Find companies:
City of Houston
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
202 reviews

City of Houston United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like it from the start
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 20, 2015
The people I met on the daily basis were nice and being able to learn how to issue BOP licenses and schedule the test for getting AC licenses was a great experience for me .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned how to really lookout and interact with my city
Utility Worker (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 20, 2015
I learned basic utility operations/plumbing

I also learned how to start, stop, and prime a pump

I learned how to maintain a diesel generator

I learned customer service skills in the field, I truly believe customer service in the municipality field is highly difficult to master.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace is conducive to a positive and healthy lifestyle
NUTRTIONIST CONSULTANT (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 19, 2015
Pros: Supervisors really care for the health and well being of clients.
Cons: Salary range is lower than private sector
I love the opportunity to develop and implement a variety of Nutrition Education and Wellness related project/activities
One of the most challenging task is to be able to provide effective nutrition education/counseling in a limited time as clients come for their certification appointments..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Rating
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 10, 2015
My typical day at work contains assisting the public. My co workers and I work together to make sure we serve the customers with the best customer service. I enjoy working with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Utility Worker (Current Employee), 7101 RenwickApril 9, 2015
Most days are the same routine as far as getting the crew together and getting the truck ready which includes daily inspection. working with the city of Houston I have learned how to repair and replace fire hydrants, I've learned how to repair broken water mains and service lines. for the most part my co-workers are great we always got along pretty good but to me the hard part in being able to advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Customer Service representative I (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 8, 2015
GREAT PLACE TO WORK ..friendly people able to ask questions. able to work at own pace, learn the many things how the city works, great co-workers able to be team players
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace and good jobs
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 7, 2015
Pros: Hour Lunch
Cons: Good Healthcare plam
City of Houston is a very good place to work for and a good company. but it's very hard to get hire on with the City of Houston
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning experience working with my hard-working, fun loving officers.
Data Entry Operator (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 3, 2015
A typical day always starts with coffee, getting my computer up and running and deciding which job on my desk to start on first. The best part of working there were my co-workers. They really made working there really wonderful. It was like home away from home, a family that works hard and cares for each other, with good-hearted fun and disagreements mixed in every so often.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great work environment and all the employees are great
LABORER (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 24, 2015
I really like the division im in also with solid waste employees always make things better for the customers.We always make things to happen for customers with things they are trying to get rid of to make space for something or just getting things cleaned up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe Company to work for
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 5, 2015
Pros: pretty laid back
Cons: great healthcare
Very busy
Co-Workers are pretty good
The hardest part of my job is getting there
The most enjoyable is the vacation time
What I have learned about management is that they only give promotions to the hirer ups.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management and good people to work with. Mostly treat you like family.
Senior Account Clerk - Solid Waste Management (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 4, 2015
Pros: two fifteen minute break and ocassionaly on friday leave early before quitting time.
Cons: you want get rich working for a government agency.
Being organized and finalized task with prioritizing duties for the following week.How to work and build power on the job. Management are caring professional people. Co-workers are team-players. Hardest part of the job is knowing when to stop. Working with my co-worker who are great! and to get the work done on time under high pressure and appreciation of the same.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Administrative Associate (Current Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 22, 2015
Pros: job stability
Cons: hard to advance from current department
Work is easy but there is no room for advancement unless someone dies or retires. The department makes it hard for you to leave. There is a lot of pettyness among all three shifs. Overall I like my coworkes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
INVENTORY MANAGEMENT CLERK (acting) (Current Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 5, 2015
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst job ever
Sr. Dispatcher (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 3, 2015
I would not advise anyone to go work for the city of houston. benefits are terrible, pay is terrible, and management is terrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid place to work, great people.
Security Officer Investigator (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 30, 2015
Pros: secure employment
Cons: salary is not as good as it could be but there is upward mobility potential.
The hardest part of the job is traffic and that isn't so bad. The people within the organization are friendly and committed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment
Customer Service Representative II (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 20, 2015
Pros: very close to my apartment
Cons: shift change every 4 months. they have graveyard shift as well
I only have schedule problem at this location. They have 3 shifts including grave yard shift. I am divorced mother with two children 13 and 10 girls. Willing to work day shift. I am very hard working and dependable. I just need a chance to prove my self. Management is very happy with me but I am not happy with the rotating shift. Shift changes every 4 months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and diverse workplace
Management Analyst III (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 18, 2015
Pros: free metro rides, affordable healthcare, great retirement programs
Cons: growth opportunity
Check email & voice mails
Run payroll reports
Research payroll errors
Delegate work to co-workers
Assist co-workers & employees
Attend meetings
Learning new payroll/HR functions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
handled health complaints
Industrial Hygienist (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 18, 2015
Pros: did not do much work
Cons: low pay
it was a low paying non productive job
no advancement opportunity
no leadership no direction
a waiste of good time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relax and safety environment.
Graduate Engineer (Current Employee), 611 WalkerJanuary 16, 2015
Pros: helps the community and solve problems that affect people on the daily basis
Cons: not much career advance opportunities
The most enjoyable part is to help people and their community on their problem that is affecting them on the daily basis. change the pattern on how things were doing to provide safety and mobility. It has been a grand experience to be involve in community projects
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At this job every day is the same day
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 12, 2015
As a Cashier Rep. we balance the money that is taken in from different departments. Customer comes in with sales orders and we give permits for buildering, electrical, plumbing and other department in a normal day I can take in more then $199.000.

1 2 3 4 5

City of Houston Salaries

Customer Service Representative
$27,000 per year
Administrative Assistant
$35,000 per year
Management Analyst
$48,000 per year
Director of Communication
$145,000 per year
Administrative Assistant
$15.00 per hour