Find companies:
City of Los Angeles
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
74 reviews

City of Los Angeles Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great professional atmosphere
Office Clerk/ Phone Operator/ Student Worker (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 1, 2014
Gained a lot of valiuble experience working for the City Of Los Angeles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great palce to work
City Manager Office Assistant (Current Employee), Los AngelesMarch 31, 2014
very rewarding place to work and grow professionally. I have had great opportunities for crossing training and learning new things in such a short time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Clerk Typist (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 19, 2014
Pros: co-workers, easy access to work location, compensation and benefits
Cons: understaffing, questionable upper management actions/decisions
For me, working for the Department of Water and Power was a wonderful, albeit trying at times, experience. Could not be a better bunch of people to work with or for. Upper management was questionable at best with organizational decisions, but the environment itself worked very well for me.

Typical day was hectic as there were always numerous incoming – more... telephone calls, filing to be done, correspondence to be prepared, information to be located. This made the day go by very quickly most of the time.

The most enjoyable part of the job for me was the people I worked with. The hardest part of the job was understanding and dealing with upper management's decisions and actions taken. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun office environment
Office Manager/Lead Reservation Clerk (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 12, 2014
A wonderful environment to grow in.
A stable environment.
New projects all of the time.
Wonderful support from the office.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to better help others better their lives
Youth Squad Supervisor (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAMarch 4, 2014
I believe motivation is a key to surviving on a typical day at work. I have learned that in order to fulfill my potentials, I must not settle for 'just good enough'. In order to have a stress working environment, management and co-workers must work together as a team. The hardest part of a job is working with co-workers who do not want to be there and – more... are non-motivated on the job. The most enjoyable part of the job is turning those non-motivated workers into positive motivated workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment to work
SPA II (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: have free lunches, met new people and gain knowledge
Cons: lunch whenerver possible, variable schedule and deal with angry costumers.
As an Assistance Manager people expect from you a lot. Your basically in charge of every detail at work. I've learned a lot out of this job. How to run a store from counting drawers, inventory, run shifts and process all information into the computer. I learned how to work with my co-workers, how to grid costumers., learned that costumers are always – more... right and give what they asked for. The hardest part of the job is try to have everybody happy and pleased with what they asked you for. Cover areas that you don't have replacement and give 100% on everything. And the most enjoyable part is getting to know a lot of people and all the knowledge you gain from the job you're doing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Public Safety Officer (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAFebruary 24, 2014
worked with the city for 6 years and i was able to grow with in the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LAPD
Los Angeles Police Department, Police Officer II (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: variety in daily duties
Everyday was a new experience. I learned alot as a new police officer. I learned so many things from working on the streets of Los Angeles. I am grateful for all the lessons I learned. I loved my co-worked and was an integral part of a wonderful organization. LAPD will forever be a valuable part of who I am. My work ethic and morale character are engrained – more... by my training and experience. The hardest part of being a police officer is the criminal element in which you deal with however it is the best job in the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace with a a view and friendly atmosphere
Park Services Attendant (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: excellent view, productive staff, friendly visitors
Cons: rainy days cause mud slides
Every day I travel up the mountain I can see a beautiful view of my wonderful city.

I have learned how to cater to people from all around the world to create a first class experience at Griffith Observatory.

Griffith Observatory has a 5 star rating on most visitor websites because of the amazing programing and floor staff.

I enjoy interacting with – more... people from all over the world and making their visit a pleasant and unforgettable one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful place to work
Custodian Service Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 29, 2014
look on the board see what floors im cleaning go get my supplies i have learned to make sure all my floors are clean
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy work place enjoyed recruitment and staff.
Senior Election Clerk (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: every holiday off and pay.
Cons: n/a
Very detailed, a lot of deadlines to assignments needed to be meet on a timely manner. Learned how to manage staff and special projects, engaged in a lot of manager meeting which was very insightful and mandatory since I was the Senior Clerk. Hardest part of the job was staff due to the fact I was in a new position at an old job (adjustment).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was happy to work in this place.
Refuse Collection Truck Operator (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 13, 2014
If was the worse mistake that I did.;leave the City of Los Angeles job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Executive Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CAJanuary 10, 2014
Fast paced. working with public and private sector. Highly political. motivated to work hard on a daily basis. always willing to learn more and educate myself with my surroundings. Extremeley loyal employee
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hands on experience learning about irrigation
Special Program Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles CaliforniaJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: good pay and hands on learning
Cons: extremely early job hours and working in extreme conditions for long periods of time.
We started at 4:00 in the morning every day Monday through Friday. It was tiring because of all the work we had to do from replacing the PVC valves and digging trenches, changing screws, laying sod and the like. The management was awesome and they knew what they were doing because they had years of experience in that line of work. My co-workers were – more... great and fun to work with. No complaints there. The hardest part of the job was getting my engine running that early in the morning, but after I did that, it was smooth sailing. The most enjoyable part of the job was going to all the different parks around the county of Los Angeles and being able to help the people experience a well taken care of park. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Recreational Accounting Assistant (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 29, 2013
Pros: review
review great job look forward to working with them
working in los angeles
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gret job
Communication Information Representative III (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 17, 2013
Great company to work for, excellent benefits. This company is there to assist their employees. A day at work can be very busy, but well worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working Enviroment
Public Works Intern (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 31, 2013
• Assist Senior Engineer with site visits and surveys
• Prepare sewer repair designs using Navigate LA
• Review and organize construction specifications, plans, costs, and change orders
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job to have.
Crossing guard (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 30, 2013
I enjoyed walking the kids to and from across the street makeing sure they got to school safe.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
counselor ropes course jock
Camp Counselor/Ropes Course Jock (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 29, 2013
supervise children and ropes course. cpr certified first aid
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place
Office Clerk (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAOctober 23, 2013
Enjoyed this place of employment, unfortunately due to Budget crisis part time workers are always the first to go.

1 2 3 4