City of Garland Employee Reviews

Showing all 32 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
General Administrative Assistant I (Current Employee) –  Garland, TXJanuary 5, 2017
Everyone at the city is very helpful and kind. I work in HR with benefits so I work with the employees, retirees, future employees and citizens of the city. I love being here, however my position is temporary. The City of Garland is an awesome city to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & Enjoyable
Swim Instructor (Former Employee) –  Garland, TXDecember 28, 2016
Worked at the Bradfield pool as a swim instructor. It was a great and wonderful experience. I felt fulfilled and I felt safe and able to express my concerns with the aquatics director. I would go back if needed!
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job if you want to be the average joe
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Garland, TXOctober 22, 2016
Good place to be if you are just a mediocre operator and want to barely get by on money. The plus side is you have tons of free time and can have a side business
Pros
Benefits and of course city hours
Cons
Not enough money and takes 20 years of employment to move up to a management position
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized
Grounds Crew (Former Employee) –  Garland, TXAugust 1, 2016
Working for the City of Garland was crazy to say the least. The attitude was "If its not broke, don't fix it." We used paper work that was made in 1987. Management would micromanage you every second of the day. I always felt as if I was going to lose my job. The pay is probably the lowest around. Very under staffed and the list of projects keep getting listed but nothing is ever getting crossed off. Also at my interview I was asked 1 question "Can you do that?" and that was after the job description was read to me.
Cons
short monitored breaks, low pay, micro-management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere!
Contact Center Representative II (Current Employee) –  Garland, TXMarch 28, 2016
Fun! Fun! Fun! Everyone is great! Convenient! Call Center
dept. everyone works as a team, and gets along great. Lots of great potential, great minds, and hard working individual.
Cons
shore break- not flexible- no OT
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Contact Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Garland, TXNovember 14, 2015
This company offers excellent benefits and provides opportunities for development though working with other departments. I would recommend this place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible atmosphere
Recreation Specialist (Current Employee) –  TexasOctober 16, 2015
I work in a place where the management is contentious, difficult, and poorly executed. Family is not considered, not is the individual. Severely understaffed and nothing is being done about it. However, the clientele are fantastic.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Nice workplace.
Associate (Former Employee) –  Garland, TXAugust 30, 2015
Assisting customers who came to the facility.
Cleaning the facility when it closed and cleaned facility.

My coworkers were very skilled and hardworking.

