderful atmosphere
Cons
not enough hours were available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the atmosphere
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXAugust 17, 2016
My favorite library of all time. Worked well with all the staff. They have so many activities for the entire community and all age groups.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers and work environment.
Inspe (Current Employee) –  BaytownJuly 21, 2016
Great training opportunities, management appreciates good effort, and administration rewards employees often. Benefits are about average with other government agencies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and had fools ball table
Utility Maintence Tech (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXJune 1, 2016
clock in and wait for job assignment recieve assignment start work day finish work write ticket go home clock out also working in any weather
Pros
free lunch
Cons
work might consists of timely things
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
water park
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXNovember 16, 2015
Loved how organized they where and knew how to keep everyone organized but would have fun events after long days of work and keep employs happy and less un motivated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work with people of lots of knowledge
Utility Construction Foreman (Current Employee) –  Baytown, TXNovember 1, 2015
I enjoy working here just would like to pursue my degree. There is lots of opportunity for overtime and advancement. I will stay here till a chemical plant calls my name
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Maintenance Worker Level II (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 2, 2015
lots of hard work maintenance workers were required to clean park and maintain correct ph levels for pool. Learned a lot at this job site also how to work water pumps to keep pools filtering.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady employment
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Baytown, TXAugust 12, 2015
The job is steady, has no room for advancement, lacks proper consistent communication; along with excessive micro management makes for a stressful work environment.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
micro management, poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXJuly 21, 2015
This was a great place to work. Excellent benefits and pay, unfortunately there was not a lot of room for advancement at the time that I was employed here, but this was an excellent comapny.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and structured work environment.
Utility Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXJuly 13, 2015
Excellent place to work and excellent staff. Pay was satisfactory but slim chances for advancement while receiving satisfactory benefits.
Pros
Holidays off.
Cons
Weather conditions due to working outside.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to gain experience.
Park Caretaker (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXMay 24, 2015
This job provided excellent pay for a summer job, it would have been even better if I would have been employed with the city full time. All in all I still had an incredible time.
Pros
Meeting new and inspiring people on a consistent basis.
Cons
Short lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Old Boy Place
Deputy Director of Emergnecy Managment (Former Employee) –  BaytownMarch 12, 2014
If you're not a Good Old Boy and friends with the Emergency Management Director, The Assistant City Manager or finance Director you won't fit it. The Emergency Management Director claims to have a BS or BA but know one has ever seen his transcripts. That's probably why he is against having his AEM or CEM credential.
Pros
State Retirement
Cons
As mentioned above.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure job positions and great benefits.
Recreation Specialist (Current Employee) –  Baytown, TXFebruary 25, 2014
The Recreation Specialist Position for the City of Baytown is a secure position that offers great benefits, however there is no opportunity for advancement.

This position consists of greeting all customers who walk in as well as answering phone calls regarding facility rentals and special events. This position is also mainly responsible for planning and coordinating special events.

Communication, computer, and cash handling skills are a must for this position. Job tasks are often interrupted by customer walk-ins and calls, so organization and time-management are a must as well. One of the most undesirable tasks of this position is working with upset or undesirable customers.

The office personnel in the department of this position are fun, religious, and enjoyable people, however on a day-to-day basis, the office is usually very quiet among co-workers. Management is very laid-back and understanding. There is absolutely no micromanagement. The department as a whole is presented as a team, however there is strict job distinction/division within the office, and the position of the recreation specialist is the least desirable position.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Least Desirable Position within the Department
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hated it
Traffic control tech (Former Employee) –  Baytown TexasJanuary 2, 2014
no where to go and low pay, a very big brother place to work. i will never go back
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Baytown. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 31 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

City of Baytown Reviews by Location