City Of Bloomington Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great summer job for those seeking to work outside
Seasonal Parks Laborer (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, ILMay 4, 2017
It was a very relaxed environment that allowed you to work outside while also getting 8 hours in in the summer. Great for high school kids looking for a summer job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City of Bloomington is a fantastic place to work!
Latino Outreach Programs Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INMarch 27, 2017
The culture at the City of Bloomington is great. I found my co-workers to be very positive and energetic. The management team was supportive and very involved.
Pros
Positive, upbeat culture.
Cons
Decisions can happen slowly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Inspector (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, ILMarch 2, 2017
The City of Bloomington has a great benefit package and is a great place to work. They are very flexible and understanding when situations arise that need to be dealt with.
Pros
Flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Internship (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INJanuary 10, 2017
I feel that is a great place to work and the workers are kind. It was fun to work there and the Bloomington Common Council is a great bunch of people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Park Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MNOctober 2, 2016
Great place to work. Worked there as an intern and learned a great amount of things. Got to do a wide variety of work and did not concentrate on just one thing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Seasonal Laborer (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, ILSeptember 27, 2016
The employees at the city are a great bunch of guys to work with. Learned the aspects of sign replacement and installation on city streets. Enjoyed working cold mix filling potholes.
Pros
opportunity to work outdoors and learn different things
Cons
Not currently hiring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working there.
Department Secretary (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, INAugust 22, 2016
The environment was relaxed and fun. The position comprised of scheduling rental inspectors for inspections. There was lots of phone work and front counter customer service. The hardest part of the job was when you were the only person answering the phone and counter. The most enjoyable part of the job is that we laughed a lot and had fun.
Pros
Relaxed environment
Cons
No down time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun experience with the children of Bloomington
Seasonal Youth Staff (Current Employee) –  Holiday Park Bloomington ILJanuary 20, 2016
Day camp required an early day but it was extremely well structured. My co workers helped make the long hot days pass with humor and support during rough days. Management always worked to supply needed goods or information and often backed you up on your decisions. The hardest part was working with kids who were forced to attend by their parents and therefore did not give the camp a try. The most enjoyable part was working with kids one on one to accomplish a goal.
Pros
Out door work, no desk time
Cons
Minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at work
Assist all (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, ILOctober 23, 2015
the job entails long hours with an unpredictable schedule based on seniority that is bid every 6 months. this makes it hard to schedule and plan a normal life
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved!
Beverage Golf Cart Attendant (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, ILJuly 30, 2015
I love working for the city of bloomington. It was one of the most fun jobs that I've ever had. Everyone was excited to see me every day and it was such a nice summer!
Pros
Working outside
Cons
Working outside
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great city to work for.
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MNDecember 29, 2014
Great city to work for. I did a variety of accounting duties while I was there. It was a very good experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a contractor
Interim Employment Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Northbrook, ILSeptember 12, 2014
I was a contractor. No frills. Just there to work and accomplish key goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Engineering Aide (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MNMarch 16, 2014
Great work environment, hours, and people in a very well run city.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay, boring job.
Lifeguard and Water Safety Instructor (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MNNovember 6, 2013
I really enjoyed my time at the City of Bloomington but there are some definite communications issues between departments, but I feel most workplaces are like that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meaningful work
Miscellaneous Tech (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, ILMarch 21, 2013
Knowledge that you are helping people daily. Requires a lot of patients to answer the same questions from the public repetitively. Good coworkers. Progress is slow with the City as you are constantly waiting for City Council's approval to move forward.
Pros
great hours
Cons
poor benefits for seasonal workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Seasonal Laborer (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, ILSeptember 1, 2012
I enjoy working at the City of Bloomington it is a fun oriented workplace. I enjoy working outdoors like I do. I have learned how to better myself and my experiences.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City Of Bloomington. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
4.0
Culture
4.0