City of Chicago Employee Reviews in United States

Found 180 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a job that helps people in the city and I am proud to be of help
Communications Operator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 21, 2015
taking a large volume of calls, transferring to appropriate departments, listening to a lot of irate callers, entering information for services.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Internship (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 20, 2015
this is good company, deals with the overall city standard. nice environment and office culture. good people . nice place
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and serve the public
DIRECTOR OF PROGRAM OPERATIONS (Former Employee) –  Office of the City Clerk - City HallJune 15, 2015
Excellent opportunity to hone customer service skills working with the public. Most difficult part of my employment was dealing with the political aspect of the office of which I worked. Very political atmosphere.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Working for elected officials who have big egos.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Department of Aviation/Laborer (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 30, 2015
hard physcial job but fun as well.meeting new people,different job sites.working with others to help you.over all a great job to be able to have.
Pros
cold weather
Cons
great pay
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
open territory,great opportunity,very rewarding
Senior Vice President (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 15, 2015
fun place,very rewarding spiritually.I maintained contact with and advised financial institutions on the use of futures band options.
Pros
excellent supervisor, short commute
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved being a firefighter
Firefighter/EMT (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 2, 2015
I was on one of the busiest companies in the the nation and my day started with what is called an ambulance assist,you are the first on the scene, you take the vitals and give assistance to the ambulance when they arrive on the scene,i had to maintain the safety of the scene for myself and co-workers.The hardest part of the job was a fire fatal fatality,and the most enjoyable part of the job was saving a life.
Pros
saving lives and property
Cons
fire fatalities
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Seasonal Employee (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 22, 2015
I enjoyed working with the City Of Chicago department of Streets and Sanitation. I would not mind to work with them in the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love helping others
OFFICE ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Chicago, IllinoisApril 22, 2015
Everyday was different, we served the constituents of the 10th ward by working with local organizations, city and state agencies. Surveyed the community at all hours of the day during and after work hours. Made a commitment and stayed committed to helping those in need of any services.
Pros
Lived and worked in the community
Cons
Not a career
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work summary
Motor Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  121 N. LaSalle St.April 15, 2015
Drive to location to start work. When the laborers ring the buzzer its time to start. Management was great! I never had a problem with management. My co-workers was great to work with. The hardest part of the job, was when I had to back-up that big truck. The most enjoyable part of the job was when it was time to return to the ward yard.
Pros
Lunch time
Cons
The breaks was too short.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good long term job
Chief Operating Engineer (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 12, 2015
a lot of work compared to other departments with the same titles.
if you like to keep busy this is the department to be in.
you will learn a lot of new equipment.
Pros
schooling
Cons
no overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
city job
Ground Transportation /Parking Terminal Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 1, 2015
Not being able to stay with the city due to children being small, and they would not adjust my schedule for a year until my child reach the age, i had not other choice but the resign after 10 years of service
Pros
money and benifts were great
Cons
no help from union
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Administrative Assistant I (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 19, 2015
Worked there for a few years big place with a lot of people and departments. There is nothing else I could tell people where okay.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good City job.
Human Resources Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 19, 2015
Very busy and demanding place to work but totally worth it. The City is weak on medical and dental benefits but have good incentives for you to live in the city.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workday with intellegent people - liberal workplace
Legal Secretary (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 6, 2015
Working for the Contracts part of the Aviation and Contracts division of the City's Law department can be quite interesting.

Contracts works with city employers/vendor who wish to do business with the city. These contracts can run into the millions and can include anything from street construction to events planning.

We can have days that seem to streak by with the new or renewing contracts that come in during special peak seasons. All in a good day to me.
Pros
people work as a team
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work experience
Station Laborer (Former Employee) –  Water PlantJanuary 22, 2015
The co-workers worked as a team. Great benefits. I test the water samples to ensure the water was safe for the citizens
Pros
great holidays
Cons
various management
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
CORRECTIONAL OFFICER (Current Employee) –  Westville IndianaJanuary 6, 2015
I learned from this job is how Law Enforcement is the job is a good all you are doing is baby sitting Criminals
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut backs and lost wages
Lead Custodian, Duties (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 2, 2014
a Once wonderful career that turned into no security or chance of advancement
Pros
no real pros
Cons
no security
Was this review helpful?Yes8No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and great place to work
Department of Housing Administrative Assistant III (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 26, 2014
Typical day would be arranging meetings, conference calls and conference room reservation for Deputy Commissioners. I learned numerous office skills. Management always encouraging to move forward. Co-workers pleasant to work with. Hardest part of job was moving forward. Most enjoyable part working in corporate environment was learning skills to use in other job situations.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and wonderful envioment to express new ideas and form new partnerships with all different types of citizens.
Special Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 25, 2014
A typical day was to get certain items on te weekly agenda looked at and worked on.This could be from forming block club or addressind a school safe passage to going to a local school PTA meeting along with a Police beat meeting.A day would consist also with speaking and forming partnerships with different agencies across the city while meeting with your local and state politicians to discuss and implement new and meaningful ideas that would and will make the city a safer place.
Pros
meeting new people and intoducing them to all other citizens.
Cons
getting people to change.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too intense and too many micromanagers
PURCHASING MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Wood Dale, ILNovember 20, 2014
hassled
nothing
micromanaging and bullying
kept to themselves
dealing with people
leaving
Pros
nothing
Cons
leaving
Was this review helpful?Yes6No11

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 181 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture