City of Glendale Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good summer job
Student Clerical Worker (Former Employee) –  Glendale, CAOctober 1, 2017
Loved working there the people were very nice loved doing filing and answering phones. Also helping whoever needed help also doing lite typing and getting the files.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work short term.
Traffic Signal Technician (Current Employee) –  Glendale, AZAugust 1, 2017
I have been with the City of Glendale for just over 2 years. It is a complete boys club. You have to be in good with certain people to get anywhere. If you disagree with the opinion of a manager then you will be targeted for having an opinion. The professionalism of my department is very questionable.
Pros
Checks don't bounce.
Cons
Managements professionalism is more than questionable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management no good
Manager (Current Employee) –  Glendale, AZJuly 24, 2017
upper management very lazy, no support when needed and blamed placed in all lower positions. Need different structure but will not be allowed to make changes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots To Do Not Quite Enough Time
Library Page (Current Employee) –  Glendale, AZJune 27, 2017
Shelving books
Shelf Reading
Morning Book Pick Up
Occasional Other Assignments
Peeceful Atmosphere
Hardest Part trying to fit assignments to short hrs
Pros
Short Days, No Late Fees
Cons
Short Amount Of Hours For Al ot of Work No Holiday Make Up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Assistant (Current Employee) –  City of Glendale AZJune 8, 2017
Great benefits, lots of opportunity. Great people to work with. Enjoyed my years with the city. I would recommend employment at the city of Glendale.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i dont have a review at this time
Laborer / Irrigation-Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Glendale, CAJune 7, 2017
this is a good city to work for but I don't have much details at this time .I am learning a lot and working very hard for a low pay but I m not giving up just yet
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
field work
Field Ops (Current Employee) –  Glendale, AZMay 29, 2017
I like the in field experience. There is pretty much no direction given from upper management, which means you just do what you think you should and hope for the best.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government!
Legal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZ 85301April 18, 2017
The City gives you an opportunity to interact with several departments in the organization. Promotes education and advancement. Benefits are excellent.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fun place to work
Tree crew (Current Employee) –  GlendaleJanuary 28, 2017
Great people and friendly environment. I work 530 am until 2pm. The work is physically hard but fun. The management is very fair and open to suggestions about how to better the city.
Pros
Great hours
Cons
At the mercy of the weather
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was not fun for me
Transit Operator (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZJanuary 27, 2017
I am greatful for the opportunity..the most enjoyable part of the job,was to transport my passengers an interact with them..the hardest part of my job,is that most of the people I work with was not professional,
Pros
one hour lunch
Cons
fifteen minutes breaks sometime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work. Great benefits.... limited opportunity for advacement
Police Officer (Current Employee) –  Glendale, AZDecember 7, 2016
Great benefits. Recent changes have made it difficult to advance in position. One thing that is very positive though is that you are very rarely micromanaged unless you earn it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent
supervisor (Former Employee) –  city of glendaleOctober 19, 2016
it was a decent job .i didnt really like the mangment there and were very rude when it came to helping us with the papaer work in the office . Im glad that I left
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Assigned as a School Resource Officer (Current Employee) –  Glendale, AZSeptember 20, 2016
Nice place to work that provides excellent benefits to their employees. While there have been times where the political and economic environments have not been conducive to police work, the City of Glendale has always done what is best for their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Billing Compliance Specialist (Current Employee) –  Glendale, AZAugust 24, 2016
Answered multi line telephone. Responded to customer billing questions. Learned to listen and hear out all issues. Learned to managed a small team of 4. Worked well with co-workers they wanted a leader which I feel I am. The hardest part about my job was saying no. Most enjoyable part would be the team I worked closely with.
Pros
Potlucks
Cons
Short lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
CSR (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZMay 6, 2016
fast pace environment, 100 plus inbound calls daily, very unorganized. employee complaints. Worked in water services and tax and license.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Tax Technician (Current Employee) –  Glendale, COMarch 31, 2016
great place for employment. The city has a Rugby field and employees can go to the games for free on the weekend. The benefits are awesome. I would recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not in business any longer
EQUIPMENT MECHANIC SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Glendale, AZMarch 23, 2016
it was a great company to work for
they let you work independently

the hours were good

employees were great and so was management
Pros
company
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
Recreational Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZJanuary 7, 2016
A typical day at work consisted of marking down the attendance of children while also engaging them in activities. On a daily basis we would provide a snack and also supervised sports as well as arts and crafts.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent experience
Airport Operations Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZOctober 3, 2015
My city of Glendale experience was great all the way around. I worked closely with the Director of Aviation coordinating and administering the Glendale airport Operating & Capital budgets, and Airport Master Plan while procuring federal AIP and state matching grants. Identified and prioritized day-to-day airport operational, maintenance and security related tasks/projects in accordance to federal, state, and local regulations, specifically FAR Part 139 and TSA 1542 compliance.
Pros
A little better managed now
Cons
poor arena management agreement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and learned many different skills
City Attorney=s Office (Former Employee) –  Glendale, CASeptember 18, 2015
Interesting and diverse work. Ability to exercise autonomy and make independent decisions. Enjoyed interactions with all levels of the organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Glendale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 55 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7