City of Fort Collins Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 14 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low wages, low accrued personal leave, favoritism,Good ole boy attitude among supervisors and crew chiefs.
Tool Crib Shop Attendant (Former Employee) –  Parks DivisionApril 12, 2016
Looking forward to starting over. Better treatment, Fairness. Full time employees are held to a different standard in every way. If you are unfortunate to be an Hourly you get to do the work of the Full -Timers but without the Benefits. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Cons
No Fairness.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job if you are retired and not wanting to promote
Parking Attendant (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, COMarch 2, 2016
the customers for the most part were great to work with same with most the co-workers. the upper management were very robotic, not friendly, caring or empathetic. overall not good company to work for
Pros
the pay was great
Cons
not enough hours, no advancememt opprotunites, upper management not friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, poor management
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fort CollinsAugust 12, 2015
Workplace and culture is great but top management is out of touch with employees. Little to no raises every year, no opportunity for advancement, lack of prioritization, all help to increase turnover and lower employee morale.

Really sad to see how so many good people that work for the City are treated by council and management. I had to leave because there is basically no career ladder.
Pros
GREAT co-workers, healthy work environment
Cons
Unrealistic work load, chasing awards and recognition rather than following the org's values.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work!
Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, COAugust 8, 2015
I LOVED my job with the City of Fort Collins-Parks Department. My coworkers were fun, energetic, and outgoing. Even our daily morning meetings were filled with laughter. Though the work was hard at times, it paid off to see the finished product. The management was friendly and helpful, and always willing to listen to concerns. I loved working with flowers every day, and learning about new plants. This was probably one of my most favorite jobs.
Pros
Great work environment, Friendly coworkers, Leadership, Advancement Opportunities, Learning new things daily
Cons
Seasonal work
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of higher management
Aquatics Manager (Current Employee) –  Public PoolsJune 24, 2015
Supervising staff and infrastructure not committed to community or each other. Things go unnoticed, undone, and left to be forgotten. This job had its advantageous such as community contact and involvement but lacked many incentives.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work in a Wonderful City
Lead / Utilities Finance (Current Employee) –  Fort Collins, ColoradoMarch 12, 2015
Great Benefits with many job advancement possibilities. The Utility area provides educational assistance which paid for my advanced college degree.
Pros
great benefits and work atmosphere
Cons
pay grades can limit income
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Software Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, COFebruary 24, 2015
Knowledgeable staff, good wellness program, limited benefits.
Fort Collins is a great town and working for the City has it's benefits if you're able to navigate the political waters effectively.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Seasonal Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, COSeptember 19, 2014
This was a great job while I was going through college. The people were cool, the work was easy, and the hours were flexible. But I got tired of Fort Collins and felt the need to move elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic peers
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, COMay 21, 2014
The City of Fort Collins- DWRF was a memorable place to work because of the wonderful peer group; it felt like a family. I learned a lot about EPA collection of water, wastewater and testing of these streams.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
City Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, CONovember 12, 2013
Wonderful city in which to work. City manager is very talented and fun to work for.
Pros
great working conditions
Cons
high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Forestry Technician (Current Employee) –  Fort Collins, COApril 11, 2013
All facets of arboriculture. Interaction with internal and external customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment to work in
Horticulture assistant (Current Employee) –  Fort Collins, COMarch 25, 2013
I enjoyed working for the City of Fort Collins because it helped me excel in my previous knowledge and experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented and health conscious environment
Meter Reader (Current Employee) –  Fort Collins, COMarch 20, 2013
I enjoy working here being outdoors every day. Unfortunatelly the City of Fort Collins is dissipating the meter readers because automated meters read by a computer system is being implemented. My job ends at the end of May 2013
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Fort Collins. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.0
Culture
3.4

City of Fort Collins Reviews by Location