City of Dallas Employee Reviews

Showing all 199 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very fun job to work for
After School Teacher (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 8, 2017
i was getting paid to have fun with kids all year long making plans to make go on field trips, arts and crafts sports this was a very cool job they just don't pay alot.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Truck Driver / Labor (Former Employee) –  Dallas txJune 5, 2017
The city dallas is a good place to work for, you have a chance to grow inside the company if you want to learn and grow, they have great people in the management to work with you...
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical City Municipal Employment
Senior Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 24, 2017
Rarely will you find people that actually want to do their job let alone go beyond their scope of work to help a citizen. I'm a team player on a team with few players.
Pros
Hours are day shift for most
Cons
Understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job to work for
LABORER (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 23, 2017
It's a great company to work for. The employees are very helpful in training. The days are never the same, each day I learn something new, my supervisor is a pretty calm when approaching the customers.In all working for the city is awesome feeling
Pros
Room to grow
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different departments to find my niche
Office Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 18, 2017
I started out in tax and revenue. From there I went to security alarms and then on to city attorneys office. I went back to security alarms and finally ended up in plans and permits.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Changes underway
Coordinator III (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 5, 2017
*Enjoy working for the people that reside in the city of Dallas.
*Lack of communication and silos are frustrating.
*If you want work life balance, you have to go out and find it on your own.
*Exciting changes underway.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment , fun, exciting and very challenging.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 1, 2017
A very busy day, consisting of competing multiple tasks simultaneously and following through to achieve project goals,answer questions.a high volume of incoming calls while handling online inquiries from the web and also upper management. Also plan organized and develop social programs and events while communicating with the media.Responsible for budget 250k ads well as supplies for general operation of building on going basis. Able to maintain a professional and friendly atmosphere in the receptionist area, including greeting visitors and promptly responding to in face to face public interaction.
Pros
Freedom to make crucial decisions.
Cons
Sometimes no breaks at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
office asst. II, accounts payable (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 10, 2017
good job environment but the job they was cutting a lot jobs due to money cut backs. The City of Dallas lost a lot of good employees, overall i liked working for the city, I wish I was still there.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work in progress
Contract Compliance Administrator (Former Employee) –  1500 Marilla Avenue, Dallas, TX 75201April 2, 2017
The most complex environment to work. City Hall is full of politics which can be a drag considering the time it takes in most cases to untangle the bureaucratic web.

They try to hammer out a pathway to achieving their goal but it consistently stays logy.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Make sure you do your homework
Strategic Customer Service / Water (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 31, 2017
I’m a highly motivated professional with 3 years of
customer service experience. Also, I’m knowledgeable in
data software program and Microsoft Office product
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Data Analyst (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 30, 2017
The city of Dallas is a great place to work at. You get to learn so much and meet people that will help you learn throughout your career. I will recommend this place to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the organizing programs for the children
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 28, 2017
A typical day work was enjoyed with children learning life skills, and adults physically enjoying the recreational facilities. I learned how to work well with the public, as well, as ensure safety for all.
Pros
Interacting with the public
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily routine
Truck Driver II (Former Employee) –  9811 Harry Hines BlvdMarch 15, 2017
Typical day at work:
Started at 6:30 am, doing pre-trip inspection to the truck,put fuel on it and take my helpers, must have a good relation with them, nice, friendly, every second while we are together, like 10 to 12 hours a day.
drive tthe daily route, start picking trash cans and recycle from residences. Cleaning up every house and have a good attitude with people around us.. every day I have to clean the Truck after the day is completed to be ready for next day.
Pros
no
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a nice place to work
Accountant II (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 6, 2017
I love the workplace culture. I worked at City Hall so I met different people all the time. I worked with some nice people that was willing to assist and train.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people good work place
Street Department (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 5, 2017
every morning at 6am everyone meets up at the city of dallas building and clock in puts personal things up and await for instructions on the task and route for the day . once you have those two things you then get with your crew and head out to the work site to repair the route road you and your crew had been assigned .
Pros
good hard working people
Cons
weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and retire early
Coordinator II - Office of Cultural Affairs (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 2, 2017
Good place to work and retire. Benefits are average. Work environment varies with each department. So.e jobs are non-civil so make sure you understand that before excepting. Overall good place to work.
Pros
Not over worked
Cons
Not well structured
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Police Officer Trainee (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 28, 2017
One of the best places to work love the culture of the department and city. The department I work for really is the best department around. I would recommend the city of Dallas to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work toward your retirement.
Trades Helper (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 21, 2017
Good retirement benefit, 401k Plan and Health Insurance.
many applicants and hard to get in now.
Most entry level job require you take a written test like
address matching, typing test.
Pros
good retirement
Cons
not much room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Library Associate (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 18, 2017
A typical day at the library has a lot of interaction with Patrons, co-workers and management. The hardest part of the job is anticipating the customer's needs. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new people all the time.
Pros
Hours, Training
Cons
Community Outreach
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable work atmosphere.
Driver II (Current Employee) –  Trinity Watershed ManagementJanuary 16, 2017
Great place to work, like the crew that I am with, and management is easy to get along with. The location of the job is wonderful as well.
Pros
Work is great, and not too demanding.
Cons
Pay could be more, and advancement is scarce.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport