Find companies:
City of Glendale
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

City of Glendale Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very slow pace
Facility Attendant (Former Employee), Glendale, CASeptember 2, 2014
Pros: good for a part time position
Cons: no room for growth
Opening up the location. Waiting for senior to come in for lunch. Help the senior or local city tenants with any questions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work
Utility Worker (Former Employee), Glendale, MOAugust 30, 2014
A typical day working is steady and will very every day. The hardest part of the job is getting along with management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary position for CAFR
Temporary Accountant (Former Employee), Glendale, AZAugust 17, 2014
I was employed on a temp position for preparation of CAFR statements. I worked with a great team of accounting professionals but it was only a short term assignment of 3 months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Facility Attendant (Current Employee), Glendale, CAJuly 27, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Love it... Great pay great benefits, and awesome people. There is no part of the job that is hard.... I get paid good, work is very simple, and hours are great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I felt proud!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Glendale, CAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: good, helpful staff
Cons: was a temporary job
The reason I worked here was because of GYA program and I was immediately put in charge of an awards ceremony with everything that comes with it. I had to list the kids names, accomplishments, order necessary materials, and most importantly design the booklet. All this funds had to come from donations and so I had to call in previous and new possible – more... donors for financial help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace for a high school student as a summer job
Water Safety Instructor (Former Employee), Glendale, AZJune 2, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, treated with respect and given responsibility, the water keeps you cool in the blazing sun
Cons: short breaks, no benefits, employees are disposable.
A typical day at work consisted of arriving at work at 0715 to prepare for teaching swim lessons. The teachers would then teach three to six swim classes with only a five minute break between each one. The classes varied on age of class and time of day and would require varying levels of hands on teaching. The management only seemed organized half of – more... the time because they tried to micromanage the work environment despite lacking experience on the job or asking for the worker's opinions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
senior project
Internship and Super Bowl Setup (Former Employee), Glendale, AZApril 3, 2014
Pros: interesting people
Cons: temporary job
For our senior project we did an intern with the City of Glendale. Our project consisted of testing and setting up a computer network with Voice over IP (VoIP) implemented on it. We would run a series of tests with different Quality of Standard protocols to see how the data was effected on the network. Since VoIP operates best being seperated from other – more... types of network traffic we had to set up an additional network for that technology. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace for learning
GIS Technician Intern (Former Employee), Glendale, CAMarch 12, 2014
No management and little team work. Direction is clear but projects are slow-going.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City of Glendale Parks Deptartment Great Work Experience
Gardener (Former Employee), Glendale, CADecember 4, 2013
Pros: great learning experience
Cons: not enough time in the world to learn more.
The greatest thing about being a landscape gardener in a park system is that it is not only "mow, blow and go."

You are primarily situated in a customer service oriented work environment. When it comes to the practical aspect of the job you are highly involved in an extremely variant job description of duties.

You will not only be involved in typical – more... lawn, tree and shrub maintenance but also of sports-field maintenance, building maintenance, irrigation maintenance and operation of large motor driven equipment as well.

The skill level of involvement goes above and beyond typical gardening. This includes a vast knowledge of horticultural and botanical practices.

You will more than likely be in charge of more than 1 or 2 employees which will require you to have great verbal communication skills and personnel problem solving skills as well.

