CITY OF CORPUS CHRISTI Employee Reviews

Found 47 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Rep/ TRU PD
PD TRU CSR (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXJanuary 30, 2017
The job itself is intense, you are not always speaking to people who understand the scope of your position. All Managment is very unhelpful and not willing to have your best interest. The environment is intimidating and most employees are caddy and talk about each other. You are low on the scale and anyone can tell you what you are expected to do. Your job description will mostly be " and other duties as assigned".
Pros
None
Cons
Micro-managed, low pay, not allowed to have an opinion
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great boss, good job security, good benefits and leave time
Airport Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXOctober 14, 2016
The benefits and job security are great. My boss is great amd fair. My department head is always looking to keep the pay and job duties fair.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a pleasure to work with such professional employees.
System Support Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXSeptember 13, 2016
It was always a day full of challenges, and great learning experiences. The employees were professional and compassionate.

I truely enjoyed working for the City.
Pros
Great benifits.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
Corpus christi (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXAugust 26, 2016
it's fun to work with people that you can joke with. you take lunches with your co workers. you work during the day and have nights off.
Pros
the benefits are awesome n breaks are long.
Cons
favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun watching games and getting paid
Scorekeeper (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXAugust 9, 2016
Everything is so fun and simple. The best job ever in my opinion! Get to see upcoming talent and some really good ball games at times. Once again best job ever!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited hours
Police Sergeant (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXJuly 27, 2016
Was tired of loading and unloading trucks. Took promotion exam and it took a while but I finally got promoted to part time management. once I did I was not in a union anymore and made it difficult to obtain full time employment so I left.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Lifeguard (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXJuly 3, 2016
Lifeguarding is a really high pay entry level job, great for high school and college students. There was a good mix of both students and managers were all around similar ages. Typical workday includes guarding rotations with a thirty minute break for every thirty minute shift, which may include working cashier depending on how busy the pool becomes over the course of the day. Co-workers were easy to work with and became great friends with many of them. A great job to work with school schedules.
Pros
worked with schedule, reasonable break time
Cons
hard to cover shifts, cover up work scandals
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and dynamic place to work.
Electrical Inspector (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXJune 10, 2016
Good place to work with a lot if nice people both in the office and out in the field. Met a lot of people with a lot of experience in their trade and have a lot knowledge to share.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere, great people to work with; like family.
CCIA (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXApril 21, 2016
Great atmosphere, great people to work with; like family. Customer Service for internal and external customer and vendor.
Pros
Work Life Balance
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Senior Group Leader (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXApril 18, 2016
• Providing a safe and fun environment to children ages 5-14.
• Implementing a structured lesson plan to keep children active and social with others.
• Maintaining a licensed program.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Park Tech 1 (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXApril 1, 2016
The only thing I can say about the job is that the coworkers are hard working. I like working with little supervision and I liked working outdoors.
Pros
Outdoors
Cons
Favoritsim
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the job not the constant changes
Animal Control Officer (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXMarch 28, 2016
Working for the City of Corpus Christi has good benefits. I worked under Animal Control. The job was great but, the Supervisor's were constantly changing their opinions on how a job should be done. I loved where I worked just needs more structure.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy the Beach
Public Services (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXMarch 21, 2016
Work pressure and favoritism... Looking for "yes Boss" type attitude. No new ideas are welcomed. Lots of growth opportunity
Pros
Balanced work day if you can manage your time efficiently
Cons
Favoritisim
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXMarch 8, 2016
I learned a lot about the correct way to dig and to fix pipe lines. co workers some times hard to under stand but they tried to make things easier.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no place like home
just a squarrel looking for a nut (Former Employee) –  all i want to do is get high by beachJanuary 13, 2016
I was reallt homesick by the end of the second depkoyment . All the pieces of the puzzle are starting to come together. In the end does it even matter. Ill just surrender after all i served to protect freedom and democracy. I would do it all over again if i had the chance. Rip Chief Rip mike q
Was this review helpful?Yes2No19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the health district
WIC (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXJanuary 13, 2016
The health district is managed pretty poorly especially the WIC department. The manager micromanages and is very clueless. She perpetuates a horrible work place culture, hostile work environment and low morale. There is no opportunity for advancement or extra assigned duties. Don't be fooled! Even after complaints the higher ups at the health department have made no attempts to fix any issues. Do not work here
Pros
1 hour lunches
Cons
No support, low morale, hostile work environment, favoritism, lack of leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes23No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with network opportunities with engineers, contractors, and building officials.
Senior Engineer (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXDecember 12, 2015
Communicate within Facilities and Property Management Department as well as with building contractors to achieve goals set by City Manager(s) and other city officials. Quantify project scope requirements and develop bid packages for citywide facility projects and renovations.

Draft and edit building and construction documents used as benchmarks for design and/or construction.

Pros: Gathering as much project details before meeting with officials. Communicating job criteria and deadlines.

Cons: Not getting enough responses to bid invitations.
Pros
Gathering as many details before meeting with officials, communicating job criteria and deadlines and then delivering
Cons
Not getting enough responses to bid invitations.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and family friendly work place
Investigative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXNovember 3, 2015
Working for the Corpus Christi Police department has been one of the best places I have ever worked. I have managers who are very supportive and understanding. The management wants to see you grow and succeed.
Pros
Family Friendly
Cons
Wages are to low
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laid back work enviorment
Dispatcher/Water Division (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXOctober 26, 2015
check for payments on daily basis, update data entry, and verify any information that is called in by techs. Working with outlook, excel, and sunguard, and star.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaboration of individuals to reach a common goal.
Intern (Current Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXOctober 7, 2015
Work starts at 8am and ends at 5pm.
Full of paperwork, creating spreadsheets and PowerPoints, answering phone calls, and meetings.
Pros
Great benefits and good pension plan
Cons
Unless in Management the pay is low
Was this review helpful?Yes14No4Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CITY OF CORPUS CHRISTI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 48 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4

CITY OF CORPUS CHRISTI Reviews by Location