City of Los Angeles Employee Reviews

Found 158 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place!
Pool Manager I (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 19, 2017
I have been here for 9 years and am only leaving due to my schooling coming to a conclusion soon. Time for me to move on to bigger and better things with my degree.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy fast paced with alot of overtime.
City Craft Assistant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 10, 2017
I was content with my job and the associates I worked with. The position was very challenging, due to the fact that a high degree of attention had to be focused on equipment and safety.
Pros
Good experience
Cons
no work on rainy days
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting and uplifting
Community Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 9, 2017
Every task was meaningful as it impacted the lives of Angelenos. Understanding all parties involved helped me to respect and run the extra mile to reach the goals of the team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Parks and rec
Assistant Camp Director (Current Employee) –  Studio City, CAFebruary 1, 2017
I have worked at several parks and it has ranged in likability. the current park i am at now is amazing. they work well with my schedule and i have very many opportunity for hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security that comes with typical government employees and hostile management.
Tax Auditor II (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 21, 2017
hostile work environment
discriminatory workplace
pay for your water
employees have to donate items that break in the kitchen
no break room provided
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City Of LA Golf
Park Attendant (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, CAJanuary 13, 2017
The Golf division of the city of Los Angeles is run well with good pay and decent part time hours. the free golf is a good bonus as well as the cafe
Pros
free golf once a week, flexible hours
Cons
hard to become full time, limited hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job
Traffic Officer (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 11, 2017
This job was a great experience but did not promise full time postions even after being an employee for two years, besides that I loved the joy, supervisors and coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good work place
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  5860 Wilton pl la CA 90044January 6, 2017
I am a equipment operator I have 17 years of experience operating all types of equipment all so drive tractor trailers loading equipment on to trailers moving from job site to job site
Pros
Lunch
Cons
2 brakes
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 21, 2016
I enjoyed working for the city of Los Angeles because everything I worked for along with everything that was offered was highly beneficial to me and my family
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Difficult advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great diverse company to work for
Administrative Clerk (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 20, 2016
Great company to work for great benefits. Company is very outgoing with employees needs. Everyone is nice and helps you out. Managers are very nice and understanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace nice enviorment
Messenger clerk (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 15, 2016
Typical days at work was very fun, I enjoyed working with employees who are also good friends. I also liked the extended lunches given.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Standing on feet all day
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits
Administrative Clerk (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 8, 2016
Benefits are good, was better prior to the recession. City just out of a hiring freeze so hopefully more jobs and room for advancement opportunities are created and you don't spend nearly 15 years waiting for someone to die or retire in order to promote or transfer.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it
Locker Attendant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 20, 2016
Recommends





Positive Outlook






Pros

Trained me as if I were a new hire and tried to give me as much experience as possible. Truly wanted me to learn the ins and outs and gain knowledge while I interned.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for the summer
Pool Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 14, 2016
Extremely competitive to become a lifeguard, must be a very good swimmer and the job comes with excellent pay and hours. Out door and indoor facilities that are possible to be assigned at .
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
Hot days
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City of Los Angeles; Clerical position
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 14, 2016
It was great working with the City of Los Angeles. The staff was very great to work with and I love the downtown Los Angeles atmosphere. I learned so much and I had a awesome opportunity to deliver confidential documents whiling enjoying the walks I took several blocks away.
Pros
I loved the atmosphere and everything I learned
Cons
It could never become a permanent positon
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grueling hours with low compensation
Senior Field Deputy (Current Employee) –  Los AngelesNovember 13, 2016
This review is for that of an elected staffer- the hours are often in excess of 50 hours per week, with no overtime compensation.

This is not ideal for anyone who is married and has a family.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assistant Park Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Griffith Park, CAOctober 13, 2016
Working for the city is great! A typical day at work involves meetings and working with the public. It is important to represent the city with a smile and provide the best customer service.


I have learned how to communicate to the public very well.

Hardest part of the job is leaving because there are many benefits!

Most enjoyable part of the of job is unless opportunities the city can bring
Pros
Flexible Schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but alot of friendly people
Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 20, 2016
It is a very good seasonal job with GREAT city perks. One you get hied with the City, you are able to apply for other positions while you are there and they will give you time off to go to the various testing sites.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Local Government - Easy to get lost
Election Assistant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 18, 2016
The City of Los Angeles is a large and very impersonal entity. I wish you well in your journey there. Every department has a different culture and different rules. I worked in a temporary position and the full time staff treated us as if we were lepers.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and friendly place
TAX RENEWAL ASSISTANT (TRA) (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 16, 2016
Hello,

A typical day at work, I learned to process business applications,
time management.
My co-workers are very informative and the hardest part of my job,
arriving to work without delay while using public transportation.
The most enjoyable part of the job is completing my work.
Pros
Pleasent environment
Cons
I sit all day.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Los Angeles. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 159 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.0
Culture
4.1