City of Baytown Employee Reviews

Showing all 24 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and had fools ball table
Utility Maintence Tech (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXJune 1, 2016
clock in and wait for job assignment recieve assignment start work day finish work write ticket go home clock out also working in any weather
Pros
free lunch
Cons
work might consists of timely things
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers and work environment.
Inspe (Current Employee) –  BaytownJuly 21, 2016
Great training opportunities, management appreciates good effort, and administration rewards employees often. Benefits are about average with other government agencies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the atmosphere
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXAugust 17, 2016
My favorite library of all time. Worked well with all the staff. They have so many activities for the entire community and all age groups.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work with people of lots of knowledge
Utility Construction Foreman (Current Employee) –  Baytown, TXNovember 1, 2015
I enjoy working here just would like to pursue my degree. There is lots of opportunity for overtime and advancement. I will stay here till a chemical plant calls my name
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
water park
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXNovember 16, 2015
Loved how organized they where and knew how to keep everyone organized but would have fun events after long days of work and keep employs happy and less un motivated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady employment
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Baytown, TXAugust 12, 2015
The job is steady, has no room for advancement, lacks proper consistent communication; along with excessive micro management makes for a stressful work environment.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
micro management, poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Maintenance Worker Level II (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 2, 2015
lots of hard work maintenance workers were required to clean park and maintain correct ph levels for pool. Learned a lot at this job site also how to work water pumps to keep pools filtering.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and structured work environment.
Utility Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXJuly 13, 2015
Excellent place to work and excellent staff. Pay was satisfactory but slim chances for advancement while receiving satisfactory benefits.
Pros
Holidays off.
Cons
Weather conditions due to working outside.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXJuly 21, 2015
This was a great place to work. Excellent benefits and pay, unfortunately there was not a lot of room for advancement at the time that I was employed here, but this was an excellent comapny.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to gain experience.
Park Caretaker (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXMay 24, 2015
This job provided excellent pay for a summer job, it would have been even better if I would have been employed with the city full time. All in all I still had an incredible time.
Pros
Meeting new and inspiring people on a consistent basis.
Cons
Short lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed, long hours, civilian supervisors not always the best.
Officer (Former Employee) –  JailMarch 23, 2013
Despite the poor civilian supervisors, the job had a lot of great experience for a person trying to learn about police work. Shifts were always understaffed which made it hard to take time off. Supervisors don't communicate when something is wrong and needs to be corrected. Instead they spent their time as the eyes and ears of the police supervisor, but not giving insight or direction to make the job better.

Most of the jailers want to be cops, or are Baytown officers rejected from the FTO program. The wanna be officers where the supervisors and don't like the former officers.
Pros
great experience, ok pay, plenty of work.
Cons
no breaks, poor civilian leader ship, quick to get rid of people.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Old Boy Place
Deputy Director of Emergnecy Managment (Former Employee) –  BaytownMarch 12, 2014
If you're not a Good Old Boy and friends with the Emergency Management Director, The Assistant City Manager or finance Director you won't fit it. The Emergency Management Director claims to have a BS or BA but know one has ever seen his transcripts. That's probably why he is against having his AEM or CEM credential.
Pros
state retirement
Cons
as mentioned above.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work
Customer Service Representitive (Current Employee) –  Baytown, TXJuly 24, 2012
I've worked with the City of Baytown for a year and a half. The position is great, the management leaves something to be desired. I have learned a lot about customer service and have had the opportunity to cross train on some other positions.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent people to work for
Intern (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXAugust 23, 2012
Out of all the jobs this one is the greatest. I loved the people I worked with and made life long friendships. My supervisors were fair and wonderful people to work for.
Pros
my job involved fishing and birding, my two favorite hobbies
Cons
no insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experience
Assistant to Administration (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXJuly 18, 2013
The City of Baytown was a great learning experience. It gave me a real life sense of a busy work environment and helped me with my management and planning skills
Pros
experience
Cons
no benefits as intern
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Created Human Resources Department
Director of Human Resources/ Civil Service (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXAugust 22, 2012
Writing and implementing policies and procedures. Implemented Risk Management Department.
Pros
creativity and flexibility.
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful job just want to pursue my carrer
Utility Technician (Current Employee) –  Baytown, TXNovember 16, 2013
great job and learn lots of new things just ready to pursue my carrer and make lots more money
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an alright place to work.
Warehouse Helper (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXNovember 10, 2013
If you like something easy and steady then the City of Baytown is a good job just not much in salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always working in different places
Grade chief (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXOctober 2, 2012
was a fun job never at one place to long always meeting different people
Pros
nice work enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome!
Data entry (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXOctober 3, 2013
People are amazing, easy to work with, willing to help and train you. Enjoyed going to work everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

City of Baytown Reviews by Location