City of Houston Employee Reviews

Found 326 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harassment, Intimidation, Illicit favors and much more...
Equipment Operator III (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 7, 2017
A typical day at work includes a morning meeting, people hanging outside discussing rumors, then pre-trips begin on their designated vehicles, then ice is gathered for coolers and fuel. Nearly 2 hours would have passed by before anyone would leave and go to their designated worksite.
Pros
Minimum work load
Cons
Zoo like environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Equipment worker IV (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 27, 2017
A day for me is operating various types of equipment and supervising a crew with as many employees as twenty. Not a hard job to do its just the people that you deal with at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Above average local government
Senior Planner (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 22, 2017
Houston provided opportunities for professional growth with training and additional education to improve. Once recognized by the Department Director, opportunities are available to work on interesting projects. Pay was low compared to other professional organizations. Workload was not evenly distributed. Pay was not always commensurate with work performance. Could be paid the same as an employee doing minimal work. Only reward for good work was more work, but provided a lot of learning opportunities for young or new to the profession.
Pros
Interesting Projects
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 21, 2017
Working for the City is the best experience of my career.
My Co-Workers are more like family. You get to meet new people everyday and learn the workings of the fourth largest city in the U.S.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would love the opportunity to be your Life Enrichment Coordinator, because serving others is not just what I do, it's who I am.
Activity Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 16, 2017
I enjoy working with the senior community because I know what I do are helping to improve the quality of their lives.

I'm able to work with different personalities and cultures.

The hardest part of the job is I'm always striving for perfection.
Pros
Having a career I'm passionate about
Cons
Losing a senior that passes away.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Animal welfare #1
Animal Control Officer (Former Employee) –  BARC, Houston TXJanuary 31, 2017
If you want to make a difference in an animals life look into the City of Houston's BARC they are the best and animal welfare comes first.
Great caring employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The city of houston summer jobs program kept me out of trouble.
Legal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 25, 2017
All of my jobs with the city of houston were a great experience for me and prepared me for the real world. They helped me stay in school which I learned was very important for the future.
Pros
Friendly co workers
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 19, 2017
Learned alot of mechanical procedures ,pumps repair was a learning process , only thing was getting a promotion and a raise
Pros
Have free lunches every now when holidays would arrive
Cons
insurance would go up every year and no 401k that would match
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
IT Help Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 19, 2017
Solving end user technical issues on a daily basis. People were friendly atmosphere was a together atmosphere everyone was nice and helpful. I learned a lot from being there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Healthy Environment
HEAD LIFE GUARD (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 12, 2017
as a lifeguard its all about the pool and stressing to the people that are in it and want to learn how to swim or play in the pool that it is fun but it is dangerous. you have to be mindful of the surroundings while in the pool from the people as well as the environment around it. Management wise as i had been with the company for 8 plus years it has it pros and its cons with in the city there is always seniority that over powers everything and who you know matters. but it did teach you how to manager others below you so that you can pass the torch when the time comes.
Pros
pay, environment
Cons
weather sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A respective environment with amazing people
Senior Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Clear Lake, TXJanuary 11, 2017
On a typical day I would schedule meetings, file, Xerox, type correspondence, distribute incoming and outgoing mail, answer phones, assist captain and co-workers, timekeeping inquiries, liaison between command office and our station, ensure deadlines were made on assignments and other office duties as assigned.
I learned many operating systems including Microsoft Office Suite, Outlook, SAP and KRONOS.
Management was amazing to work for! Many honorable, kind people work for the department.
My co-workers were not just co-workers, they were confidants and friends whom I still talk to and what I miss the most!
The hardest part of the job were the slow days.
The most enjoyable part of the job was helping citizens and co-workers with anything I could. I also loved planning the station events and overseeing the all aspects of those events.
Pros
Food and treats that companies and citizens donated to the station!
Cons
Low pay with minimal raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  TexasJanuary 11, 2017
A wonderful place to volunteer. I was surprised at how nice and maneuverable upper management was. They seek all opportunities of growth form. driven organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 5, 2017
Excellent company to work for. We worked as a team to get any jobs that needed to be done completed. management and my coworkers were always there to assist each other when needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable which yields progress in work.
INTERN (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 28, 2016
My supervisor was a great man. Work here is great and relaxed, it is a great working environment. A typical day at work is coming in, write down messages left on the phone, check emails, talk about events that are coming up and review laws that have to do with drugs (which is our department). I thoroughly enjoyed working here as an intern.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work experience was fun and exciting and people was easy to get along with
affirmative action (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 27, 2016
I learned how to speak with confidence the management was was very respectful and nice and my coworkers was awesome and easy to talk to the hardest part of this job was make calls and stack files the most enjoyable part was my coworkers and management .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience
Police Officer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 30, 2016
great experience working for this amazing department. I have learned many skills and communication skills that I will be able to apply elsewhere on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent overall
Intern (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 30, 2016
amazing learning experience
went to hearing
helped with briefs
very helpful attorneys, willing to teach you
great lunch choices
friendly people
Pros
awesome enviornment
Cons
not paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worse job i've ever had
Senior Refugee Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 23, 2016
do not work for them

alert, alert ,slave ship

if you're willing to kiss butt to advance or,,,, to spent money on gift to the supervisors and manager,,,, or if you're happened to be bless with a nice big booty than that's the place for you.
Pros
alright benefits
Cons
very poor mentally and slavery, jail, mindset, don't do it
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice work environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 8, 2016
Help people get proper permits for buildings while providing quality customer service.
When emergency comes we come together to help Ho Houstonians
Pros
work together
Cons
healhcare options
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plan Sponsor for Healthcare Delivery System
Chief Benefits Officer; Deputy Director (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 7, 2016
Management for a $300,000,000.00 medical plan supporting 55,000 participants.

Administered a Health Benefits Advisory Board of key stakeholders

Lead and executed annual open enrollment for:
- actives
- retirees
included Wellness, Flexible and Dependent Care plans

Managed the benefits administration service center with CRM, telephony, and Cisco's workforce analytics
Pros
Pension
Cons
Pace of change, technology, bureacracy
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Houston. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 327 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6