Find companies:
City of Dayton
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

City of Dayton United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive for the Police Enforcement Agency and a nice place to be employed.
Permanent Part-time Confidential Office Worker (Former Employee), Dayton, OHApril 4, 2015
It's not a bad place to work. The Law Department employees were on top of their responsibilities. I would refer anyone to work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great view into city government
Marketing Intern (Current Employee), Dayton, OHMarch 27, 2015
As an intern, this was a great start into my career path. I had the opportunity through the SOCHE intern program to explore many of the different departments, which was eye-opening to me because I was very unaware of how they all worked together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management support for employee development and the ability to advance based on performance.
TAX AUDITOR (Former Employee), Dayton, OHOctober 28, 2014
Pros: civil service job with periodic salary review and job security.
Cons: salary based on civil service rates.
Reported to management regarding audit results and determined scope of investigation required to complete the audit, answered calls from taxpayers regarding their tax returns and assisted taxpayers in preparing returns at the customer service desk.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD EQUIPMENT
FACILITY WORKER (Former Employee), Dayton, OHFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: bonuses
Cons: worked holidays
WORKED ALOT OF OVERTIME, GOOD PAY, MET LOTS OF CELEBRITYS,LEARNED HOW TO DO ALL DIFFERENT TYPES OF SET UPS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and different everyday.
Public Works Intern (Former Employee), Dayton, OHJanuary 5, 2014
There is no typical workday with the city of Dayton, something is different everyday. Co-workers are amazing and make each day enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Works
P/T Landfill Clerk- (Current Employee), Dayton, TXDecember 30, 2013
Great company to work for. Meet different people everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As an Employment Specialist, I interviewed and tested applicant for jobs.
Employment Specialist (Former Employee), Dayton, OhioDecember 9, 2013
Pros: good people. dedicated to doing a good job.
Cons: none.
Very good job. I liked the people and the leadership personnel.
I wrote test questions. Reviewed the test with subject matter experts.
I had the opportunity to ride with the fire and police departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, seasonal employment
Labor, Waste Collector (Former Employee), Dayton, OHOctober 6, 2013
Pros: seasonl and early work time
Cons: position became contracted out
Hazardous job due to sanitation, collection of trash co-worker friendly and team oriented
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment where you can meet people from all walks of life
Executive Secretary to the Director (Current Employee), Dayton, OHOctober 5, 2013
I enjoy the organization I work for but am looking for part-time employment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Summer job to come back to year after year
Manager of Operations, Dayton City Pool (Current Employee), Dayton, WASeptember 7, 2013
Pros: great weather, beautiful work environment, fun work place
Cons: some times can be hectic, first aid necessary on occasion
I have loved working summers at the Dayton City Pool (under the purview of the City of Dayton). The City of Dayton is a great employer and gives you a chance to learn customer service skills, how to work well and cooperate with individuals you wouldn't on a regular basis, and provides a great introduction to working life for those who are still in high school. Working for the City of Dayton also provides the job security of being able to keep returning to work each summer as long as you keep doing a good job. This is a great job for high school and college level students who need summer time employment, whether it is full time, part time, or shift work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
LABORER (Former Employee), Ottowa St Dayton OhioAugust 12, 2013
Pros: steady work
Cons: fluxuating hours
I worked there for 25 and out. The company was my livelihood for 24 years. I was able to live and pay bills promptly with this position. I would recommend this place of employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and lots to learn
Secretary-Dispatcher (Former Employee), Dayton, OHJuly 15, 2013
Pros: education was provided where needed
Cons: laid off due to the economy.
Answered phones, faxed, filing, helped citizens with sewer problems and dispersed crew members. Worked with Fire and Police Departments and crew and supervisors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
old fat lazy people liked it but not me
Street Maintenance (Former Employee), Dayton, OHMay 22, 2013
easy job but i was only seasonal; repaired street signs and painted streets
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Deputy Court Clerk (Former Employee), Dayton, TXMay 6, 2013
Great place to work, Flexible, fun, team players. I learned the court system, and computer skills. Management was okay. My co-workers were great. The hardest part of the job was angery customers. The best part it was fast paced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal position only
Lawn Technician (Former Employee), Dayton, OHNovember 30, 2012
Pros: learning experience
Cons: seasonal with no benefits.
mowing lawns and weedwaking.
how to operate equipment.
hardest part was working in the heat.
most enjoyabel part was the working outdoors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many politics
Customer Service Rep/Lead Trainer (Current Employee), Dayton, OHJuly 9, 2012
It's easy to advance here as long as you're an exceptional employee and have a strong work ethic. I was given the position of lead trainer to train new employees and existing ones who needed a refresher.

The politics of a goverment type job are bothersome, and you really don't know if you'll be bumped from your position by someone with more seniority. That would probably be the worst thing I could say about this job. Job security is ZERO, no matter how good of an employee you are.