I really enjoyed the ease of the job, and being knowledgeable and able to help people out.
Pros
Part Time Flexible Schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes26No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, that teaches a lot of great skills
Senior Manager (Current Employee) –  Garland, TxAugust 11, 2015
A great place to work that teaches you how to work as a cohesive team member. Its a fun place to work, you are sure to meet a lot of great coworkers. Work load is not to much, but you cant just slack off all the time either.
Pros
Teaches a lot of great job, and life skills
Cons
Competition for work hours, Limited advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes13No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work/ great people
Administrative Associate (Former Employee) –  Code EnforcementAugust 1, 2015
• Applications Acceptance/Renewals/data entry processing/payment processing over the phone and in person
• Scheduling inspections for inspectors
• Landlord Training Class Research/Preparation/registrations
• Incoming Email Response to Applications and open records(receive/research/deliver)
• Deposit Closing/Processing
• Data Entry Quality Control
• Daily Filing
• Red Tags (commercial & residential)
• Phone Calls (back to back in Spanish and English: taking complaints, payments, and )
• Payroll
• Payables
• Notarizing
• Responding to daily Phone Messages on 4 lines (Main line/Spanish line/my line/rental registration line
• Ordering Office Supplies
• Uniform processing for embroidery
• Ordering Cartridges
• Monthly Report Totals (red tags/ work orders/ citations/rental/finance)
• Office Machine Maintenance/Supplies
• Ordering/Auditing Citation Books, ordering business cards and envelopes
• Notices of Violation (printing/stuffing/stamping) avg of 2000 per day
• Graffiti, land care work orders for properties with violations
• Federal Lawn Care Assistance Program/ admissions
• COG Property Mowings
• Weekly Finance System Reports
• Citations (sending to citizens)
• Incoming Mail distribution
• Vehicle Tags/ printing and or ordering
Pros
one hour lunch/ family like environment/ two weeks vacation pay intially/ TMRS
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes15No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisting Residential and Commercial customers with trash collection.
EWS - Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Garland, TXJuly 23, 2015
I enjoy working for the City of Garland Environmental Waste Services. I enjoyed public interaction and the "Service On Unbelievable Levels" is not just our slogan but our pleasure! I am currently Dispatcher to communicate residential and commercial inquiries and requests to the Field Supervisors. The Direction of this department is very good. I also enjoy the fast paced and quick response time necessary to carry out day to day functions. The City of Garland promotes a TEAM attitude.
Pros
Employee Recognition
Cons
Lack of training new hires for all job functions.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer interaction on daily basis.
Lead Field Technician (Former Employee) –  Garland, TxJune 7, 2015
Travelling to customer home to get meter readings. Learned customer communication skills. Enjoyed co-workers. Weather could cause problems along with having to disconnect services. Enjoyed working with co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful 0pportunity to serve the public
Business Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Garland, TXFebruary 25, 2015
Ample opportunities to serve the citizens of Garland. The hardest part of the job is to perform project related work in an environment that is not designed to support projects.
Pros
retirement programs and health benefits
Cons
lack of project management training for professional staff
Was this review helpful?Yes19No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I.T. Dept. Lacks Leadership and Management
I.T. (Former Employee) –  garland txDecember 21, 2014
There is no leadership, direction or vision in the I.T. Department. The upper I.T. management is corrupt and recieves gifts and gratitudes for selecting and giving business to vendors. Working in this department is a hostile place if you are unwilling to be corrupt also. Very poor working environment.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes35No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Garland TexasOctober 28, 2014
Customer service - helping patrons and organization skills, team player.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the city is great
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Garland, TXMay 19, 2014
I come in to work and talk to my supervisor about what he wants us to do that day. After i get all the supplies needed for the job and head out. like any other job if there is a change in our duties for that day me and my coworkers go back to the yard and gather any equipment that we may need for the desired job. management is great as well as my coworkers. the hardest part of the job is dealing with faulty machines. the most enjoyable part of the job is being on the streets.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job, excellent training program
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Garland, TXApril 10, 2014
I do not believe I remember this job well enough to provide an accurate review.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
SYSYTEM ADMINISTRATOR (Current Employee) –  GARLAND TXJanuary 7, 2014
• Primary administrator and maintenance of GP&L Virtual infrastructure which include the server and desktop environments.
• Primary Administrator and maintenance for all GP&L SANs
• Managing and analyzing system logs.
• Perform backups, verification of backups, and testing restorations of backups for the virtual infrastructure
o Backup schedule will adhere to GP&L’s backup Policy and Procedure
• Administer and maintain the Veeam application and server.
• Apply patches, updates, and configuration changes to the systems within the virtual infrastructure.
o System patches and update will adhere to the GP&L Update Procedure
• Applying the appropriate security for users accessing the systems and keeping users access up to date by adding or removing users.
• Updating and documenting system configurations.
• Troubleshoot any reported problems of the system.
• Install and configure new hardware and/or software for the virtual infrastructure.
• Communication any network infrastructure issues to the network administrator.
• Administer and maintain the SpecOps server.
• Administer and maintain the Solarwinds server.
• Create and update user’s Active Directory accounts
Pros
FLEXIBLE HOURS
Cons
NEW DIRECTOR
Was this review helpful?Yes9No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
SECRETARY/CUSTOMER AIDE (Former Employee) –  Garland, TXDecember 17, 2013
City Job which offers good benefits and a nice retirement plan.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dog eat Dog
former employee (Former Employee) –  electricSeptember 15, 2013
Management is not what you think or can trust They will always take care of themselves first, you last. It is a mans world there so if you are a woman wanting to break into the industry, you may make many concessions to your values and your life code. Not to be trusted. Watch out for very lose hands. Co workers were wonderful but just as skeptical about management
Pros
easy to get on, out just as fast
Cons
benefits are ok considering
Was this review helpful?Yes32No6Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Garland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 32 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7

City of Garland Reviews by Location