Find companies:
City of Hope
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
68 reviews

City of Hope Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Landscaping
Back Loader & Go Live Specialist (Former Employee), Duarte, CAApril 29, 2014
Pros: honestly great staff
Cons: not really a con but campus is huge!! (a lot of walking :) )
The grounds are breath taking!!
Good food in the lunch lounge.
Modern Facility.
True love and compassion between the staff and patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee), Duarte, CAApril 28, 2014
Pros: great teamwork
Cons: limted autonomy, difficult to get full time.
Great teamwork and a rewarding place to work. Amazing Pulmonary team that works well with us; the RT's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work
Custodian Worker (Current Employee), CAApril 10, 2014
Pros: i like my job
Cons: i need more hours
I start my day buy greeting everyone. I start going to do my round in the hospital taking out the trash asking the patient if there any thing I can do for them . I work well with my co-workers the hardest part of my job is seen the patients sick .The most enjoyable part is that I'm a hard worker and some time the patients smile at me when they see me – more... . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Initially, a good place to show, practise and share your best!
FACILITIES PLANNER-CONSTRUCTION PROJECT MANAGER (Former Employee), Duarte, CAApril 8, 2014
Generally (Campus-wide), a very good place to work as one can also have the opportunity to serve people (employees) and patients of various cultures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic and friendly environment
Valet Supervisor (Former Employee), Duarte, CAMarch 10, 2014
At the City of Hope, the most enjoyable part of the job is communicating with the patients and their spirit that they have while dealing with cancer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrendous Interview Process
Human Resources (Former Employee), MonroviaFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: organization does quality work.
Cons: human resources lacks and overstaffed.
While this may not be a true review of the amazing work that the organization performs, the interview process is horrendous and their human resources team is very elitist. Apparently it stems from the fact that COH elected to bring non-healthcare recruiters and HR professionals from elitist organizations and seem to have this chip on their shoulders. – more... "You should be honored to work here" seemed to be the impression I received. As opposed to an interview, I was left with a feeling of having experienced an interrogation. I have never received any acknowledgement after the interview and multiple emails and calls to the HR director and recruiters have been answered--extremely encouraging as one brash recruiter [ex-Disney I believe] made the comment, "I'd be happy to answer any questions you might have... feel free to get in touch."

HR tends to be the front line of an organization--if there's any validity to that positioning, COH fails in every possible way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfaction at the end of a work day.
Pathology Transcriptionist (Current Employee), Duarte, CAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: very knowledgeable and nice people to work with. comfortable working environment.
Cons: to be laid off very soon - due to outsourcing.
A typical day at work is all serious work, little bit of "hello" and "hi" to people (visitors or coworkers) along the way, learning how to be kind, honest, patient, and helpful all the time, managing my work load and work time efficiently, and being helpful and nice to coworkers, as well.

The hardest part of the job is to make sure that every patient – more... report that goes out is correct and done on a timely manner.

The most enoyable part of the job is to see that my work is part of patient treatment or care, and ultimately for patient wellness. I feel very satisfied and accomplished at the end of a work day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Rewarding Work place
Clerical Specialist I (Current Employee), Duarte CAFebruary 22, 2014
Open up the reception area, reconcile reports from previous day, file and schedule donors. Contact possible blood drive sponsors.