My personal experience at The City Of Glendale Parks Department has been invaluable to me and am grateful to have had it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and enjoyable
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Glendale, CANovember 19, 2013
Loved working here, great and professional coworkers!
very lovely management, they have nice events that we were able to join and be a part of them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First Job
Lifeguard and Swim Lesson Instructor (Current Employee), Glendale, AZOctober 8, 2013
For most people looking for a first job, the City of Glendale is a good place to start.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Intern
Administrative Intern (Former Employee), Glendale, WIAugust 4, 2013
I managed myself in this position and reported directly to the City Administrator. A typical day was spent researching statistics and interviewing department heads. I worked with department heads in multiple communities as many of their services were shared. The biggest challenge of this position was scheduling visits and interviews with department – more... heads with busy schedules. The most interesting part of this position was working with department heads from different communities and seeing how they worked together to complete a project. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sanitation
Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Glendale, AZMay 30, 2013
Picking up approx 1100 90 gallon residential garbage cans a day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, was a nice employer to work for at one time.
Collections Representative (Former Employee), Glendale, AZApril 4, 2013
Pros: they paid well, good benefits
Cons: constant budget problems, poor decision making from upper management
I worked Monday thru Friday 8:00 to 5:00, collect on delinquent water and Sales Tax accounts, set up payment arrangements, answer customer inquiries, assist co-workers, file and release liens, work on special projects. During my time there I have learned how to do billing adjustments, manually create statements for customers, use Microsoft Excel and – more... Word more effectively, make accounting adjustments to customer accounts for various reasons, file and release liens. I had an excellent manager who I worked under. This manager was easy to talk to, had an open door policy and would always see that any issues would be resolved. Unfortunately the management staff above my manager saw things in a different way. My co-workers were very professional, we always worked together well when need to and we all strived to get things done ahead of schedule and make the day as pleasant as we can for each other. The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to assist the public and answer their questions and help my co-workers with any work assignments or projects. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Office Work (Former Employee), Glendale, CAFebruary 1, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
Fun environment with co-workers, Excellent customer service, and wonderful clothing and accessories to sell.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best job I' ve ever had with great benefits with a lot of driving
Intergraded Waste Truck Operator (Former Employee), Glendale, CANovember 21, 2012
Pros: go home early and see your check
Cons: rain and heat
Start early in the morning doing a lot of hard work with a lot of challenges
dealing with all types of weather, people and situations where you have to make a lot of important decisions

Again I made good friends, a lot of profesional people and supervisors a couple bad apples, but I really enjoyed it as much I could.

The hardest part to work in the – more... rain and heat , the most enjoyable part the driving and salary.
, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Glendale, AZNovember 19, 2012
After working for the city for 28 years i learnd how to operate various light and heavy equipmetn and made some very good friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very well organized and respectable work environment to be in
Accountant I (Former Employee), Glendale, CAOctober 27, 2012
The typical day was very busy yet quiet and fun. I've learned grant accounting and a new software: PeopleSoft. I enjoyed working with both my co-workers and management as together they created a very nice environment for productive work. The hardest part of the job was that many things were done not on daily or weekly but rather monthly basis slowing – more... the learning process a bit. The most enjoyable part of the job was having a lot of challenges and learning new things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fascinating municipal engineering projects on City facilities
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee), Glendale, CASeptember 25, 2012
Pros: beautiful city with much opportunity
Cons: currently under budgetary austerity measures
I worked for the City of Glendale for almost 10 years on very exciting construction projects relating to their facilities. Glendale is a medium size City with a poplulation under 200,000 and less than 2000 City employees to serve them.

I was employed by the City in October 2002 as a Project Coordinator and retired in September 2012 at age of 51 as – more... a Senior Project Manager. My professional growth at this job had a lot to do with the exciting projects that came into my hands. Not the least of which was a FEMA sponsored project to retrofit a building with mechanical base isolators so that it may better resist horizontal earthquake forces.

The recent historically notable world economic crisis finally came to impact southern California and extended to the City of Glendale. Money to fund Capital Improvement Projects depleted to a handful. Accordingly, retirement incentives were provided to eligible employees. I was one of the employees that accepted the incentives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Concerned with Employees welfare
Full Time Employee (Former Employee), ArizonaSeptember 16, 2012
Pros: state retirement
Cons: complete disregard for employee health, well being or loyalty
City continues to make unsound business policies and forces employees to cover cost.
Pay rates reduced in last 4 years while upper management gets raises
Use Part-Time Temp employees to fulfill Full time management position with same expectations but a quarter of the price and no room for advancement due to HR policies
So worried about media frenzy – more... caused by any previous "hidden" large projects, willing to sacrifice whole departments instead of allowing public be aware of these projects. – less

About City of Glendale

The City of Glendale's Parking Enforcement Unit has established this web-site to provide our community with a resource that offers – Read more