Find companies:
City of Houston
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
151 reviews

City of Houston Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
Inspector (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 6, 2014
Pros: offer some type of pension plan
Cons: poor pay
The job does not promote advancement or inspire a person to seek a management role.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balance!!
RECREATION SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 5, 2014
Pros: job security, work-life balance
Cons: poor benefits package, poor compensation
The City of Houston offers a great avenue for stable and family oriented job seekers! Regular work schedule - 8am-5pm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
city
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 5, 2014
just trying to find better oppurtunities in life so i feed my kids n this is not the place at the time i love it but i have to make a better way in life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer to work for many benefits
Utility Worker (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 3, 2014
Pros: benefits with pension
Cons: unfair pay raises
Get all material needed for the days work. Do paper work that goes on daily route log. Search for job area in key map and set out for job sight. Measure and place cones to secure job site from traffic if needed. Repair asphalt when I was on asphalt crew and concrete when I transferred to concrete crew. Go to job sight that needed attention on sewer – more... line stoppage ( unclog sewers and customer cleanouts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
class act supervisors
maintainance worker (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 30, 2014
Pros: the pros is the people i'm surrounded by everyday
Cons: cons is not enough work
love the work I do everyday. the work also helps me stay in-shape. most importantly the job pushes me to do better everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company to work
Clinic Assistant (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 26, 2014
Pros: very flexible
Cons: no growth
customer service
helping to set up new patients file.
i had good train for customer service and organize the files
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Case Manager/Customer Service Representative lll (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 19, 2014
Very Knowledge place to work. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people I enacted with on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 18, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: health care not good
You are able to learn a lot and definitely develop strong skills that will benefit you in the world of emergency communications. You are always working with a lot of people and the culture is people have cliques or groups. This appear to be because people tend to work for government many years, however don't get stuck in that and you will do great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place but becareful of managers
Financial Management Branch, (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 19, 2014
Pros: public transportation close by
Cons: health coverage is not all that
Great place to work with use of public transportation. Becareful of managers who do not mean you well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee Life
Senior Public Health Investigator (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 11, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules
Cons: cliques, some management (depends on persons)
You are able to learn a lot and definitely develop strong skills that will benefit you in the world of Public Health. You are always working with a lot of people and the culture is people have cliques or groups. This appear to be because people tend to work for goverment many years, however don't get stuck in that and you will do great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Day
Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 6, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: management failed to keep promises regarding raise/promotion
On a typical day, I arrive to the office for 7:30a until 4:30p with a hour for lunch. After I clock in, I will check to see which of my previous payments were cleared in SAP, clear them in OnBase, and send the completed payments to the file room. Payment requests are brought to me throughout the day and are processed accordingly. I am also responsible – more... for other time keeping tasks and Kronos issues. Every other Friday I review all employee's timecard to ensure their are not any errors before payroll is ran. I have learned how to use SAP efficiently, run payroll, and also process payments against the grants. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday was a new lesson...great!!
PROCUREMENT SPECIALIST, SUPERVISOR & BUYER (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 1, 2014
I enjoyed, but needed more growth opportunity. Great group of workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving the animals
Animal Care Technician (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 25, 2014
Love the animals, hardest is putting down
love working with the animals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun workplace with a Good Common Goal
Management Analyst Intern II (Current Employee), Houston, TexasApril 14, 2014
Great Workplace working towards one common goal with the health and well being of the community of Houston, Texas
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Park Maintenance Aid - Supervisor (Current Employee), Houston, TXApril 12, 2014
I love almost everything about my job. From my managers, to the environment, getting to work inside and outside, and having coworkers that work as a team and get the job done. I just come in and start working making sure the park is being maintained correctly. Unless I am working in the Gatehouse then of course I go up there and open it up. The only – more... thing I would change is the work schedule and my duties. Which my schedule is because I never have a steady schedule it's always all over the place. So it's hard to know when I am and when I am not suppose to come in. As far as the duties, I just want to learn more and I have pretty much learned everything I can here. I just would like to have a better carrier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Urban Planner Intern (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 10, 2014
Reviewed plats for new development of public housing, buildings, and public transit routes
Aided in preparing reports regarding the approval of developments for the Planning Commission’s review
Analyzing demographic information and mapping land use areas through GIS
Attending planning commission meeting and public; recording the minutes for analyzes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Green Building Resource
Volunteer (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 4, 2014
Volunteering at the GBRC was a fun experience, I composed a marketing plan, assisted with creating displays, and guided people in choosing green materials and products for their building projects. The GBRC team is a dedicated and passionate group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excting work place
Police Service Officer (Former Employee), Houston, TXMarch 28, 2014
Pros: free dinners with police officers
Cons: no lunch eat while working.
Take reports from the public of any incidents that may have happened to them, type it up and generate a case number for them. Interview clients and criminals and take notes. take photos and finger prints of clients. Answer phone calls from the public and giving information regarding crime prevention, reports or problem referrals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health Care
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 16, 2014
Performed administrative duties of in processing and introducing the public into the government Healthcare program and responsible imputing data
Assisted Manager in providing training of new employees with Healthcare implantation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good
Senior Plan Analist (Former Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: no complains / overtime
Cons: no regrets
Always good
Interact with the public
Good
Very friendly
Always busy
When I go home

1 2 3 4 5