City of Flagstaff Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Site Supervisor (Current Employee) –  AquaplexJuly 28, 2017
Working for the city of Flagstaff is great. The schedule is flexible for students or staff with second jobs. There is always a fun atmosphere and friendly co-workers. The only problem is the lack of hours that temporary staff are able to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Recreation Program
Pool Manger (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZ 86004July 9, 2017
Very positive atmosphere and very diverse in terms of employees and patrons. Flagstaff is a college town, so the majority of employees are students. The recreation department was very flexible and offered an exceptional work-life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fun and supportive place to work
Human Resources Generalist (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZMay 4, 2017
I absolutely loved this job. My manager was the best manager I have ever had. Very well structured organization. Sometimes have tight deadlines on things but well done.
Pros
Lots of perks; decent pay; fun coworkers
Cons
Not a lot of room for raises or promotions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Maintenance Worker II (Current Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZFebruary 27, 2017
It is an alright place to work. Your hard work is offten over looked and credit is given to the higher ups. Not alot of room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Cashier/ locker room attendant (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZJuly 25, 2016
It's a nice place to work I was temp staff so no benefits but you can really advance through he city if you keep with it and work hard
Pros
Easy work place fun to work
Cons
Not a whole lot of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Program Assistant (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZMay 29, 2014
Enjoyed my tenure. Days went quick. most of my colleagues were very personable.
Pros
Variety of work and contacts
Cons
Not any to think of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The City of Flagstaff, a great and changlenging job.
Plant Maintenance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZMay 4, 2014
After 30 years at the Wildcat Hill W.W.T.P., I was lucky to be surrounded by some quality people. I made many friends and acquaintances. I was able to work side by side hands on in a lot of repairs. I was able to lean electrical repairs, instrumentation, plumbing, and grounds keeping. Management was at times a challenge and others a blessing. The hardest part of my job, was always trying to motivate my fellow workers! The best part was having pot lucks to celebrate accomplishments.
Pros
Trust
Cons
Budget
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment with great people
Risk Management Specialist (Current Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZApril 19, 2014
It's a very relaxing environment but there's always something new to learn, especially coming from the "private sector". People are wanting to change and make things work but they don't know how to do it. That was the most interesting part of my job.
Pros
willing to learn, great people to work with, wanting to do good but just need a little push
Cons
lot of work to be done. Old files and old ways/breaking old habits, lots of retirees
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poverty with a view!
Building Plans Examiner (Current Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZApril 5, 2013
High cost of living and pays lower than comparible cities as well as cities in the valley. No merit increases or promotions.
Pros
it's in flagstaff. nice community and nice weather. has benefits.
Cons
high cost of living. no merit increases or promotions. no trust in management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work was mainly outdoors which fit my situation at the time.
Meter Reader Tech 2 (Current Employee) –  City wideMarch 2, 2013
Every day I worked outside in the city. I learned much about the meters and the radio read devices, My supervisor was consistent with the supervisors I was used to, managers however were not consistent with the managers I've been familiar with. My co-workers were ok and I had no problems with any of them. The hardest part was working in the winter. I enjoyed working with as much autonomy that the job gave me.
Pros
the level of autonomy i had.
Cons
the way management promoted within the organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was temporary
Clerk w/ Flagstaff Municipal Court (Former Employee) –  FlagstaffJuly 9, 2012
It was a fun place to work and there was room for advancement, but it I was young then and had other dreams.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Water Services Technician (Current Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZApril 2, 2012
Sorry, working for the City is ok, but the upper management has no concern about their employees...if they have to go out of their way, they won't help they hinder....
Pros
good insurance and retirement
Cons
lack of good management, lame duck syndrome
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Flagstaff. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
4.1

City of Flagstaff Reviews by Location