Find companies:
City of Lancaster
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 reviews

City of Lancaster Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part-time job for students
Recreation Leader I (Current Employee), Lancaster, CAJune 28, 2014
Pros: flexable work schedule, good for students
Cons: restricted hours, work during holidays
Most days in my specific department sees me and one to two others preparing softball fields for community leagues. This typically includes placing bases, watering the infield, leveling the batters area and chalking the foul lines. We also provide services for larger softball organizations during the summer months.

As city employees we also participate – more... with other community events such as our yearly Poppy Festival, Christmas on the BLVD, and BooLVD for Halloween. These events have us serve in a variety of capacities, anything from taking tickets at the front gates of events, cleanup, providing directions, running family games, security, set-up, tear-down, escorts, traffic direction, to parking enforcement.

Because of certain working hour restrictions it is typically very easy to work around another job or school. Bosses and supervisors are generally easy-going as long as your doing your job and don't shy away from getting dirty or helping with tasks.

My favorite part of the job is the fact that I get to spend several day of the week outside at the park (easily the best looking part of our desert) and being active in my community, even if its just chalking fields for others to play on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Maintenance Aide 1 (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: good
City of Lancaster back me while I am working for the Air National Guard. Everyone I work was good workers toward me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible hours
Recreation Leader I (Current Employee), Lancaster, CAMarch 12, 2014
Conducts and assists in the organization of community recreation programs, park activities and special events. Assists in the planning, implementation and promotion of recreation programs for youth and adults. Supervises the distribution, use and care of recreation supplies, equipment and facilities; promotes the safety of patrons who utilize the parks – more... and its programs; and maintains order at recreation facilities during organized activities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding, good start for entry level
Performing Arts Manager (Current Employee), Lancaster, SCJanuary 22, 2013
Pros: state benefits
Cons: no room for advancement
Enjoyed my employment but no room for advancement. I have worked as a manager for many years. All managers within the City of Lancaster are micromanaged. This is a body of government.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Public Safety Volunteer (Current Employee), Lancaster, CANovember 20, 2012
When I am on the job I always find new ways to look at ideas. I find that working with someone already in the field gives me the advantage I need to learn how to approach problems from different ways.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best but not the worst
Airport Operations Agent (Former Employee), Lancaster, TXAugust 29, 2012
Pros: good hours
Cons: no benefits for full timers except if your in the management position
Working for the city is ok except there always short on money. so they cut corners every where. Even though i was full time. I was never offered any benefits nor overtime. typical 8 hr work day and since its a goverment body you have holidays off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active and fun to work
Laborer (Former Employee), Lancaster, PAAugust 24, 2012
Pros: healthcare
Responding to emergencies calls, cleaning streets, street construction and on winter removing snow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive challedging rewarding
maint wrk 1 (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAAugust 23, 2012
Pros: outside work and inside one was there own boss
Cons: extreme weather
prepare tools and plan and organize for days work depend on location at parks open clean restrooms get pre schools ready clean park trash and vandlism prepare ballfields at city hall clean offices carpet restroom at activty bldg prepare auditorium ongoing repair of bldg and grounds the job was interesting and always different
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and active position
Peace Officer - Under PC 832 (Current Employee), Lancaster, CAJuly 23, 2012
Pros: people i work with and people in the community.
Cons: dealing with rude and disrespectful people.
A typical day would consist of getting vechile and equipments for the shift including : shift report, keys, radio, and vechile for the shift. Patrol all City of Lancaster facilities and provide safety and security. I was responsible to ensuring that all park facilities were closed and secured. I learned to deal with people and provide customer service. – more... The management staff was and has always been supportive. The hardest thing about the job, is sometimes dealing with rude and angry citizens in the community. The most enjoyable is helping and assisting others.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Beneficial Program
Recreation Leader II (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAJune 9, 2012
Pros: my co workers
Cons: no benefits
A typical day starts at around 3:00 pm. The Rec Leaders set up snacks for the children who get out at around 3:15 pm. The children eat their snacks and then it is academic time. From around 3:45pm to 4:30pm is homework time, where the children are able to get some or all of their homework done. I am there to help them with their studies. 4:30-5 pm is – more... academic time, where we play academic games, read or write depending on the day. 5-6 pm is recreation time where we either do arts and crafts or play outdoor games. I learned that children, no matter what age, love and need acceptance, inspiration and a well done for their effort. The management was very supportive and helpful and my co-workers were great. There was no real difficult part of the job, however, the most challenging was finding ways to aid the different personalities in their specific needs; which was also the most rewarding and enjoyable part. Finding new and interesting ways to challenge the children academically was very fulfilling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to word
heavy equipment op (Former Employee), with in the cityFebruary 28, 2012
Pros: supervisors would listen to the workers
Cons: no work on rain days
Good place to work at, my Supervisors knew what they wanted and encouraged workers to give opinion