City of Fort Collins Employee Reviews

Showing all 21 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bus Operator is a thankless job with good pay and benefits
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, COMay 28, 2017
Worked here a very long time. Initial management was good, followed by a number of evil managers. Don't know about current management. Hours were very long and work strenuous. Much memorization of routes required. Rules governing employment very strict but the job was good. Passengers more or less thankful depending on scheduling. City has excellent lawyers so don't mess around on this job.
Pros
Good pay/benefits if you're full time
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfactory
Hardware & Software Systems Technician (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, COApril 12, 2017
You work that you may keep pace with
the earth and the soul of the earth.
For to be idle is to become a stranger unto the seasons,
and to step out of life's procession, that marches in majesty
and proud submission towards the infinite.

When you work you are a flute through
whose heart the whispering of the hours
turns to music.
Which of you would be a reed, dumb and silent,
When all else sings together in unison?

Always you have been told that work is
a curse and labor a misfortune.
But I say to you that when you work you fulfil
a part of earth's furthest dream, assigned to you
when the dream was born,
And in keeping yourself with labor you
are in truth loving life,
And to love life's labor is to be intimate
with life's innermost secret.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome to work and live!!
BUSINESS PARTNER LIAISON (Former Employee) –  ColoradoMarch 27, 2017
Great place to work!! The work is more independent-oriented and you have your tasks and projects. The people are outgoing and friendly. The work climate is more social.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing opportunities with great benefits
Director of Marketing and Public Relations (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, COFebruary 22, 2017
Working for the City of Fort Collins is an amazing opportunity. My experience working in the arts and culture department allowed me to collaborate with multiple City groups. I loved the open communication, the flexible schedule and the talented people there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with great people
Clerical Aide Front Desk (Current Employee) –  Fort Collins, COFebruary 21, 2017
Great upper management really enjoy the opportunities to always move up to a higher or different position. Really hope to improve my career with the city
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well paying job with some stress
Pool Manager/Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, CONovember 27, 2016
Management at the City in the aquatics department is a joke. I enjoyed working there but the stress from mis-management was too much. Pays well compared to minimum wage and was an overall fun job. Management needs to change though.
Pros
good pay, sometimes leisurely work, fun coworkers
Cons
Poor management, poor work structure, poor work morale
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Parks Maintenance Worker (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  413 S. BryanMay 5, 2016
I enjoyed my job, wished it was year round. I got to listen to music while worked and be outside. Cleaned park and softball fields and assisted at July 4th event. Hard work but fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low wages, low accrued personal leave, favoritism,Good ole boy attitude among supervisors and crew chiefs.
Tool Crib Shop Attendant (Former Employee) –  Parks DivisionApril 12, 2016
Looking forward to starting over. Better treatment, Fairness. Full time employees are held to a different standard in every way. If you are unfortunate to be an Hourly you get to do the work of the Full -Timers but without the Benefits. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Cons
No Fairness.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job if you are retired and not wanting to promote
Parking Attendant (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, COMarch 2, 2016
the customers for the most part were great to work with same with most the co-workers. the upper management were very robotic, not friendly, caring or empathetic. overall not good company to work for
Pros
the pay was great
Cons
not enough hours, no advancememt opprotunites, upper management not friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, poor management
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fort CollinsAugust 12, 2015
Workplace and culture is great but top management is out of touch with employees. Little to no raises every year, no opportunity for advancement, lack of prioritization, all help to increase turnover and lower employee morale.

Really sad to see how so many good people that work for the City are treated by council and management. I had to leave because there is basically no career ladder.
Pros
GREAT co-workers, healthy work environment
Cons
Unrealistic work load, chasing awards and recognition rather than following the org's values.
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work!
Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, COAugust 8, 2015
I LOVED my job with the City of Fort Collins-Parks Department. My coworkers were fun, energetic, and outgoing. Even our daily morning meetings were filled with laughter. Though the work was hard at times, it paid off to see the finished product. The management was friendly and helpful, and always willing to listen to concerns. I loved working with flowers every day, and learning about new plants. This was probably one of my most favorite jobs.
Pros
Great work environment, Friendly coworkers, Leadership, Advancement Opportunities, Learning new things daily
Cons
Seasonal work
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of higher management
Aquatics Manager (Current Employee) –  Public PoolsJune 24, 2015
Supervising staff and infrastructure not committed to community or each other. Things go unnoticed, undone, and left to be forgotten. This job had its advantageous such as community contact and involvement but lacked many incentives.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work in a Wonderful City
Lead / Utilities Finance (Current Employee) –  Fort Collins, ColoradoMarch 12, 2015
Great Benefits with many job advancement possibilities. The Utility area provides educational assistance which paid for my advanced college degree.
Pros
Great Benefits and Work Atmosphere
Cons
Pay Grades can Limit Income
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Software Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, COFebruary 24, 2015
Knowledgeable staff, good wellness program, limited benefits.
Fort Collins is a great town and working for the City has it's benefits if you're able to navigate the political waters effectively.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Seasonal Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, COSeptember 19, 2014
This was a great job while I was going through college. The people were cool, the work was easy, and the hours were flexible. But I got tired of Fort Collins and felt the need to move elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic peers
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, COMay 21, 2014
The City of Fort Collins- DWRF was a memorable place to work because of the wonderful peer group; it felt like a family. I learned a lot about EPA collection of water, wastewater and testing of these streams.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
City Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fort Collins, CONovember 12, 2013
Wonderful city in which to work. City manager is very talented and fun to work for.
Pros
great working conditions
Cons
high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Forestry Technician (Current Employee) –  Fort Collins, COApril 11, 2013
All facets of arboriculture. Interaction with internal and external customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment to work in
Horticulture assistant (Current Employee) –  Fort Collins, COMarch 25, 2013
I enjoyed working for the City of Fort Collins because it helped me excel in my previous knowledge and experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented and health conscious environment
Meter Reader (Current Employee) –  Fort Collins, COMarch 20, 2013
I enjoy working here being outdoors every day. Unfortunatelly the City of Fort Collins is dissipating the meter readers because automated meters read by a computer system is being implemented. My job ends at the end of May 2013
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Fort Collins. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.5

City of Fort Collins Reviews by Location