City of Danville Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned everything there Very good place to work!
Motor Equipment Operator 2 (Former Employee) –  Danville, VASeptember 24, 2015
Enjoyed working there and was taught just about everything i know now. Everyone treated me as family and really miss it. Pay wasn't the best for the job. 40 hrs week plus overtime in snow season.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun teens interaction
Information Specialist (Current Employee) –  Danville, VASeptember 22, 2015
Planning teen activities
programming for intergenerational events
Great supervisor
Showing movies and making popcorn for our patrons
Pros
Creative and exciting
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace
Sworn Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Danville, KYAugust 27, 2015
Co-workers were pleasant people to work for. A typical day was very busy and management was very professional in trying to help us with calls. Very stressful atmosphere while working patrol areas in the community.
Pros
free lunches, win prizes
Cons
insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proactive Department.
Patrol Officer (Former Employee) –  Danville, VAMarch 27, 2015
A very proactive department, with great benefits and competitive pay. Not much room for advancement within the department due to lack of supervisory positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer job seasonal
Groundskeeper/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Danville, ILJanuary 25, 2015
Fun job working for the city of Danville. Cleaning and preparing parks for different activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet interesting people on a daily bases
Collection Clerk 1 (Current Employee) –  Danville, VADecember 28, 2014
enjoy working with fellow employee and never a dull moment! I have learned alot about Utilities and the run of the business and how it affects all walks of life. You learn how to deal with irate customers when it comes to their utilities being disconnected.
Pros
paid time off and sick days
Cons
short breaks and health care
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at work
Office Manager/Human Resource Assistant (Current Employee) –  Danville, ILJanuary 21, 2014
I never have the same work day schedule. I complete payroll, scheduling, employee issues, leave request off, A/P, A/R, requisitions, monthly, quarterly, and yearly federal reporting. I balance the budgets, handle the cash, work on city projects.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
shorts break, new management team
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Grounds Crew (Former Employee) –  Danville, VADecember 18, 2013
Lots of work to be done, but you are able to work at your own pace by yourself. Numerous types of equipment used.
Pros
lots of overtime
Cons
short breaks, work in all weather
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Facility Operator (Former Employee) –  Danville, VANovember 5, 2013
I loved this job and would go back. I loved going out in the community and watching the kids play; loved all the kids I met and helped.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive place to work
Information Technology System Technician (Former Employee) –  Danville, VASeptember 26, 2012
My job was very easy to do and asy to train for but I only worked part-time and had no benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture