City of Galveston Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a lovely career
Waste Management Driver/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXApril 12, 2016
while the job of the city of galveston, i became a better driver of a class b.As a driver of the city truck i be came a good crew leader for my truck
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
met a few nice people along the way
operator 3 (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXOctober 20, 2015
good job to work for grow and retire had some problems at first with supervision but was easily worked out three stars salary alittle low for comparable size cities
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work
Project Coordinator / Water Contract Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXDecember 16, 2015
I started as a payroll specialist and ended up as a project coordinator. I loved what I did for the City. I got along well with my co-workers.
Pros
Great environment to work in
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Urban Planner I & II (Current Employee) –  Galveston, TXNovember 24, 2015
Great place to develop skills in an entry-level position. Highly recommend keeping an eye on this city if you're seeking your first job.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City of Galveston Water Department
Billing Specialist & Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXJune 29, 2015
The leadership was not accommodating and not understanding and racist. There was not working ahead. No advancement to be had
that is during the time I work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work non stop in under extreme conditions
Water and Sewer Dept. (Current Employee) –  Galveston, TXAugust 26, 2015
Hard work everyday outside in the heat, rain or cold. All types of water and sewer to work in and tiresome work, most days are overtime approximately 8-15 hours a day.
Pros
Pay is decent
Cons
Lots of overtime in the heat
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Payroll Records, filing, spreadsheets,
Payroll Record Specialist (Current Employee) –  Galveston, TXSeptember 17, 2013
Review employee's time to ensure all clock-in/outs are recorded. Enter any pay codes and leave hours according to the leave request. Prepare the 'EMPLOYER'S FIRST REPORT OF INJURY' for any W/C injury. Prepare 'WAGE STATEMENT' for W/C benefits. Orientate new employees.
I learned more techniques for EXCEL and KRONOS and laws regarding FMLA and FLSA.
The hardest part of the job is writing disciplinary letters and warnings.
I enjoyed building spreadsheets for special activity events labor cost and doing payroll bi-weekly.
Pros
working with supervisors to ensure all employees are paid correctly
Cons
i would like to earn more money
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits and good people
OPERATOR IV (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXMarch 20, 2015
a great place to work if you are wanting long term job security. also a great place to expand ones ability to operate equipment and to develop the ability to interact with the private sector.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Human Resources Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TexasOctober 11, 2012
City of Galveston could use some updating in the way they view the outside world. Most of the employees were good people.
Pros
retirement plan
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job.
Refuse Driver (Current Employee) –  Galveston, TXApril 20, 2014
It's work with a pay check. City benefits. We go around following a designated route picking up residential trash.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Park and Recreation Aide (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXAugust 8, 2012
Monortoring the youths in the Computer room, gameroom, gym. that a youth is the best of the day. I had a great Supervisor and co-workers. The hardest part of the job was leaving. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the smile on the youths face when they were in the Center.
Pros
school supplies for the youths
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fairly treated
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXAugust 8, 2012
stock product,assist customers.
what bad managment is
bad
funto work with and teamwork to make our jobs safer and easier. managment
going home
Pros
10% discount for employes
Cons
pay and bennefits
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thrown to the wolves
Transit Operator (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXAugust 26, 2013
No training, no guidance or any one to help with very unsafe practices.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All depends on the department
Telecommunications Officer (Former Employee) –  Galveston, TXSeptember 19, 2013
Everything depends upon the department you work for, and your immediate supervisor.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.7
Culture
2.8

City of Galveston Reviews by Location