CITY OF HARLINGEN Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
MPO Secretary (Current Employee) –  Harlingen, TXMay 31, 2017
Normal work environment to work in, work days consist of monday through friday with all weekends off and paid holidays normal eight to five days and benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to Day
Payroll Accountant (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXMay 10, 2017
Follow procedures to prepare for payroll. I have learned a lot about time management at this job and organization due to the fact that everything needs to be processed and approved at a given time. The work environment was not that bad because i was surrounded with friendly people. I would say the hard part of the job is to get the timesheet in time .
Pros
Good work environment
Cons
No proper Guidance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not work here
Lifeguard Manager (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXApril 16, 2017
City management rarely gets involved in anything that really requires attention. They dont care for their employees and treat them badly. Poor management all around.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work long-term.
City Cashier (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXMarch 30, 2017
Working for the City of Harlingen was great. I loved my job and the city made an effort to include all departments at various function. Typical day at work was from 8-5, great benefits, and understanding management.
Pros
Staff luncheons and get togethers, opportunities for volunteer work
Cons
Stressful at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked, underpaid and unappreciated.
Director (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXMarch 11, 2017
Overworked, underpaid and unappreciated. They stretch all the employees as much as they can as upper level management takes credit for the staff's work. Gender discrimination is rampant.
Pros
Great peers
Cons
Horrible management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Library Assistant (Current Employee) –  Harlingen, TXOctober 5, 2015
Fun place to work at with very encouraging supervisors. You learn a lot with great co-workers and meet a lot of fun and interesting people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect Summer Job years old
Coach (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXSeptember 24, 2015
I taught kids about team work and how to become better athletes. It was a seasonal summer job, and the work environment was outdoors all the time with kids ranging from 4 to 17 years of age. The kids that I coached 4 years ago are now all in college, and two have gotten track scholarships both have thanked me for helping them and being there for them. That has been the most enjoyable part to that job because they have passed what I taught them on to other kids they have helped with this program.
Pros
The kids you help
Cons
Valley heat during summer is monsterous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday is an opportunity to make a difference!
Code Enforcement Officer (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXSeptember 4, 2014
No two days are the same. Addressing citizens' complaints takes patience and perseverance. You must learn not to take things personal and be able to communicate in a calm and effective manner. It is a good feeling knowing that your supervisors and directors trust in your judgement and allow you to do your job with minimal supervision. Having the ability to work independently or as part of a team is a must. You must trust in your co-workers to perform their duties in a quick, efficient and fair manner. It is always difficult having to address a violation when you know that doing so may impose a financial burden upon a citizen especially the elderly and disabled. However there is always a great sense of accomplishment when during the course of your duties you make a positive impact on the community.
Pros
Meeting new people, making a difference in struggling neighborhoods, improving the visual appearance of the City.
Cons
Making citizens angry, not being able to solve a citizens' complaint/concern.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pools are good places to work.
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXApril 11, 2013
Only one real complaint. As a lifeguard, I had flexible amount of hours, but sometimes when I needed a substitute, most of the workers were unwilling to pick up the shift.
Pros
easy work
Cons
difficult to hand over a shift to someone else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee's were very easy to get along with
Maintenance Worker/Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXOctober 20, 2012
Performed pre-trip inspection on school bus. Began designated route. Pick up and drop off students to designated schools. The harest part of the job was sometimes the students getting out of control and knowing how to control the situation. The most enjoyable part of the job was that it was repititious. I did the same thing everyday.
Pros
was able to put in overtime and recieved raises throughout the year.
Cons
health insurance for family was expensive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CITY OF HARLINGEN. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
2.8
Culture
3.2

CITY OF HARLINGEN Reviews by Location