Find companies:
City of Greensboro
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

City of Greensboro Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Let the summer laughs roll.
Camp Counselor (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCOctober 7, 2014
Summer camp is a way for children to unwind from the constant demand throughout the school year. Parks and Rec. Camp Counselors work with their Supervisors to come up with fun and enriching activities to engage children. Fun and excitement is the key to a great camp. Constantly looking for great programs and field trips really makes the time fly by. – more... By the end of camp, numerous memories have been built leading to life-long friendships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent friendly environment workplace
Home Energy Response Officer (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCAugust 12, 2014
efficiently managed.
open to suggestions.
wonderful environment to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable working environment
Manager (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCJuly 22, 2014
Work/life balance can be maintained, even by those exempt from overtime compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, Steady, Professional Organization
Manager (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCJuly 6, 2014
Pros: employee centered environment
During my time with the organization, I have been exposed to a variety of learning opportunities that have helped expand my understanding of people and their needs. The hardest part of being in public service is to remember the problem or issue is important to someone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Candid Review
Building Inspector/Multi-Trade Inspector (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: working with people
Cons: management doesnt listen or lookout for its staff!!
A typical work day consist of about 12 to 15 inspections on residential and commercial jobs.
I have learned how to deal with all sorts of people, and be very diversified in my job and flexible.
-Co-workers are fine, I get along with almost anyone as long as thety treat me as they want to be treated.
-Most enjoyable part of the job is helping the public, – more... solve a problem that they thought could not be fixed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Newly Elected
City Council-member (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCNovember 20, 2013
Just elected to office to represent District 2. I had the opportunity to work as a staff member and it was a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational
Community Planner/Development Coordinator Intern (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCOctober 8, 2013
The most challenging part of the job was scheduling between my class schedule and balancing both class projects and work projects. The most enjoyable part of the job was the ability to set my hourly schedule weekly and the educational site visits. Enjoyed the internship because it provided me with many different experiences in planning and project management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Police Records Specialist (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCSeptember 21, 2013
Great benefits..however if working in the Police Records Dept. be ready to work around the 24hr shift which can be demanding!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping Employees
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCAugust 21, 2013
I enjoy helping fellow team members as a administrative assistant to the police/security department
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, never a dull moment
Youth Coordinator (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCJuly 29, 2013
A typical day at work is very busy but fun. The co-workers are nice and believe in teamwork. The hardest part of the job as a youth coordinator is keeping up with the you. The most enjoyable part is building relationships with the youth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time job
Recreation Center Attendant (Former Employee), GreensboroJuly 11, 2013
Easy part time job! pay not too bad either...
Worked great with another full time job.
not too stressful...only issue was trying to get hired full time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Lab Specialist (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCJuly 1, 2013
The city has the potential to be a good place to work but the management is not good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and pordutive and with free shows
Customer Service in GSO Coliseum (Current Employee), Greensboro NCJune 5, 2013
Pros: concert and sporting events
Cons: very rude guest
A day working at the Coliseum you help the guest find there seats and answer any question that they may have. I have learned how to deal with the people that come in to the Coliseum that they might have attitudes and that you cant get on back with them. The hardest part of the job Is dealing with people that have attitudes and are just rude guest. The – more... best part if working with friends and see shows and games. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Greensboro Transportation Planning Intern (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCApril 4, 2013
I had an excellent time working with multiple supervisors on numerous projects and tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure Employment
Waste Water Technician (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: secure emploment
Cons: high insurance rates, weak retirement package
Working for the city offers secure employment and steady work hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outdoor, excellent, fun
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCJanuary 11, 2013
`would show up to work at 7am and mow and weed eat bryan park soccer complex and other various city of Greensboro baseball fields. we would set up for events and clean up after events.

`Great first job learned a lot about landscaping and work ethic. I also received various knowledge about mowers and equipment repair.

`I love the smell of grass I found – more... from this job. Really enjoyed working outdoors in the sun and working hard – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, bad economy
Rollout Technician (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCSeptember 18, 2012
Pros: wonderful people, self-paced, well staffed
Cons: hiring freeze on new positions
Working in the Information Technology Department was great, lots of great and knowledgeable people. There was always support, no mater if it was a professional issue, inter-employee issue, or even a personal issue. The only down side is the current hiring freeze on new positions. I was lucky because there was a "dire need" for my position, but the most – more... that could be granted was a "roster" position, e.g. 20 hours per week, up to 1025 (estimate) per calendar year, no benefits, hourly pay rate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling work environment.
Human Resources Director (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCAugust 6, 2012
Pros: citizens service is a priority
Cons: budget constraints
Co-workers are dedicted to citizen service. The most enjoyable part of my day occurs when supporting a management team comitted to employees and citizens.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCJuly 4, 2012
Pros: i was very profiecient in the system
Cons: it was only a part-time position with no benifits.
As a Administrative Assistant my job function was to interact with City of Greensboro employees when it came to making there employee ID Badges. I was also resposible for giving each employee there own access to certain buildings and gates (according to there supervisors directions). I would report daily to the assistant city manager (my boss) if there – more... was anything i needed. I really enjoyed working for the city because i got to meet a lot of people in all different departments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working for the city of Greensboro.
Security Guard (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCJanuary 22, 2012
Pros: flexable
Cons: not enough hours
I like working for the city of Greensboro. I don't get enough hours.