Most enjoyable part of my day is the donors we meet and the patients we meet, they remind us why were here and who we are doing it for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding environment to help oncology patients
Clinical Expert/Clinical Systems Analyst (Current Employee), Duarte, CAJanuary 28, 2014
Fulfilling work that helps to find and provide the best treatments for cancer patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great caring place
CNA (Former Employee), Duarte, CAJanuary 15, 2014
superb hospital with great hospitality. Fun and professional with great working people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time Researcher
Part-time Researcher (Former Employee), Duarte, CAJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, lots of resources, good bosses
Cons: insecure job, low income.
I worked in a mutagenesis research laboratory at City of Hope as an extended intern while still in college. It was nice to have flexible hours that fit into my school schedule and work was meaningful (not busy work). My PI was very knowledgeable and reasonable because he let me have time off without problems if I had to study for midterms/finals. I – more... was generating mutational data that was being used to support the experimental theory that the whole lab was based around so I felt my time was well spent. Since City of Hope is a non-profit organization, the research laboratories came and went quite often so job security was always an issue. If your lab wasn't generating enough data to get good grants, then the lab probably wouldn't make it very long here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to come to work everyday.
Clinical Research Associate II (Current Employee), Duarte, CADecember 11, 2013
Patient care,consenting, lab processing and shipping, dug accountability, questionnaire, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prejudice against minorities, especially blacks
Research Asst (Former Employee), DuarteNovember 12, 2013
Cons: above
Only good place to work if you are philipino, white, or other asian. Very much a clickish atmosphere, not open to hispanics or blacks unless you are mainteneance or service worker
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring and Compassionate Cancer Center
Pain and Palliative Care Nurse Practitioner (Current Employee), Duarte, CAOctober 10, 2013
Pros: independant learning, self-directing, good working relationships
Cons: no follow through with patients once on hospice
I have out-patient clinic two days a week and I see patients for complications from their chemotherapy and manage their chronic pain. I assess them holistically and obtain consults as needed. I prepare patients for acepting hospice and remain available for emotional and spiritual support.
I maintain a phone triage for all patients in our pain and palliative – more... care practice for adjustng medications, assisting with concerns, and evaluating need to come to the hospital for examination.
I work with an interventional pain specialist and see the patients in the greatest pain unresponsive to traditinal therapy. I arrange intrathecal pain pump placements, and provide reprogramming and refills.
I have learned how poorly trained nurses are when caring for a dying patient. As part of my DNP program I developed an acronym organized pocket tool to prompt nurses on the most common needs of the dying it is called CARES (Comfort, Airway, Restlessness, Emotional support, and Self-Care). I want to improve hospital based care to be more in-tune with what Hospice provides.
My co-workers and management are all very supportive and easy to work with.
The hardest part of my job is to transfer care to Hospice and cease all involvement with patient's and families that I worked closely with for a year or longer. I seem to want more direct involvement in the teaching and training of staff on care of the dying.
The most enjoyable part of my job is my patients. I am so humbled by their courage and strength. I like feeling I make a difference and feel providing quality of life must be a primary focus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Analyst
Vendor Management Coordinator (Former Employee), Duarte, CAOctober 2, 2013
Running reports for staff, trouble shooting computer issues, vendor management....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Senior Internal Auditor, Internal Audit (Former Employee), Duarte, CASeptember 10, 2013
good work life balance, good people, collaborative environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Senior Systems Analyst (Current Employee), Duarte, CASeptember 9, 2013
The people are nice.
Low-key environment.
Large cubicles.
No manager in charge of my group.
My co-workers do not work well together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hospital setting
phamacy technician (Former Employee), Duarte, CAAugust 28, 2013
had the best 8 yrs working for this company. pay is low, but it's nice to work with everyone. everyone is nice and very pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture of Life
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee), CAAugust 10, 2013
Pros: wages, benefits, retirement benefits
Cons: not enough beds in the clinic or hospital for the patient population we serve
I loved working at the City of Hope. It was a challenge but I was constantly learning new things. The culture of the City of Hope is to encourage learning and helping you advance in your career through education. It is also a culture of life and hope. It is a beautiful serene setting. At lunch my favorite thing to do was walk through the campus. I would – more... be refreshed upon returning to my work unit. The hardest thing about working in my clinic was the bed space. Not enough beds. There were always people waiting in the lobby. The most enjoyable part of the job was to ease suffering (pain, n/v, fear) and to see the gratitude in our patients and their families. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and learn something new everyday
Clerical Specialist II-Surgery Division (Current Employee), Duarte, CAJune 28, 2013
Pros: dental and health care benefits
i handle a high volume of phone calls and maintain a positive attitude along with managing incoming and outgoing faxes, sort mail, data entry. help coordinate appointments, my job is clerical/administrative work with customer service however it is more like a compassion specialist because i deal with so many angry, scared,nervous patients so i usually – more... have a way of calming them down and helping them feel better about the situations they are in. – less

About City of Hope

Founded in 1913, City of Hope is one of only 41 comprehensive cancer centers in the nation, as designated by the National Cancer – Read more