Find companies:
City of Los Angeles
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
81 reviews

City of Los Angeles Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment; flexibility important.
Clerk Typist (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJuly 10, 2014
Pros: enjoyed talking to people on the phone and enjoyed people i worked with.
Cons: it took 3 hours travel time to get (to and fro). job too far from home.
The City of Los Angeles - Bureau of Sanitation. I would interface with the public by phone taking requests to start service; to receive containers; to pickup and replace broken containers; to investigate containers overfilled; or containers missed on pickup, besides handling walk-in's for container pickup. I interfaced with drivers by dispatch to check – more... locations, truck breakdowns, injuries, and accidents; printed out and distributed requests for drivers. Other requests taken are special collections for bulky item pick up of furniture, appliances; metal; wood, and yard trimmings. I scheduled hearings for truck drivers Accidents and Injuries for disciplinary actions. I filled out forms and kept records of both Accidents and Injuries of drivers, and maintained reports on both. I did data entry of 6541 dump slips at the end of each day on the SCRMIS system. After completing all entries, a print out needed to be done and each was checked for balance, corrections made and a new printout made, and distributed for each supervisor and one set for the District Manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Recreation Assistant (Current Employee), Granada Hills, CAJuly 6, 2014
Pros: fun work environment
Cons: 1040 hours per year
A typical day consists of varying jobs. I work both in the office and out on the grounds with our Summer Camp. I collect and process payments - manage spreadsheets and go over data to know when and how many people are in the camp at all times. Supervise counselors and staff. Hardest part of this job would be dealing with all ages from small children – more... ages 3 and up and adults and seniors too. I enjoy the challenges of this job and all the varying aspects. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complies with work instructions and is observant of Division rules including safety and his crew.
Worker II (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 18, 2014
Always busy in the field. I learned to be a good crew leader. Managed my crew in rules and safety. I got along with my co-workers and complete the work on schedule. The hardest part of my job is setting up the cones and directing the traffic. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that no-one get hurt and job was done in a safe manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Legislative Deputy (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 18, 2014
I learned how politics really work from boss and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need to rotate you in volunteer positions
Engineering Intern, Environmental Eng Division (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJune 6, 2014
Need more communication between different departments and allow you to move to wherever you choose.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse, Fun, Professional
HR Coordinator/Site Administrator (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 28, 2014
Pros: professional, growth, great experience
Cons: furlough days required by government
The City of Inglewood is where it all began for me career wise. Here I was able to gain career direction. I loved this position as I was able to gain skill by being not only employed but mentored by some of the most successful attorney's in the Los Angeles County.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kind and understanding
Project Engineer Internship (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMay 20, 2014
Pros: lenient hours
Cons: fast paced work schedule leaves little time for learning
Most of the job is typical desk work. The project was amazing and expansive. Employers and bosses are very understanding that it is a learning experience. They ensured that they did what ever possible to enjoy your field of work. Even as an unpaid intern my mentors pitched in for an end of internship pay bonus. Left me with great networking afterwards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great professional atmosphere
Office Clerk/ Phone Operator/ Student Worker (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 1, 2014
Gained a lot of valiuble experience working for the City Of Los Angeles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great palce to work
City Manager Office Assistant (Current Employee), Los AngelesMarch 31, 2014
very rewarding place to work and grow professionally. I have had great opportunities for crossing training and learning new things in such a short time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Clerk Typist (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 19, 2014
Pros: co-workers, easy access to work location, compensation and benefits
Cons: understaffing, questionable upper management actions/decisions
For me, working for the Department of Water and Power was a wonderful, albeit trying at times, experience. Could not be a better bunch of people to work with or for. Upper management was questionable at best with organizational decisions, but the environment itself worked very well for me.

Typical day was hectic as there were always numerous incoming – more... telephone calls, filing to be done, correspondence to be prepared, information to be located. This made the day go by very quickly most of the time.

The most enjoyable part of the job for me was the people I worked with. The hardest part of the job was understanding and dealing with upper management's decisions and actions taken. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun office environment
Office Manager/Lead Reservation Clerk (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 12, 2014
A wonderful environment to grow in.
A stable environment.
New projects all of the time.
Wonderful support from the office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to better help others better their lives
Youth Squad Supervisor (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 4, 2014
I believe motivation is a key to surviving on a typical day at work. I have learned that in order to fulfill my potentials, I must not settle for 'just good enough'. In order to have a stress working environment, management and co-workers must work together as a team. The hardest part of a job is working with co-workers who do not want to be there and – more... are non-motivated on the job. The most enjoyable part of the job is turning those non-motivated workers into positive motivated workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment to work
SPA II (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: have free lunches, met new people and gain knowledge
Cons: lunch whenerver possible, variable schedule and deal with angry costumers.
As an Assistance Manager people expect from you a lot. Your basically in charge of every detail at work. I've learned a lot out of this job. How to run a store from counting drawers, inventory, run shifts and process all information into the computer. I learned how to work with my co-workers, how to grid costumers., learned that costumers are always – more... right and give what they asked for. The hardest part of the job is try to have everybody happy and pleased with what they asked you for. Cover areas that you don't have replacement and give 100% on everything. And the most enjoyable part is getting to know a lot of people and all the knowledge you gain from the job you're doing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Public Safety Officer (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAFebruary 24, 2014
worked with the city for 6 years and i was able to grow with in the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LAPD
Los Angeles Police Department, Police Officer II (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: variety in daily duties
Everyday was a new experience. I learned alot as a new police officer. I learned so many things from working on the streets of Los Angeles. I am grateful for all the lessons I learned. I loved my co-worked and was an integral part of a wonderful organization. LAPD will forever be a valuable part of who I am. My work ethic and morale character are engrained – more... by my training and experience. The hardest part of being a police officer is the criminal element in which you deal with however it is the best job in the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace with a a view and friendly atmosphere
Park Services Attendant (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: excellent view, productive staff, friendly visitors
Cons: rainy days cause mud slides
Every day I travel up the mountain I can see a beautiful view of my wonderful city.

I have learned how to cater to people from all around the world to create a first class experience at Griffith Observatory.

Griffith Observatory has a 5 star rating on most visitor websites because of the amazing programing and floor staff.

I enjoy interacting with – more... people from all over the world and making their visit a pleasant and unforgettable one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
Custodian Service Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 29, 2014
look on the board see what floors im cleaning go get my supplies i have learned to make sure all my floors are clean
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy work place enjoyed recruitment and staff.
Senior Election Clerk (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: every holiday off and pay.
Cons: n/a
Very detailed, a lot of deadlines to assignments needed to be meet on a timely manner. Learned how to manage staff and special projects, engaged in a lot of manager meeting which was very insightful and mandatory since I was the Senior Clerk. Hardest part of the job was staff due to the fact I was in a new position at an old job (adjustment).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was happy to work in this place.
Refuse Collection Truck Operator (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 13, 2014
If was the worse mistake that I did.;leave the City of Los Angeles job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Executive Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 10, 2014
Fast paced. working with public and private sector. Highly political. motivated to work hard on a daily basis. always willing to learn more and educate myself with my surroundings. Extremeley loyal employee

1 2 3 4