Find companies:
City of Irving
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

City of Irving Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to have had a career
Heavy Equiment Operator / Route Driver (Former Employee), Irving, TXNovember 30, 2014
Pros: respectible retirement package
Cons: working outside during bad weather
Most of my days were spent outside, driving a truck, while interacting with the public. I really enjoyed working outside and getting to meet new people. I would have to say the most difficult part of the job was operating a boom around low hanging power lines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to intern
Intern (Current Employee), Irving, TXNovember 7, 2014
Pros: great people, learn a lot, meet a lot of people
Great staff with tons on Knowledge. Willing to share and teach
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Irving
Staff Assistant (Current Employee), Irving, TXOctober 14, 2014
Pros: helping others in a bad sitution
Cons: the heart break of children
The day is hectic dealing with crime victims
I have learned listening skills, computer skills, and managing those with tempers. I have learned to depend on my co-workers to watch what I cannot see and teach me what I do not know. The hardest part of the job is dealing with the child victims. The most enjoyable is seeing a crying child smile after they – more... receive a teddy bear and a hug. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome and fun environment
Lifeguard (Former Employee), Irving, TXMay 25, 2014
Pros: consistent breaks, getting to swim a whole lot, sociable environment
Cons: a lot of hours
• Supervise activities of members and guests.
• Participate in “in-service” weekly activities to ensure the safety of the members and guests.
• Collect for membership fees.
• Provide regular maintenance of facility and equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Intern, Housing and Human Services Department (Former Employee), Irving, TXMarch 13, 2014
I had an internship in the City of Irving and it was a fun place to work at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, learned alot.
Detention Officer (Former Employee), Irving, TXMarch 12, 2014
Pros: everyone was a team player
Working for the City of Irving was a great place to work, learned a lot in a short period of time. Co-workers were great people.
The hardest part about the job was learning the different bonds and learning Central Control.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Recreational Specialist (Former Employee), Irving, TXNovember 27, 2013
The city cares about you as an employee and if something happens to you or your family they give you the time you need to deal with it. I think that this is great place to work!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great sense of helping and dealing with the public
Irving Crossing Guard (Current Employee), Irving, TXNovember 13, 2013
Pros: love the flexability
Cons: no benefits and few hours
My job is crossing children and teenagers and pedestrians. I have learned to be patient and understanding and also to be stern on occasions. Management is great my boss is a very understanding and helpful individual. I don't really do much interacting with co-workers since I am alone at my post. Hardest part of job is not being able to tell drivers – more... they are speeding. My most enjoyable is helping the children and pedestrians and anybody needing my help. I also enjoy being outside and enjoying the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environmental Compliance is the key to Clean Water
Environmental Compliance Specialist/ Supervisor (Former Employee), Irving, TXAugust 31, 2013
Pros: no lay offs
Cons: no opportunity for advancement
There are many aspects of Water quality. There are water quality programs that can be detrimental to any city if they are not compliant. The drinking water, wastewater, total oils and grease, and stormwater programs that must follow the rules and regulations provided in the 40 CFR for environmental protection agency. Making sure that each program follows – more... it's protocol for compliance requires a strategic plan that must be followed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting workplace
Police Officer (Former Employee), Irving, TXApril 12, 2013
Pros: make a difference.
Cons: customer environment
The atmosphere at this place of employment is a unique and interesting one. A city department run like a business.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an organization that provided growth for self-motivated individuals
Retired (Former Employee), Irving, TXAugust 15, 2012
Pros: serving citizens and improving their quality of life.
Cons: many meetings
Strong advancement opportunity for motivated, value - add employees. Offers diverse opportunities to grow and be involved in special projects. Very much enjoyed being a public servant and assisted employyes in recognizing their importance. Very much enjoyed working with and advising City Councils.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work
Code Enforcement Officer (Former Employee), Irving, TXAugust 3, 2012
Pros: family friendly, they care about their employees
I loved working for the City of Irving! Management was very helpful, and very personable, no other place has compared!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Parks and Recreation available to employees and family.
Recreation Building Maintenance Leader (Former Employee), Irving, TXJune 22, 2012
It was a pleasure working at City Of Irving. Very friendly,Team work oriented and excellent work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City of Irving is a city on the move
Receptionist (Former Employee), Irving, TXMay 25, 2012
Pros: health program, bonus for being healthy and so on
Cons: no cons to report
A typical day is great in interacting with customers, volunteers and co-workers. I learned that if we all do our part then the job is done. I think instead of management pointing fingers, also re-evaluate yourself. Your fellow co-workers are a joy to work with. The hardest part of the job is when you go home thinking about your job and how you can improve – more... it. The most enjoyable part is that I was a part of the City of Irving when it came from the days of old and into the current century. Change is good, especially in this case and will also generate great revenue. – less