Find companies:
City of Columbus
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

City of Columbus Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political
IT Administrator (Former Employee), Columbus, MSSeptember 23, 2014
Politics made the job impossible to get anything accomplished
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Field Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Columbus, OHSeptember 5, 2014
Maintain cleanliness of the park, make sure diamonds are prepared before league or tournaments start
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best Place to work
Human Resource Analyst (Current Employee), ColumbusAugust 19, 2014
Love working for my Manager. I had an opportunity to serves as a Contract Analyst where I was able to participate in Training and Development,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy Supporting Police Personnel
Police Property Clerk (Current Employee), Columbus, OHAugust 8, 2014
My favorite part of this job is customer service and helping the Police Officers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job and the people there
No benefits for part-timers (Current Employee), Columbus, OHJuly 31, 2014
Pros: events, relaxed atmosphere
Very laid back atmosphere. Work at your own pace, employer shows confidence in those who deserve it. Co-workers are amazing, knowledgeable and there is a very real "team" atmosphere here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked this job.
RCVOA (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJuly 21, 2014
I liked being my own boss. Getting job done between 6:00 am and 2:00. The people I worked with when I worked with someone where grate. Made new and lasting friends. Liked being outside in all weather. The hardest part cleaning behind blade in summer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grilled Lunch.
rcvoa / Side Loader Opperator (Former Employee), Geogesville Rd Columbus, OhioJuly 17, 2014
Pros: holliday parties
Cons: short breaks.
A tipical hard working day, learnd to work as a team, management well informed, hard working new thier jobs very well,the hardest part of the job after hollidays cookouts whith the managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues, environment, but poor compensation/advancement
Inspector, and Emerald Ash Borer Team Member (Current Employee), Columbus, OHMay 10, 2014
Like most local governments there is a wide variety of talented employees. However, with fixed budgets and rigid pay scales one most really enjoy their job and duties. Pay and career advancements are few and far between and weigh heavily on tenure and not credentials or potential of a candidate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place, physical and mentally stimulating, open to advancment in work place
Recreational Aide (Current Employee), Columbus, OHMay 3, 2014
A typical day as a Recreational Aid is a fun relaxed atmopher. Basically play with kids all day. Learn alot working with the kids like being patcient, learning how to get and keep kids intrust, and orgainzing programes for recration patrionts. The hardest part of the job is getting the kids and adults more involved in there recration center and in there – more... community. Overall I enjoy working as a Recreational Aid and working with co-workers who are more like family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy fast paced
Building Maintenance Supervisor II (Former Employee), Columbus, OhioMay 1, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: stressful
Various projects hvac areas of government facility's. Building Maintenance, electrical etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked working for The City of Columbus
Custodian/Maintenance (Former Employee), Columbus, OHMarch 17, 2014
Pros: fun place to work
Cons: to many lay offs
I liked working for the City.. But The economy was failing and they nwere getting ready to lay off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Work
Personnel Analyst I (Current Employee), Columbus, OhioJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: opportunity to learn many skills
City of Columbus employees are a diverse and talented group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Summer Worker (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: the enviroment, the coworker, the hours and the kids
Cons: the pay was minimum wage
At this job we basically assisted recreation personnel and instructed the kids in the summer Cap City programs . We played different games such as football, basketball, swimming and many other games with kids . My coworkers were awesome , very respectful, nice and ood people to just be around , same for the managment. The most enjoyable part about this – more... jobs was that I was helping young kids learn to plays games everyday , and being a positive remodel for the kids to look up to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great place to work !
Golf Course Maintenance (Former Employee), Columbus, OHDecember 19, 2013
Pros: good people!!!!
Cons: i was not able to hold on long enough for a permanent position !!
I worked there for 15 years, really had a great time !!!!! I am still in touch with some of the employees !! I really learned a lot about golf courses !!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really Physical Job
Water Technician I (Former Employee), Columbus, OHNovember 11, 2013
Drive city issued vehicle; walk up to 15 miles a day in all weather conditions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Required to handle multiple projects
IT Director (Former Employee), Columbus, MSNovember 3, 2013
handling all needs for police, fire, inspection, city hall, public works, and homeland security
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
w
Temp (Former Employee), Columbus, OHOctober 23, 2013
Excellent benefits. Great people. Flexible schedule. That's all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Benefits
Fleet Supervisor II (Former Employee), Columbus, OhioSeptember 22, 2013
A nice company to work for. Excellent benefits. I worked in the Fire and Transportation department. I enjoyed working there very much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work,very good cmpensation.
construction inspector 1 (Former Employee), Columbus, OHSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: good compensation, good benifits
Cons: politics
punch clock at office. report to supervisor. travel to project. converse with contractor about work plan for the day. management was ok. my co workers were fine. hardest part of the job was when the weather was bad. the most enjoyable was when the weather was good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and people to work with
Billing Specialist II (Former Employee), COAAAAugust 11, 2013
Pros: free tickets to events
Cons: sometimes long hours, saturday overtime
Wonderful company, learned various programs related to billing and clerical tasks.