City of Chicago Employee Reviews

Found 260 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
grateful for the experience.
OEMC Office Clerk (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 25, 2016
Continuously learning how to be a public servant to the citizens of Chicago. The work schedules are not the best suitable but the pay salary is beneficial.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
keeping children safe from traffic
crossing guard (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 20, 2016
cross children from busy street
how to stop traffic
police officer
everyone is very helpful
no hard part
having everyone thank me and them knowing im here to keep the children safe
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A tough job that requires a lot of skills.
Investigator II (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 19, 2016
I enjoy serving the citizens of Chicago. The hardest part of the job is trying to show the citizens of Chicago that you are doing fair investigations and you make decisions based on the evidence presented before you. I have learned to do thorough investigations and have received training in order to conduct investigations.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and exciting place to work
Senior administrative assistant (Former Employee) –  Canton, MAMay 12, 2016
I enjoyed working with this company, the people were very nice and learned a lot about the business in the Nuclear Maintenance Industry.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
No severance
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like the work place.
Crossing Guard (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 11, 2016
I meet a lot of people each day. I take pride in my ability to cross children everyday to insure their safety to and from school.
Pros
Hours
Cons
Cars disobey rules.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Election Judge (Seasonal) (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 10, 2016
The City of Chicago does need more improvements in certain aspects in management and taking care of it's workers they can need to make changes
Pros
You get paid
Cons
the general people attitude
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job
Law Enforcement Officer (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 5, 2016
Interesting opportunity everyday, great experience with people, lot of politics as far as career advancement; however still a decent job with excellent benefits
Pros
benefits
Cons
politics
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Flexible Environment
Web Database Developer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 3, 2016
I had a good time working with the City of Chicago. Had an opportunity to learn a lot about the web development with PHP. Co-workers have been very friendly which made it easier to get accustomed to the atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job can be very easy if you can deal with the public.
Traffic Control Aide (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 23, 2016
It's a very interesting and easy job. Some days and details you work your butt off and some days it's easy money.Your daily routine is being out in the middle of the intersection directing traffic, preventing gridlocks.
Pros
You get to work most events ex:( sporting, parades, concerts).
Cons
You may work most of the fun holidays.
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working for the City of Chicago
Director of Intergovernmental Relations (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 21, 2016
I've learned alot about people overall. It is not easy dealing with the public. Each day is different. The hardest part is not being able to help everyone. It's tough to see that alot of people are hurting in this city. The most enjoyable part about this job are the people are work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy job
Public Service Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 31, 2016
an easy job for someone looking to gain some real world experience. Looks good on a resume. The only draw back is that the job was an unpaid internship.
Pros
all
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was different doing so many things at once
Election Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 29, 2016
I had a good experience with working with different youths of Chicago. Going around town of things I haven't seen or done before and it helped me with realization of a much bigger world and what I could do to help and change.
Pros
The experience
Cons
Not enough youth help
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High volume, fast paced environment!
Assistant bar manager, head bartender (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIFebruary 22, 2016
Work in a busy, faster paced environment while ensuring giving excellent customer service. People skills and ability to multi-task a necessity for the job!
Pros
Flexibility, socialization, fun
Cons
No benefits, money is unreliable
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pace work
Parking Enforcement Aide (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 22, 2016
A typical work day include roll call for information purpose, then off to an assigned area, their I enforce city and state parking laws.
Pros
You work at your own pace
Cons
work outside in all type of weather
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The City of Chicago
Division Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 14, 2016
The City of Chicago was a place where I was able to grow professionally. I worked my way up and was able to manage more and more people.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
PLUMBER (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 14, 2016
I had a opportunity to work for a large water department. They took very good care of there workers. I had learned so much on the job.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hardest Part of the Job
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 11, 2016
The hardest job is a challange to me everyday to accomplish what I have been assigned to do. The days were hard but very exciting and I knew somebody out in the City of Chicago was happy with there new rehabilitation home or new home to move in too.
Pros
Making people smile, getting the work done
Cons
I need smoke breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and rewarding job
EMS Instructor (Current Employee) –  River Grove, ILFebruary 9, 2016
I would check all my equipement first thing in the morning and made sure it was ready for work. I would then get everything else i needed to apply to that day ready to work. Check the training for the day
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a place that has a capacity to allow you to learn if taught properly
Manager of Revenue Collections (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 3, 2016
I worked in the finance department and it was a place that also I learned alot from people who I didn't work directly but their knowledge helped me with the ins and outs of how to work at the City of Chicago. I learned some life skills and finance skills that can and will take me further in my career journey
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Control the traffic
Traffic Control Aide (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 24, 2016
I would arrive at work and make sure that the cars would go the right way and stop. I also made sure that during concerts that people were crossing the street and not getting hit. It was very hard when people didn't listen to me while they were driving because there could of been accidents.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Chicago. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 261 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8