CITY OF LAREDO Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Bridge Officer Collector (Former Employee) –  Laredo, TXJanuary 8, 2018
my cow-workes great to work with management just looking at what you do wrong but never of what u do good..every day you learn something new with the customers...
Pros
talk to co-workers
Cons
managements no good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse
Human Resources Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Laredo, TXJanuary 2, 2018
I am happy and grateful for the experience I acquired while working for the HR department at the City of Laredo. I learned how to multitask projects considering it was a very high paced environment. I had the opportunity to work with various departments and levels of management. The city also provided great health care benefits.
Pros
Great learning experience
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
muy buena
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Laredo txNovember 21, 2017
Muy buena experiencia y trabajar para mí retiro y tener un trabajo igual o mejor y tener facilidad de progresar
Pros
seguro medico
Cons
retiro para mí tercera edad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen ambie te laboral
Bridge Officer Collector (Current Employee) –  Laredo, TXSeptember 23, 2017
Horarios cambiantes cada 3 meses, un puente al año
Pros
Todos los veneficios y tus 40 horas seguras
Cons
Cambio de puesto cada año
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Laredo, TXSeptember 8, 2017
Never had any problems with anyone just went to do my job and go home! Only thing i wouldn't approve of was the very low pay, other than that the staff was always very welcoming.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Jod
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Laredo, TXAugust 24, 2017
Fun Summer job, had a good time with the kids. Very easy going and no stress. was able to enjoy may activity with kids. was able to supervise several pool party's
Pros
layed back
Cons
to short of time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Teller/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Laredo, TXJuly 16, 2017
A slow environment fun and positive work place.
Little to no supervision . Excellent co workers, always taking care of each other. The downfall, was you had to work 24/7 with no holidays off now weekends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but management is in constant change.
Auditor (Current Employee) –  Laredo, TXMay 31, 2017
Must be pro active at all times. You must be able to adapte to change every four years. Be a learner as well as a mentor. Be willing to accept change in job position.
Pros
Good benifits if you have a family.
Cons
Every four years, constant change.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the City of Laredo was the best
Scale House Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Laredo, TXApril 26, 2017
The City of Laredo was a safe environment, t give me the opportunity to learn and growth ...has a person and has supervisor. I loved working there and I enjoy very single women of it.
Pros
exellent pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Laredo, TXJanuary 28, 2016
Outdoor job assigned to different locations around the city. Great coworkers we work as a team were usually in groups. Good benefits but its not a good paying salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work enviorment
Water Utilities (Former Employee) –  Laredo, TXMay 18, 2015
Typical day at work for me is to start my day from 8-5 inspected the utility truck and tools ,then repair broken water lines around the city.
you learn how to install water line pipes, pluming main water lines on city streets. friendly environment, team of four, overnight plumbing fixing several broken water lines. Learning new techniques.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefit
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Laredo, TXApril 23, 2015
Great benefit and good communication overall. Some director are underrate. Its a great place to a career and learn for a better future.
Pros
benefits
Cons
Management lack knowledge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Occupational Health Nurse (Former Employee) –  Laredo, TXMarch 20, 2015
I worked for this governmental entity for 12 years and I had a great experience in working with all departmental directors, city council, city manager and city attorneys.

I enjoyed my work during the time I was at my position however was looking for more of a challenge since I had already fulfilled my goals at this work setting.

Management was good and I learned a lot over the years.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Monday to Friday Job/Work Life Balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety disissions would most of the time be made by Utilities Safety Specialist.
Safety Specialist 1 (Former Employee) –  Laredo, TXJanuary 10, 2015
A work day was never the same and always had unpredictable endings.
Safety is never an ending learning experience. Safety is to resolve issues and unsafe conditions to prevent employees from committing the sane mistake twice.
Department director was the most understandable, honest person that would never allow to be lied to.
Had never worked with such fine individuals.
Seen injured employees.
A day with out incidents.
Pros
Allowed to do the job the right way.
Cons
Been call during the night while sick.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Wastewater Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Laredo, TXNovember 24, 2014
Working here wasn't bad at all. They work schedule was very good and I had a lot of freedom to handle my business the way I saw fit. The pay wasn't up to par for the amount and type of work I did. The supervisors was also a very big problem. Sometimes they were understanding and polite and other times (most of the time) they were rude and insulted you indirectly. I would've stayed here longer, but the fact that your coworkers are out to back stab you and that your supervisors see you as dispensable made me leave.
Pros
Unsupervised work
Cons
Rude coworkers, rude supervisors, bad pay, shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun with great team work
Clerk III (Current Employee) –  Laredo, TXJune 24, 2014
With in the first few months our time was able to collect over 4,000,000,00 dollars from past accounts as well as current.
Pros
Team work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Parks and Leisure Recreation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Laredo, TXMay 28, 2014
I was able to communicate with children, play games, sports, do crafts with them, also helped out with school assignments.
Also had classes in self defense for battered women.
Co-workers were efficient and helpful.
Pros
In touch with the community
Cons
No chance for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average place to work
Accounts Payable Specialist (Current Employee) –  Laredo, TXOctober 19, 2013
Average place to work. I learned a variety of different things having to do Accounts Payable/Receivable, how to send yearly 1099's, payroll, clerical.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is enjoyable, educational and second home.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Laredo, TXJune 17, 2013
Safety first an foremost. Prepare for the start of a new day. Every day is a different day, we do actually do the same thing and always learning something new. Management keeps up with changes and informs us about them plus any changes we need to be aware of, so proper procedure be implemented. Team work is how we work here, we step it for each other and get the job done or try to finish it on the deadline that was given. All of sudden changes, where as more work added during the day and we have to decide how to plan to get it done, plus are regular work schedule routine. Knowing that we did our job the best we could and were able to help our consumers in the process of the day.
Pros
Safety enviroment, helpful workplace.
Cons
More recognitions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow pace work
Clerk II (Former Employee) –  Laredo, TXMarch 4, 2013
High pace in the morning in the afternoon slow but was very
rewarding. Co-workers and Supervisor great to work with.
Pros
just had on duty to do.
Cons
had to work on saturday a month .
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CITY OF LAREDO. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 22 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7

CITY OF LAREDO Reviews by Location