City of Los Angeles Department of Recreation and Parks Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day
Lifeguard/ Swim Instructor/ Pool Manager (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 31, 2017
depending the manager and location, work can be easy or very challenging, sometimes working with the city rules may contradict the water safety instructor teachings
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and excellent workplace
ADMINSTRATIVE CLERK (Current Employee) –  San Pedro, CAOctober 4, 2017
Working for the City of Los Angeles has been an amazing experience. A typical day at work is making sure I implement all the required task necessary. I'm grateful for the staff that I work with and my supervisors have been my mentors.
The hardest part of my job is only working 4 hours a day and completing tasks in such a small amount of time. The most enjoyable part of my job is knowing that I got a difficult task done and efficiently.
Pros
Benefits are great and pay
Cons
Low hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun exciting Job
Preschool Teacher (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 24, 2017
I love working with kids, my typical day is teaching the children the basic learning skills. Exploring them with creativity with the arts. teaching them 150 words in sign language a year.

I don't have 12 units, I have 8 years of experience. Ive learned from other teacher over the years. I work best hands on. Great ideas from each I've learned from my co workers.

The best part of this job is the children, everyday was fun. getting morning hugs and smiles.

The hardest part is when school ends, the children move on..Missing them is hard.
Pros
The children
Cons
end of school year
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment
Recreation Assistant (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 16, 2017
Great place to work. I love to work here. the city of los Angeles parks and recreation is a great place to get involved with communities. my most memorable experiences come from working summer camps.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Excellent customer service (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 9, 2017
i first clean the restroom
then i go to the playground and use the blower to dust the sand out. i then go drag the baseball field and then i finish picking up liter and emptying out the trash can
Pros
free food
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work
Camp Leader (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 28, 2017
This place provides a fun and recreational environment for the students. The staff is very supportive. There are plenty of supplies and equipment that is provided to conduct activities with students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Broken system
Assistant Director (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 12, 2017
Working for the City of LA was a big mistake in my part. People think that they have job security but they don't. Your supervisor and union will lie to you about everything. Theirs no company culture.

It's a dog world working for the Cityt where so many top dogs are fighting to see who's the boss while the ant workers do all the work with no appreciation. From the GM to the low end Supervisors, they tend to take advantage of the system by hardly working and taking more than 2-4 hours lunch.

Most Park directors come to work 2 days out the weeks and sign their time sheet like if they worked all week. Park Directors claim that they will work weekends and they never do. The city of L.A made me realize that people who work for the government are incompetent and have no moral value and no loyalty when it comes to your job.
Pros
benefits
Cons
no company culture, no appreciation, to many bosses and no work done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
CHILD CARE ASSOCIATE II (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 6, 2017
I work with children and my location is near the CA Science Center, Natural History Muesum, CA African Ametican Muesum, I like my job location, and the people
Pros
Nice working environment, good benefits
Cons
no staff break room
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive day fun interacting with the community
Pool Manager (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 31, 2017
The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to give back to the community. I learned that it is very important for everyone to learn how to swim.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Service Attendant (Current Employee) –  Griffith Park, CAJanuary 6, 2017
The work environment is professional. Customer service is always satisfied, and the comradery among workers is always positive and motivating.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about City of Los Angeles Department of Recreation and Parks?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is pretty good
Tennis Instructor (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 7, 2016
No hasle nice environment to work, great place to work at, great supervisor and Director of the park great coworkers, great place to get your kids to start playing sports
Pros
Good to work at
Cons
Not full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place
Recreation Assistant (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 16, 2015
Interesting place to work at. The department of recreation and parks has its perks and its great to see growth within people in the work place and whom I've interacted with.
Pros
Creative freedom
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun in the sun
lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Van Nuys, CAAugust 19, 2015
the aquatics directors only care about their salaries and dont care about the public and programing. they dont want to help people which is what this field is all about
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Strength and Conditioning Coach (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 7, 2015
A typical day at work was getting to the park and start programming for children when they got there after school. I learned how to work with all kinds of children. I had amazing coworkers. I've always enjoyed working with children
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Los Angeles Department of Recreation and Parks. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
4.1

City of Los Angeles Department of Recreation and Parks Reviews by Job Title

City of Los Angeles Department of Recreation and Parks Reviews by Location