Find companies:
City of Bridgeport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

City of Bridgeport Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cafertria Associate
Cafeteria Assistant (Current Employee), Bridgeport, CTMay 3, 2014
Pros: hours
Cons: need more hours
It is fine job to get me working , hours are good since my son is in school and there is room for advancements in this field
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bringing new ideas to the workplace was a stimulating experience
wellness coordinator for large municipality. (Former Employee), Bridgeport, CTMay 3, 2014
Enjoyed implementing this new position. It was a challenge,but great strides were made, due to cooperation of all departments and all workers who realized how important wellness is for all around health and safety.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, steady work, with a easy enviorment
civil servant (Former Employee), Bridgeport, CTFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: healthcare, great management, paid breaks
Cons: 2nd shift
enjoyed working for the city of Bridgeport, I came in knew what had to be done, and completed all task. management was great, as well as my co-workers, everybody got along great. The hardest part of this job was stripping lead paint. The most enjoyable part of the job, was actually making people happy with the work I did!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
on the whole good place to work
Grounds Maintenance Worker/Laborer (Former Employee), Bridgeport, CTJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: enjoyed the people i worked with, and the job i did
Cons: i was young i should have stuck with the job
through the course of my employment i did an learned many things,i learned to drive trucks standarnd an automatic dump trucks ,garbage trucks an the lie. i was awatchman for the parks dept ,the city zoo. i was grounds maintance worker cut grass in the city parks ,did tree work marked athletic fields , painting snow removal and acted as foreman to coworkers – more... when asked to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Human Resources Generalist - FMLA administration
Human Resources Generalist - FT (Current Employee), Bridgeport, CTDecember 26, 2013
Pros: learning opportunities for the functions of a municipality
Cons: attention to details due to numerous of union environments/agreements
Provide administrative support to City of Bridgeport employees on Family Medical Leave requests

Coordinate with Labor Relations, management, and employees on leave status, insurance continuation, and medical release for return to work

Organize various events - professional development, charitable programs - United Way, etc

Payroll verification of – more... employment

Process E-verify inquiries – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the work and the people, not the politics
Streets dept./Electrical dept (Former Employee), Bridgeport, TXDecember 2, 2013
Pros: benefits, and hours worked well for the family life
Cons: all the red tape and politics
Worked with my crew to repair and lay streets. Did concrete work for culverts and some driveways.

Hardest part of my job was dealing with the city politics.

I quit to build our family home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Exciting place to work
Telecommunications Operator (Former Employee), Bridgeport, CTAugust 1, 2013
Pros: weekly paychecks
Cons: not enough time to really learn the job
I would take EMS, and Non EMS calls. Towing of cars, break ins, fighting at schools, dog issues, burgulary. I learned how to look up people by birthdate, social security number, abandoned cars and many other aspects of the job

My co-workers were all like family in our department. Hardest part of the job was handing the incoming radio calls on certain – more... channels.

I loved trying to assist our Officers, fireman to help rescue or help someone in distress. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team atmosphere and loving environment, flexible hours
Operation Specialist (Current Employee), Bridgeport, CTApril 1, 2013
Pros: flexibility, multicultural work environment, opportunity for building and creating programs and activities, working independently on projects, great supervisor who treats fairly all co-workers and all members.
Gathering with management and staff and going over the daily functions and weekly schedule.

Learned about multitasking and building different programs and activities that are essential for the elderly, veterans and disabled.

Co-worker very knowledgeable of the facility and willing to help brainstorm ideas for a productive department.

Hardest part – more... of the job is recording all seniors out of town.

Most enjoyable part of the job is building rapports with the members and creating activities and programs that are useful for the seniors , veterans and disabled. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Security Officer (Former Employee), Bridgeport, CTFebruary 15, 2013
Loved working here only left to return to school and try to better myself!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Care Plus
Instructor part time teach Basic Computer (Current Employee), Bridgeport, CTNovember 15, 2012
Pros: being self motivated planning my own week etc.
Cons: owners were micro managers
Enjoyed meeting families, health care providers
being out and about Hardest part is dealing with families going through serious medical issues, i.e parent has cancer and is dying.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good company to work for
CIVILIAN DETENTION OFFICER (Former Employee), Bridgeport, CTSeptember 21, 2012
Loved my co-workers in the Booking Area..sure will miss those guys..had great work relationship.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Mini Computer Operator (Former Employee), Bridgeport, CTAugust 2, 2012
Pros: flexible
Cons: laid-off due to budget cutting twice
No complaints, besides being laid-off twice due to the budget.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in many of the cities elementary schools
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), Bridgeport, CTMay 14, 2012
Pros: school day hours
Cons: teachers are under paid!
Every day was a new day.
That being a teacher can be very rewarding
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a worthwhile place to work. Adequate work space with freedom to go to other departments as needed.
Clerical Assistant/Receptionist (Comptroller's) (Former Employee), New Haven, CTMay 7, 2012
The City of Bridgeport was a good place to work. I got along with everyone there. I made a lot of friends. I would sign on at my work station and respond to any emails that I received. Pick the mail for the department and sort it and distribute it. The hardest part of the job was leaving the people I got to know. I met alot of people along the way and – more... learned different jobs within the city. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace workplace
Telecommunications Operator/Dispatcher (Former Employee), Bridgeport, CTApril 5, 2012
Pros: great benefits
Cons: no room for advancement
This is a fast pace workplace where room for error is very slim. The lives of citizens are in your hands and you have to handle them with care and respect at all times. Through my 15 year employment I developed great organizational and multi-task skills. The hardest part of the job is being unable to help someone over the phone when you know they need – more... help immediately. Forming long lasting friendships is the most enjoyable part of this job. – less